No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Avonpark House

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
123 Shipston Road, , Stratford upon Avon, CV37 7LW

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Martin and Maria welcome you to their friendly, family run quality guest house close to the centre of Stratford-upon-Avon.
Only seven minutes walk from the Royal Shakespeare Company - RSC Theatre, along the River Avon, and a short stroll from the birthplace of William Shakespeare and the historic sights of Stratford. A Convenient bed and breakfast, with car parking, for visiting warwickshire, the Heart of England, and nearby attractions of the homes of William Shakespeare,Warwick Castle, NEC, the Cotswolds, Stratford Races, events at Long Marston and many others. The B&B has been awarded Visit Britain 4 star grading and all rooms have en-suite accommodation. The bed and breakfast accommodation, has many facilities available to make your holiday in shakespeare country a comfortable and enjoyable experience.
Picture of Avonpark House, Stratford upon Avon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice and welcoming
nothing was to much trouble very good service the breakfast was excellent

Reviewed by
Ann E

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay in stratford upon avon
a very good guest house within walking distance to stratford upon avon breakfast very good,friendly owners,would stay again.

Reviewed by
kenneth maley

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great b&b, great location
First time in Stratford, went to the RSC, so wanted somewhere within walking distance. Avon Park was perfect, a 10 minute stroll along an old railway line or through the park and we were there. Maria couldn't have been more helpful, the rooms, 2 and 5, both overlooking the garden and 4 had a veranda to sit out on, were light and brilliantly clean. I will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Susan Winter

From Horncastle, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value, within easy walking distance to the theatre, friendly and helpful advice from the proprietor about the area. Smooth & efficient breakfast service. Room 7 was comfortable, with plenty of hanging space, 2 armchairs & coffee table in addition to dressing table, but because the double bed was in an alcove there was only just enough room to walk along the side of the bed. I would definitely stay there again, and happy to have the same room.

Reviewed by
Christine J

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the best for a long time
This was a first class experience - the breakfasts were amazing and they even had gluten free bread.

Reviewed by
MICHAEL K

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay in the Avonpark House added to the magic of Stratford
We had a great stay at this hotel. Everything was special from the initial greeting to checking out. The room was smart and comfortable. The breakfast was lovely. The walk to town was only 7 minutes so we could have a car-free weekend whilst parking on site at the hotel. We look forward to another stay!

Reviewed by
Margaret Evans

From Westcliff on Sea, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Guest House Accommodation
Very pleasant stay. Welcoming reception, lovely room.

Reviewed by
Derek E

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cultural weekend
The weekend was arranged in order to meet a friend who was over from Dubai and neither of us had been to Stratford-upon-Avon. We picked the hotel from late rooms on the basis it was well recommended and had on site parking (this turned out to be a valuable bonus!). On arrival I was shown to the room, briefed on where to go and given money off vouchers to places of interest. The room was as advertised and other than a sticking hot tap in the small but usable en-suite, gave no cause for complaint. In the evening we went to the theatre which was only ten minutes walk away. Again, as advertised. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and offers for more tea, toast etc. Squirrels and chickens in the rear garden were a pleasant surprise. We spent Sunday sight seeing and although we had booked out, leaving the car in the car park all day was not an issue. Avonpark House is an excellent base for a visit to Shakespeare's town and damn good value for money in a town that we thought was somewhat overpriced in many ways.

Reviewed by
David W

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday weekend in Stratford
My partner and I were visiting Stratford for a birthday treat.
The room seemed newly decorated, lovely kingsize bed
My only negative would be that the room was cold, we turned up the heating but the maid left the window open when cleaning the next day. This was possible due to condensation issues in the room as no window in the bathroom and the extractor wasn't great. Also the hot tap was loose and hardley worked just drip drip
Apart from that really clean, friendly B and B and lovely breakfasts.
Very near the centre
Tip, Ask for a garden not road room, as road pretty busy through the night

Reviewed by
Emma D

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly welcome, beautiful clean room and a stones throw away from Stratford town centre
We really enjoyed our two night stay at Avonpark house. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was clean and cosy and decorated to a very high standard with a lovely view over the garden. We could watch the chickens roaming who would provide eggs for our delicious morning breakfast! A lovely riverside walk to the town centre. Everything was in walking distance which was very handy. Would highly recommend this excellent guest house.

Reviewed by
Gareth Newcombe

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next