No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Grim's Dyke Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Old Redding, Harrow Weald, HA3 6SH
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel is a beautiful, secluded 19th century country house. Just 12 miles from the center of London and within easy reach of Heathrow, the magnificent former country residence of Sir William Gilbert is set in over 40 acres of beautiful gardens and woodlands. With 46 elegant rooms, housed in both the main hotel and lodge, a 2 AA rosette restaurant serving our own seasonal produce, this is the perfect British country retreat.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Grim's Dyke Hotel, Harrow Weald at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation very good, but restaurant a bit lacking
Our room, with a small balcony was very good. We decided to have our evening meal in the restaurant, where the food was fine, if unexceptional, but the service was not so good. We had to ask to place our order, both for food and wine, after we had been at the table for some time - maybe 20 minutes after arriving. There were a couple of large groups at other tables, but we did feel somewhat overlooked. But overall, the stay was most enjoyable.

Reviewed by
Janet P

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Surprise
Working in Central London, decided to stay at the top of the Jubillee Line, surprise with the quality of the hotel at such a good rate.
Staff were exceptionally helpfull and friendly whilst the surroundings were a pleasent surprise.

Reviewed by
David C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good but could be so much better
A fantastic and truly historic Victorian mansion house in beautiful gardens in a good locality. Perfectly OK standard 3-star hotel-type accommodation, service and food, very good value for money, no significant complaints. Well, perhaps just a few niggles: to get to our first floor room in the modern annexe we had to go up one flight of stairs and down another, with no lift available - not easy for an old geezer with a heavy suitcase. Breakfast - we didn't have the cooked option so I can't comment, but the continental-type breakfast was a bit perfunctory. And I asked to print out a document but reception had trouble with the printer; they were helpful and eventually succeeded, but not too impressive for a hotel which does a lot of conference business. But no major beefs - just a strong feeling that this is a rather worn-out, run-down hotel with some of the best potential I've ever seen to be something really amazing. The hotel is crying out for a makeover, and if it was upgraded to 5-star it has everything it needs in terms of buildings, grounds, location and historic narrative to be one of the best hotels anywhere. But then, of course, I wouldn't be able to afford to stay there again!

Reviewed by
Roger S

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Grounds beautiful for the wedding we attended. Food for wedding was pretty good for mass catering. Accommodation did not reach our expectations. Our garden lodge rooms were pretty tired long. A number of small basic maintenance issues - hook in bathroom loose, stains on carpet, trouser press almost falling off the wall and a large hum all night long in our room - there was no point in questioning this at 1a.m. in a full hotel but did report this the next morning - was not evident in the adjoining room. The main common areas of the Garden Lodge were also very tired looking - stained carpets and some painting needed. Not quite as good as another Best Western hotel we used for a different family event. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
M Cadman

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Many happy returns
We regularly need to visit friends and family in our old area. The Grim's Dyke is ideally situated, in beautiful grounds and always very welcoming. It has been updated to reflect modern needs but still retains the character in keeping with the old building. We always enjoy staying there.

Reviewed by
Diane Lee

From Nailsea Bristol , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice good value hotel in beautiful grounds. Would enjoy staying again.

Reviewed by
S Ellis

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

faboulous location but hotel poor
Beautiful old house and wonderful gardens. However, lack of maintenance and good housekeeping checks meant entrance door rarely closed so no safety to the block, blind on window broken, shower collapsed on me, bed issues etc. Restaurant is expensive for what it is and very poor quality starter of goats cheese soufflé - when I complained no one came and spoke to me so poor customer care in the restaurant. Such a shame as the location is beautiful and evening singing made it a delight to sit outdoors on a summer evening. Would stay for the location but take my own food. Would recommend for the peaceful location but mention my own experience

Reviewed by
D Keel

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely surprised
Booked for 1 night stay and a lovely surprise to find this grade2 listed hotel in beautiful old grounds a peaceful oasis nor busy Harrow. Stayed in the garden lodges and very peaceful night with no noise to light as back into woodland staff ver good and lovely period hotel

Reviewed by
Andrew Procter

From Gainsborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcome
We were disappointed on arrival that the welcome was very poor by the receptionist. She could barely speak to us and was almost rude when we asked directions again to where our room was. This poor welcome put us off eating at the hotel so we ate in the nearby town. Although we were pleased with the room we were disappointed that we had not been told before purchase that the room was not in the main building but in the lodge some distance away. we may have looked else where had we known this. The receptionists who were on duty when we left however were more friendly and because of this we would stay again.

Reviewed by
karen e

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely accommodation in a beautiful setting
We have recently moved to Somerset but frequently return to our old home area of Oxhey Village to visit friends. The Grim's Dyke hotel in Old Redding is the perfect place as a base. It would normally be unaffordable but through some Late Room deals it has been possible to use this lovely hotel. Since January 2014 we have since stayed again - in May and more recently on 20 June 2014.
The rooms are pleasantly furnished with views over the splendid gardens. The staff are helpful and we enjoy spending time in the lovely lounge bar.
Thank you
Diane and Robert Lee (aged 67 and 63)

Reviewed by
diane lee

From nailsea bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next