No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ivydean B&B

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
36 PRESTWICK ROAD , AYR, KA8 8LB
Family run B&B close to prestwick airport ,Ayr racecourse and town centre.Comfortable rooms all en suite with freeview television,ample car parking residents lounge and garden area to relax in.
there are good transport links nearby newton on ayr railway station and a regular bus to glasgow
Picture of Ivydean B&B, AYR at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room size
The room, toilet and shower was exceedingly small, however the bed was comfortable and the room very clean.

Reviewed by
Ian M

From Cumnock, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but great value
I booked Ivydean for two nights. The room had a comfortable bed and adequate ensuite. It would have been nice to have a more comfortable chair to sit in, but otherwise the accommodation was basic but fine. Breakfast was also fine, although served in the bar of the hotel on the other side of a main road - not so good when it's raining! Service was friendly and efficient and overall, my stay was great value for money.

Reviewed by
Dennis G

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Clean ensuite room, friendly hosts, great breakfast. Ideal location for train station (note that it is Newtown on Ayr station and not Ayr which is only a few minutes away)

Reviewed by
A SEDGWICK

From Dingwall, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
M Innes

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent place

Reviewed by
Jakub O

From Łódź 92-006, Poland
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK for the price, not outstanding
It was ok for the price we paid.
When we arrived, there wasn't anyone in the B&B, so we got the keys in the hotel across the street, which was fine.
The inside was clean, so was the room we stayed in. The shared bathroom was, however, quite hairy, which was a bit repulsive, but for the low price of the room, this was something we could live with for 1 night. There was a sink in the bedroom, so the actual shared bathroom could be used minimally, for the toilet only.
The facilities in the room were fine, although they could do with some newer bedding. But again, price was low, so it was ok.
All in all, it was alright for the price, but there was an odd atmosphere to the place. There was a sign saying "no vacancies" on the window when we arrived, and oddly enough, it seemed like we were the only people staying there that night (there was no noise coming from the other two rooms, and since all guest rooms were cramped together on one floor, we definitely would have known if there was someone else there).
For someone who is on a budget like we were, this would be fine. However, I would not stay there again personally.

Reviewed by
Ewa B

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would certainly return. Nice people and good value for money

Reviewed by
donald b

From Dumbarton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic
Everything about Ivy Dean was summed up with the 'For Sale' sign which greeted us. A thorough clean (paintwork, kettle), new mattresses, a rethink on the layout, tiny sink in a huge bathroom are some of the things that need addressing.

Reviewed by
G Hartley

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
the accommodation and meal was faboulus

Reviewed by
s gold

From Mauchline, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Greeted very well very friendly could not have wished for anything better.
Wish the couple all the luck for the future . J.Rawley.

Reviewed by
john Rawley

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next