No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Grim's Dyke Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Old Redding, Harrow Weald, HA3 6SH
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel is a beautiful, secluded 19th century country house. Just 12 miles from the center of London and within easy reach of Heathrow, the magnificent former country residence of Sir William Gilbert is set in over 40 acres of beautiful gardens and woodlands. With 46 elegant rooms, housed in both the main hotel and lodge, a 2 AA rosette restaurant serving our own seasonal produce, this is the perfect British country retreat.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Grim's Dyke Hotel, Harrow Weald at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 76 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Check out was a poor reflection as I waited 5 mins before leaving a note and my key card as I couldn't find anyone at the desk

Reviewed by
Tom B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Hidden Gem not far from civilisation.
The hotel itself is a stunning timber framed building set in glorious woodland. It is very pretty, which subsequently means it is very very popular for weddings - this means the hotel is rarely quiet and you might on occasion feel like a spare guest - I had photographers taking my picture all through my visit - I had to keep telling them I wasn't part of the wedding.
My room was situated away from the main building in the Garden Lodge and a porter was called to take me and my bags over. Very spacious room with a hugh squishy bed. Tea and 'real' coffee making facilities were provided along with an iron and ironing board (no trying to iron on a towel on the bed which was nice) and hairdryer.
A few little niggles. My room was actually a disabled access room so the bathroom was not great - basically a shower in the midddle of the ceiling with a cheap curtain that pulled half way round and rails and folding seats everywhere. This 'wet room' set up meant that the bathroom was just that - A very wet room, with everything getting soaked each time you showered - soggy loo roll anyone? I ended up taking the shower curtain down and repositioning it completely to try and keep the loo dry.
The TV was also set up for disabled accessability meaning that the audio descript was defaulted and no one I spoke to knew how to turn it off - this basically meant that everything I watched had a voice narrating over the top - "she looked at him tearfully and walked slowly away" etc etc.
I didn't order breakfast as previous reviews had put me off (expensive and hit and miss quality) but even if I had wanted to order, my room service card had already been filled in by a previous guest and not replaced (I know its only a little thing, but attention to detail matters).
If I'd paid the hotel rate of over £120, then these little thing, particularly the bathroom would have put me off but at the rate I paid it was fantastic and I would recommend it to others.

Reviewed by
Karen Ellis

From Surbiton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room small & stuffy and not value for money. Blanket was ripped and stained, also bottom sheet stain
On checking in the receptionist was yawning and disinterested. The room was not value for money, very hot and stuffy and the bed linen should have been checked, and was certainly not clean.
We have stayed in the main house before and had enjoyed it, but the garden rooms are not of the same standard, very disappointing, and we would certainly never stay in them again, Such a shame. Think the standards may be slipping.

Reviewed by
H BENNETT

From Brentwood, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation very good, but restaurant a bit lacking
Our room, with a small balcony was very good. We decided to have our evening meal in the restaurant, where the food was fine, if unexceptional, but the service was not so good. We had to ask to place our order, both for food and wine, after we had been at the table for some time - maybe 20 minutes after arriving. There were a couple of large groups at other tables, but we did feel somewhat overlooked. But overall, the stay was most enjoyable.

Reviewed by
Janet P

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Surprise
Working in Central London, decided to stay at the top of the Jubillee Line, surprise with the quality of the hotel at such a good rate.
Staff were exceptionally helpfull and friendly whilst the surroundings were a pleasent surprise.

Reviewed by
David C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good but could be so much better
A fantastic and truly historic Victorian mansion house in beautiful gardens in a good locality. Perfectly OK standard 3-star hotel-type accommodation, service and food, very good value for money, no significant complaints. Well, perhaps just a few niggles: to get to our first floor room in the modern annexe we had to go up one flight of stairs and down another, with no lift available - not easy for an old geezer with a heavy suitcase. Breakfast - we didn't have the cooked option so I can't comment, but the continental-type breakfast was a bit perfunctory. And I asked to print out a document but reception had trouble with the printer; they were helpful and eventually succeeded, but not too impressive for a hotel which does a lot of conference business. But no major beefs - just a strong feeling that this is a rather worn-out, run-down hotel with some of the best potential I've ever seen to be something really amazing. The hotel is crying out for a makeover, and if it was upgraded to 5-star it has everything it needs in terms of buildings, grounds, location and historic narrative to be one of the best hotels anywhere. But then, of course, I wouldn't be able to afford to stay there again!

Reviewed by
Roger S

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Grounds beautiful for the wedding we attended. Food for wedding was pretty good for mass catering. Accommodation did not reach our expectations. Our garden lodge rooms were pretty tired long. A number of small basic maintenance issues - hook in bathroom loose, stains on carpet, trouser press almost falling off the wall and a large hum all night long in our room - there was no point in questioning this at 1a.m. in a full hotel but did report this the next morning - was not evident in the adjoining room. The main common areas of the Garden Lodge were also very tired looking - stained carpets and some painting needed. Not quite as good as another Best Western hotel we used for a different family event. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
M Cadman

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Many happy returns
We regularly need to visit friends and family in our old area. The Grim's Dyke is ideally situated, in beautiful grounds and always very welcoming. It has been updated to reflect modern needs but still retains the character in keeping with the old building. We always enjoy staying there.

Reviewed by
Diane Lee

From Nailsea Bristol , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice good value hotel in beautiful grounds. Would enjoy staying again.

Reviewed by
S Ellis

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

faboulous location but hotel poor
Beautiful old house and wonderful gardens. However, lack of maintenance and good housekeeping checks meant entrance door rarely closed so no safety to the block, blind on window broken, shower collapsed on me, bed issues etc. Restaurant is expensive for what it is and very poor quality starter of goats cheese soufflé - when I complained no one came and spoke to me so poor customer care in the restaurant. Such a shame as the location is beautiful and evening singing made it a delight to sit outdoors on a summer evening. Would stay for the location but take my own food. Would recommend for the peaceful location but mention my own experience

Reviewed by
D Keel

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next