Russ Hill Hotel

3

Charlwood nr Gatwick Airport, Charlwood, RH6 0EL

Price From 62.10 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (219)

53% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Colin McGregor

  • April 2015

staid

on arrival there was a queue which dwindled very slowly.

3 persons of void character on duty. As a fairly regular visitor, I predicted the futility of supplying all relevant paperwork. Whas yer name was their only interaction with me before I departed for my prison cell. No window or biscuits to welcome me. The night was hot, I venture into the bathroom. Pubic presence in the bath but dare I bend over in the shower. I felt strangely safe, perhaps from the comfort of fimiliarity. The room was clean enough, parking free. Cheap tariff so no real complaint. Slept well in a comfortable bed. Stared at the 15 ft high roof lite wondering if I should invite staff in to encourage some ventilation. Thought better of it. Slept, checked out, moved on

  • R Parry

  • April 2015

Does the job for a short stay

We stayed overnight here due to catching our flight the next morning.

Very basic but OK for 8hours to get some sleep.

We wouldn't choose to stay here again. We didn't really get value for money and our sink leaked so there was a puddle in the bathroom next morning.

Finally, there was NO window in our room, just a skylight. Bizzare!

  • p wright

  • April 2015

Russ Hill Hotel

You get what you pay for but it's fine for what we want when traveling with work except no wifi

  • K Johnson

  • April 2015

Great overnighter

Got a good deal, arrived late in the evening and greeted well at reception.

Comfy room and good sleep considering proximity of Gatwick Airport

  • Mark O

  • April 2015

Overall, I will give it an excellent service

  • J Weller

  • March 2015

Close to Gatwick which is what we needed

My daughter and I stayed here to be close to Gatwick as she had an early flight.

Accommodation was fine although it was noisy with people coming and going at various times and the walls seemed very thin. Shuttle to the airport was good and all in all it served our purpose well. Only odd thing was that the bar and restaurant menus were separate and it seemed to cause a problem for us to order one thing from one menu and one from the other and to still sit together to eat it!

  • Maria T

  • March 2015

Very clean & convenient for Gatwick Airport

We stayed here as we had an early morning flight from Gatwick.

The hotel is very big and a maze of corridors and rooms inside. The staff at Reception were polite, friendly & efficient. Our room was extremely clean & comfortable (although a little dated). It's only about 7 miles from the airport, so very convenient. The wifi didn't work in the room, although this didn't bother us for a one night stay (it worked in the reception lobby just fine). We would definitely stay again.

  • R Bell

  • March 2015

Depends on your perception of "value for money"

To sum up this hotel in a few words...cold,I guess it did it's job.

On arriving at the hotel, the not very well lit car park was full so had to find somewhere to place my car, still on property but not really a parking space. I proceeded to check in where the receptionist checked me in. He was friendly enough but customer service wasn't his strong point. He chatted to me but at times he seamed rude. I was given a room on the ground floor and after searching threw the winding corridors I found my room. On opening my door I was greeted by the North Pole. It was freezing. I don't think that room had seen hear in a long time. Other than the cold the room was small but did it's job as I was on my own. However for a couple with suitcases you may struggle for space. Once I switched on the heater on the wall I proceeded still wrapped up to go to the wardrobe to look for an extra blanket. I found one. But when I opened it it didn't smell fresh and had other peoples hair on it. I gave up. I ended up sleeping in a cardigan and slipper socks. All I wanted to do was just shower and sleep after all I had less then 10hrs in this room before I had to work the next day. The shower continued to be a dissapointment and kept going off half way threw. All in all not really the best place to stay

  • carl l

  • March 2015

nightmare

Very tired run down hotel small cramped room no plug socket in room to charge phones etc without unplugging tv ..avoid

  • M Hughes

  • March 2015

good value but poor quality within the room.

The room did not resemble the photos on internet.

The decor in the room was rough, painted area chipped. Cobwebs around the curtains. Curtains not put up probably. Bath mats dirty. Bedding was clean food was good. Shame the room let it down. Good point it was close to Gatwick.