Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Dalry Hotels > Dalgarven Country House Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dalgarven Country House Hotel

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Dalry Road , Kilwinning, KA13 6PL
Dalgarven House Hotel is romantically situated on the banks of the River Garnock amongst Ayrshire's beautiful countryside, made famous by the Scottish Baird Rabbie Burns.The hotel is steeped in old world character with a balcony that overlooks the river.Our Chef's take pride in their culinary skills and have perfected a wide selection of menus featuring different styles including traditional Scottish to contemporary eating. Our ten bedrooms provide a choice of twin,double or family rooms and all feature individual design combining homely comfort,tradition and modern en-suite facilities.Celebration suite features four poster bed and luxurious jacuzzi all rooms have television,telephone tea/coffee making facilities.Also available is our annexe cottage sleeping up to eight guests. 2 double rooms and family room.
Picture of Dalgarven Country House Hotel, Kilwinning at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
All staff were very pleasant and made us feel welcome. Room was clean and tidy and no complaints. Dinner was good, plenty of food and good value for money. Breakfast was good, cooked to order, which is always nice. Would recommend to anyone if staying in the area for a couple of nights.

Reviewed by
Clark G

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff and fantastic food
The hotel staff were all friendly and made you feel welcome. The food was absolutely superb from the 3 course breakfast, supper menu through to the A La Carte. Supper menu fantastic value for money (You can choose from 1 to 3 courses, we chose 3 courses which cost us £12.50 each). we chose a deluxe room with 4 poster bed with Jacuzzi bath and hydroshower. Shower and bath one unit, its a bath, jaccuzi bath, steam room, hand shower, monsoon shower and also has a foot spa. Instruction manual stuck on bathroom wall but staff member, Craig, showed us the basics .
The only things that we would criticise is (1) the housekeeping. On arrival we found that the toilet seat was broken and moving from side to side. It was checked and Craig tightened it as a temporary measure until owner got a new one. New one was fitted by the owner a few hours later.The throws on our bed were very tired looking with lots of catches and the odd stain. The duvet, sheets and pillow slips however were clean. There were tea or coffee splashes on the wall beside bin, still there when we left even though housekeeping had been in to empty bin, hoover etc. Cobwebs on bathroom window, still there when we left. pedestals on dinning tables were covered with dust, looked as if they had not been cleaned in a long time. (2) There was a wedding on the day we arrived and consequently the dining room did not open to us until 8pm however you could order to eat in the bar.

Reviewed by
ANGELA MURRAY

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and Accommodating
We arrived way to early for check in however, the person that met us at reception was brilliant and let us throw our bags in the room so we could make the surprise party that we'd travelled down for.
The bed was comfy, room was clean and the shower and breakfast blew away all the cobwebs from the night before.
Great value and lovely folk.

Reviewed by
N McMahon

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the best
One of the easyest to find as it is well illuminated and signed off the road

Reviewed by
Steve A

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great food, brill bathroom, welcoming friendly staff x
A lovely place to stay beautiful location, loved the super space age bath/ shower/jucuzzi/ sream room in the bathroom. The 4 poster bed looked fab and was comfy but a bit creaky the room could do with a little tlc but was good value And the bathroom was out of this world. The food was very reasonably priced and tasted wonderful, a really good menu, all the staff were really friendly and welcoming we would book another stay.

Reviewed by
elaine w

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Expectations Quickly Dashed on Arrival
Pleasant exterior sadly not carried through to the shabby interior. A stale odour was evident throughout from the moment we stepped inside. Carpets (and the waitress's uniform!) in much need of a clean. Toilet seat found broken on arrival, though this was immediately replaced. Foul-smelling chimney by recycling area, near car park, did little to raise our hopes. Dull twin-room decor and furnishings, and an inadequate space for tea-making (no biscuits by the way). We didn't open the window because of above chimney pollution. We were put off eating an evening meal at the hotel, but did have breakfast in the pleasant dining area. Food quality poor. Beef sausages inedible. Polite but busy waitress also doubled as the hotel receptionist on the morning we left, so we had to wait in the bar for her to check us out.
A disappointing experience all round.

Reviewed by
G Adams

From Launceston, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very accommodating and friendly staff
I enjoyed my stay , lovely rooms , really good breakfast and evening meal . The staff in particular were very helpful and polite .

Reviewed by
J Ward

From , England
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again!!
On entering the hotel we were greeted with the remark..."Oh! I don't think you are booked in here today" that should have warned us about the state of affairs we were yet to encounter. After booking in we were left to struggle up a flight of stairs with our luggage...next comment made by my partner was..."I don't think they have hoovered this carpet for a while" On reaching the room the carpet in there was the same!! There were no bulbs in the bedside lamps, no bulb in the table lamp, the TV wasn't working and if you stood too long on the bathroom floor you stuck to it!! There were another 2 couples in our party...when they arrived at their room it hadn't been cleaned or prepared, the bedding was lying on the floor etc. When they complained they were offered another room, on inspecting the bathroom they said that they were not prepared to stay and left. When the other guests arrived they too were shown the same to rooms....like us they had to stay the night as there was no other hotels in the vicinity otherwise we would have left as well. When we arrived back at the hotel at midnight the disco pounded away for another 30 minutes then another 45 minutes of noise from the guests who had been celebrating a 21st birthday bash...Never again....I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
DUNCAN L

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gem in Ayrshire
Very good small country hotel. Friendly staff, clean rooms and good food.
Have stayed there a few times and its hotel of choice when we visit family.

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impressed
Celebration room was great- Corner Jacuzzi with steam room- room for two. Room slightly tired but willing to overlook because of the bathroom. 4 poster bed, small television, all the other room standards you could want - iron+ ironing table, tea coffee etc.
Food was very good- slightly forgotten about hotel...first impression of letters falling off the sign and missing was slightly concerning! Staff were very helpful and attention to detail was great- room was stocked with tea I ordered for breakfast on the second day.
Compared to the price of similar hotels nearby for the same room the price was unbeatable and we were very happy with our stay.

Reviewed by
David D

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next