No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Russ Hill Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Charlwood nr Gatwick Airport , Charlwood, RH6 0EL

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The Hotel is situated in the village of Charlwood only 4 miles from Gatwick Airport. The hotel was built in the 19th Century as a manor house set in nine acres of Surrey Countryside. Over the years the manor house has been skilfully modernised to create old-fashioned opulence combined with comforts and modern amenities expected by today's travellers.

The hotel offers a wonderful Garden Bar, which also serves bar/light snacks and Chefs Special of the day. However, if you prefer something more substantial then Ruspers Restaurant is available, on a buffet basis, for breakfast and dinner and a delicious carvery is now also available at dinner time. The hotel also offers fantastic deals for parking while you jet away on your holidays. The Russ Hill Hotel offers the perfect and stress free start to your holiday. The hotel also offers FREE wifi to all guests.



Picture of Russ Hill Hotel, Charlwood at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 244 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very cost effective
The Russ Hill Hotel is a low cost no frills place to stay overnight - convenient for the airport.
Make suer you can get a room with a window

Reviewed by
Scott M

From Broadstone, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for sleeping before flying out
I booked a night at the Russ Hill for me and my wife whilst making our way to the south coast. We have stayed here before when flying from Gatwick which it is ideal for. The hotel is reasonably priced with two weeks parking included if required. It's a little dated and seems to have become more rundown over the decade or so we have been staying there. Perhaps it's the excitement of flying out abroad the next day that disguised it in the past... Pros: cheap, large rooms, close to airport. Cons: dated, dinner quality poor and expensive, no lifts and parking is a free for all.

Reviewed by
K Green

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly check in. Good customer service in bar & restaurant. Good value food. Older part of hotel lovely. Room comfortable but a bit dated. No spare plug so difficult to charge phones. Would use again especially if flying from Gatwick.

Reviewed by
C Johnson

From Burnham on Sea, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we stayed in room 501,it was not good.damp walls,carpet was filthy,bathroom walls were also damp and mouldy.and also the grout in the wall tiles was mouldy.furniture was broken and the tv must be 20 years old,also net curtains were mouldy.

Reviewed by
hamilton anthony

From Cowes, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my first room was terrible(sauna without window),but the night manager changed straight away when i complained. He was really professional.Second room was o.k-no more as there urgently need a refurbishment,however i slept well 2 nights in that.

Reviewed by
Peter Szabo

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful place but aggressive receptionist
The whole point of staying at Russ Hotel for 3 nights was to get out of the noisy city and chaotic days and relax, however the receptionist was a very aggressive man being skeptical and negative towards me and my fiance from the beginning of. Later on the first night he was very aggressive towards me, was yelling and threatening to get me thrown out of the hotel next day, all because i gave him a recommendation of having a lighter to offer the hotel guests if they needed, which he think was very offensive. Clearly this man has no clue of professional behavior nor service, and made me and my fiance's stay very unpleasant throughout. There were also guests present that were obviously disturbed by this man's behavior. The case was brought up again by my fiance to the hotel manager the next day, whom took the whole situation unseriously. Very disappointing and unprofessional, i have never been treated like this anywhere.

Reviewed by
sara vienna h

From oslo, Norway
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap you get what you pay for
Very cheap room you get what you pay for. Don't expect a lot with this hotel because you won't get but then it's cheap so it's fine. The only thing i would say is that the good was beyond disgusting (and not cheap) I had a jacket potatoe which tasted like a lump of lard and the beans looked like they had been left out in the sun all day and we're dry. The room is ok because like I say it's cheap but whatever you do don't have a jacket potatoe from the bar menu.

Reviewed by
I Richards

From , England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel
great room great service, lovely area

Reviewed by
A Smith

From Halesworth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fine for the money
Perfectly adequate hotel and room for the price. The food is nothing to write home about, but it is fine for a budget hotel. Receptoon staff helpful and courteous dealing with an issue ovEr whether breakfast was included in my room price. Some of the restaurant staff were the rudest I've encountered anywhere - worth returning here just for the comedy value of being ordered to leave the restaurant while still eating because we were an inconvenience to the staff laying out breakfast.

Reviewed by
Oliver Gray

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Brittania Hotel great for a stay before flying out
The price of the hotel near to Gatwick is good accommodation is basic but clean and tidy with tea and coffee in your room shower ensuite is good.staff helpful.bar nice and friendly.can recommend for a short stay before flying from Gatwick.only bad thing to say I have a Brittania loyalty card and this is one of many in the group that do not take it.crazy to have a card you can only use in a hand full of hotels in their group.

Reviewed by
Stephen Green

From Grays, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next