No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Russ Hill Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Charlwood nr Gatwick Airport , Charlwood, RH6 0EL
The Hotel is situated in the village of Charlwood only 4 miles from Gatwick Airport. The hotel was built in the 19th Century as a manor house set in nine acres of Surrey Countryside. Over the years the manor house has been skilfully modernised to create old-fashioned opulence combined with comforts and modern amenities expected by today's travellers.

The hotel offers a wonderful Garden Bar, which also serves bar/light snacks and Chefs Special of the day. However, if you prefer something more substantial then Ruspers Restaurant is available, on a buffet basis, for breakfast and dinner and a delicious carvery is now also available at dinner time. The hotel also offers fantastic deals for parking while you jet away on your holidays. The Russ Hill Hotel offers the perfect and stress free start to your holiday. The hotel also offers FREE wifi to all guests.

From 6th September 2014 our bus service will change to Service 40 from the Russ Hill Hotel to Gatwick Airport Starting from 4am - 20.30pm and Service 50 from Gatwick to The Russ Hill Hotel starting 4.15am -20.45pm. Charges are Adults £3.50 and Child £2.00 each way.

Picture of Russ Hill Hotel, Charlwood at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 244 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
A little tired but with a bit of investment could be great

Reviewed by
Richard Taylor

From Downham Market, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night business stop over
I stayed in room 262, clean and comfortable, space is limited but as only sleeping not working did not pose a problem. En suite does not have any heating so a bit nippy in the morning when I got out of the shower. Room heater did heat up nicely once I had put it on high, comment reference tv would have been better on the wall or fixed higher, had to look down at it from bed. Overall again a very enjoyable short stay at Russ Hill Hotel definitely be back.

Reviewed by
Richard Thomas

From Ramsgate, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reception staff were very slow & room was very slow.
The only thing good was it was cheap.

Reviewed by
L Charlton

From Redhill, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Russ Hill Hotel
Decent stop over if your flight lands late at night or early in the morning from Gatwick

Reviewed by
Gemma M

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 251 has no windows and a rattly air conditiong unit
all night a vent into the room blasted cold air into it. the vent rattled like a tin can rattling all night, did not sleep a bit. The breakfast was awful even at a reduced price of £5.50. All very cheap quality.

Reviewed by
ray f

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
A comfortable and pleasant stay, very good value for money. We parked our car for two weeks and it was much cheaper than other alternatives - the bus service to Gatwick and the taxi back were reasonably priced and efficient.

Reviewed by
Naomi B

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disgust
Room was revolting decor shabby bed was supposed to be a double more like a single !!! Mould and stained carpet !! No ventilation , radiator stuck on high . Unable to open window , noisy . Staff obnoxious and didn't care when we complained and the receptionist showed in difference . In fact this hotel should be shut down as surely it doesn't meet health and safety requirements !!

Reviewed by
Jacqueline Gunn

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money hotel not budget
I booked and stayed two nights rather than travel for 2 to 3hrs each way on the M25. The hotel was very easy to find and very close to where I was working each day in Crawley. The hotel was once a very grand building, now very dated but the welcoming staff and the ambience of the entrance way was very good my room was very basic and on the small side but warm clean and practical for my needs TV too high on wall so got a crick in neck but was soon asleep so didn't really matter .Booked breakfast in advance would recommend this as far cheaper than booking on arrival, far too much food on offer each day and of very good quality, did not use evening meal or drink in the bar but chose to eat out in village I think a mistake as food very dear in village pubs and not very good quality. Next time would book evening meal and stay in at hotel. This is an ideal cheap option for park and fly or like me staying overnight whilst working locally, looking at the number of white vans in the car park a popular hotel for tradesmen. The hotel needs in my opinion a major overhaul of the bedrooms at least the one I was staying in rest of the hotel please keep it as it is as it is like a living museum. Recommend this hotel and will stay here again in2015.

Reviewed by
R Thomas

From Ramsgate, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cozy Cute Hotel
Very adorable hotel nestled near the gatwick airport. They have a cheap shuttle to and from if you come at the appropriate hour. I would come again!

Reviewed by
Rebecca G

From USA
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great budget Hotel!
Ok I booked through laterooms.com. The only reason was due to moving house and needing somewhere to live for 2 weeks. Yes i went for the cheapest i could, but i have to say that it was a pleasant stay. Everywhere is clean and tidy, just a little dated. No heating in the hall ways, but for the money i paid (£29 per night) you cannot knock the place. The rooms are modern and in good working order (tv dated). I found nearly all staff friendly, pleasant as helpful as possible.

Reviewed by
P Chiverrell

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next