Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Greater London > London Hotels > Montague on the Gardens - A Red Carnation Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Montague on the Gardens - A Red Carnation Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
15 Montague Street , London, WC1B 5BJ
You will hardly believe that you are located near Covent Garden, West End theatres and adjacent to the British Museum - or for that matter, close to London's financial. This beautiful four star townhouse hotel overlooks a private and secluded garden - yet within moments you can enjoy all of the wonderful sights and pleasures that London has to offer. Dedicated to providing business and leisure guests with outstanding personal service, exceptional comfort and every modern convenience this intimate boutique hotel is proud of its AA Four-Star Deluxe, English Tourist Board Five Silver Crown and 'Best Floral Hotel in London' awards. The Montague's charm and relaxing décor coupled with the service accolades benefit business and holiday clients alike. The fully air-conditioned luxurious guest rooms and deluxe suites engender a feeling of a fine country hotel located on a quiet side street. The beautifully appointed conservatories and wood deck are ideal for summer barbeques and al fresco dining as well as regular live jazz entertainment overlooking a secluded private garden square. For the summer months The Montague on the Gardens offers Al Fresco Dining. This includes both The Terrace and Garden Grill - a peaceful and secluded, open-air space in the heart of the city, overlooking the sculptures in the gardens of the Bedford Estate. The Garden Grill is the ultimate in al fresco dining, featuring a selection of mouth-watering à la carte dishes and barbecues cooked from the grill. With the tantalising aromas from the sizzling grill and the unique and beautiful surroundings dining al fresco at The Garden Grill, the perfect summer venue, is an experience to remember. Bookings for 10 people or more carry separate terms - the hotel will contact you directly to advise.
Picture of Montague on the Gardens - A Red Carnation Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice but expensive
A very good hotel. Anywhere but london it wouldn't be very good value for money but in london there isn't a lot you can do about that, everywhere is overpriced in London as I learned on our trip. Lovely staff though and a really nice once in a while experience

Reviewed by
J Green

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely fabulous
From the moment we enter this hotel we were welcomed by the wonderful staff and this continued throughout our stay. Beautiful room with lots of character with lovely little touches, robes, slippers lovely toiletries. We also had afternoon tea in the conservatory which was great with so much food! Breakfast with lots of choice both continental and full english. We will be back

Reviewed by
m milne

From Gourock, England
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel and very close to both British Museum and theatres
I had viewed this hotel on the internet and was somewhat scepical that it would be as good as it appeared for the price. However, I need not have been concerned. The hotel is a gem and I will certainly stay again - I'm already planning a long weekend with my wife in the spring! The staff are very attentive and friendly; the room was clean and spacious (I was in a standard double) and the restaurant was excellent. Whilst only a short walk from the British Museum, it is also possible in 15 minutes to walk into theatre land - no need to take that nasty tube - although it is close to Russell Square tube station if required. Altogether a very pleasant, if too short, stay.

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break

Reviewed by
D Kaaba

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved the bar!
Was in London for meetings. Room was very nice. Best part was the bar and more particularly the bar staff. Very welcoming and excellent service. Lady was playing the piano and singing, but not in a too loud you can't hear your friends way. Mmm...sliders. Wine was good quality.

Reviewed by
Rob O

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Montague on the Gardens - A Red Carnation Hotel
Wonderful stay. They upgraded us to a suite free of charge and the staff couldn't do enough for us. It isn't a cheap hotel as it cost us over £1000 for 3 nights so it seems a bit much to have to pay for breakfast on top of the cost of the room. Having said that, we will probably stay again.

Reviewed by
Rob Brown

From Totnes, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place to stay
This hotel ticks all the boxes, the staff just cant do enough for you, the breakfast was lovely, we had a package which included afternoon tea ( very enjoyable) and a bottle of champagne ( yum yum). Our room was a little on the small size but had expected that from reading other reviews, but perfect in all other respects, the bed was comfy and even though we were in the front of the hotel we had no bother with street noise. Would def recommend and stay again.

Reviewed by
i forrest

From Douglas, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Magnificent Montague
This hotel is one of the best kept secrets in London.Excellent service food and high quality staff.The people managing this hotel have really got there act together and have a first class approach to their guests.This was our fourth stay but wont be our last.

Reviewed by
G Davis

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Montague
I cannot find any fault with this hotel. Service and rooms are exceptional and the food is equal if not better than many expensive restaurants.

Reviewed by
M Thomason

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous hotel!
Wonderful staff and superior service and friendly with a personal touch. The breakfast was lovely. Will definitely return! X

Reviewed by
Haley Bellwood

From Wingate, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next