Reviews - Russ Hill Hotel

3

Charlwood nr Gatwick Airport, Charlwood, RH6 0EL

Price From 101.42 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (181)

50% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • E Moore

  • August 2015

Don't book !!!

The reception staff were surly and unhelpful.

They were dealing with a coach party when I arrived and they treated them really badly. No welcome, just name and handed them the keys, there were foreigners as well, what they must have thought I don't know. They treated me the same, just took the money and gave me the key, with wrong directions to room. By then several of the coach party had come back to complain that they didn't have rooms they booked ie up the stairs when they had asked for downstairs for elderly parent, another couple who had 2 children that had been given rooms on different floors !!. I thought hope mine's ok. It wasn't ... it was stiflingly hot with no windows that would open, it was a single bedded room and tiny and SO hot. I went down to asked to be moved. The surly man on reception (who was untidy as tie all undone, not a good look!) just grunted and another man got me a fan !!. no comment ,no apology nothing . The fan was a godsend but very noisy. This was on a particularly hot day and although there was air-con it wasn't on ??!!. For £40 I would have rather slept in the car !!!!

  • Cameron Fryer

  • August 2015

Could be better

The websites this hotel is advertised on over books the hotel, the wifi isn't the best and the view from my room was awful (room 413) I would of preferred my room to look more like the pictures advertised but I was happy with what I got as I was only there one night

  • TINA W

  • July 2015

The staff on reception did not have name tags on they were not very welcoming seemed disinterested

  • Steve P

  • July 2015

Poor room

The room was dusty and smelt of cigarettes.

It was dusty in places and hairs in the sink

  • R Kirchner

  • July 2015

The room was out dated, not very clean, no Wi-Fi, looked nothing like the laterooms website.

The aircon didn't work. There is no way I would stay again. The hotel needed a complete make over, it stunk of cigarettes.

  • kathleen B

  • July 2015

Just what I needed

My needs were a room for the night.

The Russ Hill was brilliant. Clean, simple, yet provided all I needed. The breakfast was a great price, and good quality. It set me on my way for the day. All employs were helpful, kind and caring.

  • Johnny Walsh

  • June 2015

Horrendous, should be closed down !!

This has to be the worst Hotel we have ever stayed in and we are fairly well traveled.

The Staff were surly and very unhelpful. We were refused Breakfast even though we had pre-paid for it online as they said it was not on the booking confirmation from laterooms.com!!. The room was windowless with a small skylight, stuffy and airless and just enough space to move around the bed. I am surprised that anyone actually stays at this place, they must be either desperate or it is a last resort when they cannot find anywhere else.

  • Ian A

  • June 2015

Russ Hill? Is this acceptable

Room reserved was not available but a double room appeared after further discussions.

The room was dirty, outdated, noisy and should embarrass a modern hotel.

  • Moses A

  • June 2015

Russ Hill Hotel and Room 265

Russ Hill Hotel - Value for money, friendly polite staff.

It's good if you want to just stay there for the night before going on a flight. Not really good long term because, the beds are hard. the one in our room, the springs on it were almost protruding. we had to get up and flip it over to the other side, before I can sleep on it. There is no fan or climate control device now that is hot, our room didn't have a window.

  • Gary P

  • June 2015

Russ Hill Hotel

Could be a really good hotel if some money was spent on it.

A very unclean looking shower curtain and mould on the curtains not too inviting. Bed OK although lacking some support, TV quite old and picture quality average. Unhappy to be woken by maids cleaning rooms at 0700 on Sunday morning and for someone to walk into my room, (seems keys must open other bedroom doors?). It also seems a very old and unsecure practice to have hotel name and room number tags on the key ring, must keep any potential thief happy. On the upside the bar food was excellent and good value for money and the drinks seemed good value and the lager well chilled.