No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Avonpark House

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
123 Shipston Road, , Stratford upon Avon, CV37 7LW

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Martin and Maria welcome you to their friendly, family run quality guest house close to the centre of Stratford-upon-Avon.
Only seven minutes walk from the Royal Shakespeare Company - RSC Theatre, along the River Avon, and a short stroll from the birthplace of William Shakespeare and the historic sights of Stratford. A Convenient bed and breakfast, with car parking, for visiting warwickshire, the Heart of England, and nearby attractions of the homes of William Shakespeare,Warwick Castle, NEC, the Cotswolds, Stratford Races, events at Long Marston and many others. The B&B has been awarded Visit Britain 4 star grading and all rooms have en-suite accommodation. The bed and breakfast accommodation, has many facilities available to make your holiday in shakespeare country a comfortable and enjoyable experience.
Picture of Avonpark House, Stratford upon Avon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B in the centre of Stratford.
Excellent value for money.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed by
Stephen G

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Theatre break in Stratford
The Avonpark is good quality bed and breakfast accommodation. The room my wife and I occupied was large, well decorated,, with colour coordinated bed linen and stylish fittings. The double bed was kingsize and comfortable. The room was well heated and overlooked a charming rear, enclosed garden. There was a small but modern shower ensuite. Breakfast is based on written menu cards completed each evening. Choice and Ingredients generally good.The property is in a quiet neighbourhood only a few minutes walk from Stratford town centre. The location was particularly good for our visit to the RSC. There is forecourt parking. The hosts are pleasant and helpful. The tarfiff is on the high side for this type of B/B but the Avonpark is ideal for a short break in Stratford.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments. Please be assured that our tarrifs are middle of the road for Stratford. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Regards, Bill

Reviewed by
L Murray

From Lee on The Solent, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great welcome break
Great central position, and what we liked was that on the day of checking out we could leave our
car there until 3-00p.m. which was a great help.
We liked everything about the accommodation including all the wild birds and squirrels that kept us
entertained whilst having our breakfast which was always served on time.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments. We try to make our Guests stay as enjoyable and convenient as possible. All Guests are welcome to leave their cars on the driveway until 3pm of day of departure. There is Free unlimited WIFI. Also, we have sourced substantial discount offers to most of the local attractions and some restaurants. This is worth at least £42 in discounts to a couple. We hope it adds to the overall value of their Stratford experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Regards, Bill

Reviewed by
jean robinson

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night in January
Very comfortable accommodation, friendly people, convenient location.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed by
C Benson

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Now my default accommodation in Stratford
Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The welcome was genuinely warm and very informative.I have always had a thing about ordering breakfast the night before....how do I know if I will wake up in a 'full English' mood or a 'scrambled egg on toast' mood?....However, in the case of Avonpark House it really works. The breakfast room is very pleasant and overlooks the fantastic garden. The selection of fruit juices, cereals and fresh and dried fruits is good and the breakfast I ordered came exactly on cue and was of excellent quality. Staff could not be faulted. Can't wait to go back.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments. Like most Guest Houses in Stratford, we can be a one man band at breakfast. So the pre order system is to serve Guests as promptly and efficiently as possible, whilst still offering a wider choice than most big hotels. No pressure to clear everything on your plate if you don't want to !! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Regards Bill

Reviewed by
Richard H

From Anglesey, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent trip - great accommodation
This was the first time we have used Bill and Cita's and it won't be the last. This was an especial trip to Stratford to see a performance of a significant and exciting play. The hosts were friendly, welcoming and really helpful with information about Stratford. The accommodation was excellent - room, food and service and what a joy not to be ripped off by additional parking charges.

ManagementResponse

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are conscious of the "hidden" parking charges of some of the hotels in town. Our policy of allowing Guests to leave their car on our driveway until 3pm of day of departure is very popular. We also have room for ALL of our Guests to park, off road. The Old Tramway Walk to the rear of the house, is a beautiful short cut into town. After the first 100 yards it is all away from traffic. A very pleasant 7 or 8 minute walk along a tree lined path, down to the banks of the river, and out at the gardens in front of the RSC Theatre. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Regards Bill

Reviewed by
J Stuchbery-Ullah

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay 7-11 Jan 2013
Really really good guest house. I stay all around the country and rate this as one of the best rooms ive stayed in for the price I payed. Couldn't fault anything. Made to feel welcome and a quality breakfast.Will definitely visit again. Thanks.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed by
N Williamson

From , England
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could't ask for anything more
After reading the reviews about Avonpark hotel, I decided to take the plunge and book it. I was not disappointed. We were greeted by Bill at the agreed time and was shown to our room. He was very friendly and welcoming. Our room was clean and very well presented. The breakfast was great. I would definitely recommend this guest house and return if I was visiting Stratford.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed by
l mason

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7