No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gainsborough Lodge

3AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
39 MASSETTS ROAD , HORLEY, RH6 7DT
AN EXTENDED EDWARDIAN HOUSE WITH 15 ROOMS AND BUNGLOW ANNEXE OF 7 ROOMS.
FAMILY RUN SET IN HALF-ACRE GARDERN SITUATED 5 MINUTES DRIVE FROM GATWICK AIRPORT AND 3-5 MINUTES WALK TO LOCAL SHOPS, RESTAURANTS, PUBS AND HORLEY TRAIN STATION.
Picture of Gainsborough Lodge, HORLEY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

gainsborough lodge is perfect for a night's stopover before a morning heading to Gatwick airport
Fantastic, friendly staff. Ideal for a quick stopover. the Lodge is very close to town (virtually right on the doorstep) which has numerous eating outlets and pubs. Perfect for the evening before your holiday! We stayed there because it is close to Horley train station (we travelled up from the South West) and close to Gatwick. Breakfast was amazing and only £5 each, eat all you like! The Lodge staff transferred us to Gatwick for only £5 (for both of us) which was amazing value. I would definitely recommend this place. The actual room is basic but for the price we paid it was perfect. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay before heading to Gatwick for your morning flight.

Reviewed by
Julie R

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
I was only there for a few hours, but the room was clean and very pleasant, and the bed was very comfortable.
I didn't have any meals there, so I can't comment on the food.

Reviewed by
Julia M

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay, I will use Gainsborough Lodge again

Reviewed by
Maria Dolores Santodomingo Lorente

From Douglas, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value
We asked to book a taxi to the airport for 3.30 in the morning the manager offered to take us for £5
but actually turned up 15 mins late which we were angry about , but on the whole it was very
reasonable . Clean sheets and towels tea and coffee making equipment. Hotel is also in the process
of being refurbished,

Reviewed by
Carol R

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not recommended
No welcome, very worn and in need of a complete renovation, depressing place.

Reviewed by
John Heys

From Jersey, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small but clean
Very reasonable price, £41 for a Gatwick Guest House was excellent. The guy on the desk was friendly and helpful and even gave me the choice of two rooms. The room was small but exceptionally clean. Looked as though the bathroom was recently renovated as it was modern with a good shower. For the price this was exceptional value for money.

Reviewed by
Simon Franks

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was clean & immaculate.
however lost sleep when guest checked-in late into adjacent room. could clearly hear their every movement. the other minus was the cooked breakfast served the next day was too oily

Reviewed by
S Raman

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Good

Reviewed by
Graham E

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and comfortable - booked a single room but got a double! Great value for money. Ideally located for Gatwick airport which is why I chose it.

Reviewed by
William H

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed and let down. Hotel staff unprofessional
Very disappointed as it was my first time to book this hotel. The first time I rang a lady booked me a room. When i rang back a man answered and said no woman works there. He could not find my booking then he did. I wanted to upgrade due to the on line booking said my booking did not go through then 5 hrs later i got an email saying i am booked. I was very confused. I informed late rooms and the hotel neither cared or wanted to upgrade me. Also i was told i cannot cancel booking.I would never use them again. I do not recommend them either.The photos on their website of the rooms changed twice. I did not feel safe to stay at this hotel so I did not.Money was taken from my account even though i made a complaint.

Reviewed by
E Stone

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next