No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Woodhouse Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
2 Barr Crescent, Largs, KA30 8PX
Our intimate family run hotel is situated in Largs, Ayrshire, Scotland and we offer our guests a home from home. Personal attention is our number one priority whether you are staying in the hotel or just enjoying a drink in our bar and it is for that reason that we know most of our guests on a first name basis and they return time after time. See what our guests are saying about us.

Our hotel has nine comfortable yet stylish en-suite bedrooms with a choice of doubles, singles, twins and family room. All are tastefully decorated and offer every home comfort that you would need. Please visit our accommodation page for full details, prices and you can now book online!

Our restaurant serves a range of delicious meals and is open daily for residents and visitors alike. We pride ourselves on using locally produced ingredients and our chef is one of the best in Ayrshire.
Picture of The Woodhouse Hotel, Largs at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel
We enjoyed our 1 night stay here for the viking festival, the hotel is just a short walk from the promenade, it serves good reasonably priced food, the room was clean and comfortable, staff were friendly, we have no complaints about our stay.

Reviewed by
k johnston

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Location
A most homely and welcoming hotel and lovely hosts who always have time for a smile. The facilities are good and rooms comfy and clean. Nice to sit out in the lawned garden when the sun shone.

Reviewed by
s cadwallader

From Watford, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were welcomed with our West Highland terrier and appreciated the friendly service we received.
The Bar is comfortable and ideal for somewhere to sit and have a drink with the dog. The service in the bar and the dining room was personal, friendly and good. Evening meal and breakfast was both quality food, well cooked and good value for money.
Our bedroom was small (the smallest double room in the hotel) and the bed being king-size meant there was little space to move and place luggage. The bed linen was spotless and the bed very comfortable. A few minor niggles which reduced the pleasure of the stay include a very noisy fan in the en suite shower room, lack of shelves to place toilet bags etc , an inability to fully open the wardrobe doors because of the inevitable proximity of the bed, only a few tatty hangers in the wardrobe.
To be fair we booked the last available room in the hotel and would look forward to return to the hotel given the availability of a larger bedroom.

Reviewed by
Jim Cumming

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
Very Friendly

Reviewed by
W MCDICKEN

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding visit to Largs
Stayed in the Woodhouse hotel when visiting a hotel nearby for a wedding reception. Staff were friendly and room was a nice surprise. Really good size of room and very clean. Only issue with the room was the small toilet and there was not a lot of pressure from the shower. One tip would e to drive business was to leave a menu for the bar and restaurant in the room. We ate in Largs itself as we were not tempted by a menu in the room. However very pleased with the room, cleanliness and service. Especially considering the 70 a night rate.

Reviewed by
K Miller

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our experience in the woodhouse
the breakfast was faultless, the dinner was disgusting anyone can spoil apple crumble puting it in a microwave oven and the pasta wasn't much better.

Reviewed by
Gordon Bell

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our recent stay in sunny Largs
Room was available and ready for us on arrival. Nice and clean with plenty of fresh towels.
Accommodation was as described and suited our 1 night stay. Staff were friendly and attentive.

Reviewed by
ANDREW M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place
Lovely place very friendly. Best meal I have had in a very long time.

Reviewed by
Kevin Barker

From Huddersfield, England
Who stayed in November 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.