Reviews - Russ Hill Hotel

3

Charlwood nr Gatwick Airport, Charlwood, RH6 0EL

Price From 75.67 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (137)

52% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Richard Thomas

  • December 2015

Recent stayDecember'15

This was my third stay at the hotel, reasonable priced, was more expensive than last time, reception staff very good and friendly, hotel is dated and needs Britannia Hotels to spend money on the rooms.

My room was very good, clean, warm and comfortable, only criticism would be that for reasons only known by the hotel there is no where to plug in phone or lap top for charging unless you unplug the TV, not very good for business users. I find the staff and the bar and restaurant areas very good indeed, despite many young foreign people congregating at reception and in the lounge areas. Will stay here again and recommend for the Gatwick travellers and short stay business use. Very big thank you to all the staff.

  • emma b

  • November 2015

good for money ...

The bed was so nasty to sleep on I left with insect bites on arms and legs and and myself and my husband didnt actually sleep and no yorkshire puds with carvery.

felt a little lacking in areas. no fruit juice only water with dinner.

  • d Lane

  • November 2015

Damp untidy

This place may have been good 20 years ago but needs a good update, dirty and unkept.

  • S Pereira

  • November 2015

Gatwick by night

Its cheap and does what it says in description.

The room was ok clean and basic and bathroom was ok , car-park outside for vehicles , Bar and restaurant etc. The reception still talkes to long to book people in and was waiting 25 mins and guy did not smile or seem bothered. The bar prices have gone up, but not too much I suppose for London prices. The restaurant was better than most but chose to eat in bar area were there was a bar menu with most favourites on and was supprisingly good and a decent size meal. No 375ml glasses for wine. The hotel is a old building so has a few creaks and squeaks in coriidors, some areas have had a bit of work done on them, in progress. Its what you pay for and cant really complain at the standard for the price. There is a certain atmosphere at hotel at present as was busy with certain people and were just wondering around made people feel uneasy. The hotel will know what I mean .

  • jeanette w

  • November 2015

(its next to Gatwick airport) 20+ people just hanging around the lobby, same amount outside smoking.

First room I got changed stank of smoke. Give it a miss!

  • Michael Maguire

  • October 2015

Ok for price and location

Spent 3 days at this hotel.

Staff are friendly and helpful. It's a little tired and could do with a refurb. But overall it's ok for a night or two. Food seems ok and if you are on a budget, or need a quick stopover before a flight it's ok.

  • A Duncan

  • October 2015

Great hotel

This hotel was great, very cheap and had to get a few taxis to and from it everyday but all in all a great place to stay friendly staff and a great atmosphere

  • David B

  • October 2015

Interesting end to a strange day

So there was a booking issue with our travelodge room at £40 so contacted laterooms.com who were brilliant and found us the next closest hotel at £65, so over half as much again but these things happen.

When we arrived at the hotel the front entrance had a number of, what we guessed were immigrants hanging around, all of them lifting their heads from their phones and staring at my wife. my wife wanted to leave as she felt threatened, but I convinced her to stay as we had been up since 3am driving and I was shattered. The room was very small and had no windows. The tv was lower than the bed and bathroom etc were very dated and this room was supposed to have been updated.

I have to say I have stayed in a lot of hotels over the years and feel like this is a massive step backwards. Fawlty towers will never be forgotten whilst this place is around.

  • Michael H

  • October 2015

Do not stay here

Without question, the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

I only paid £57 for the room and I felt overcharged after seeing the condition of the room. To say the it was small is an understatement. It clearly hadn't been cleaned in some time, as there was a thick layer of dust over most parts of the furniture. There was only one plug socket in the room, which the tiny little TV is plugged into. This place makes faulty towers look like The Savoy. If I could rate this place zero, I would.

  • Mark P

  • September 2015

Smoking room

I would suggest not to stay in a smoking room, the carpets are stained I will never go back and stay in a smoking room