No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Best Western Burnside Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Kendal Road, Bowness On Windermere, LA23 3EP
BEST WESTERN The Burnside Hotel and Parklands Country Club is the perfect base for discovering (or revisiting) the wonders of Windermere. Set in mature gardens with breathtaking views over lake itself, vistas across the fabulous fells and just minutes from the steamer piers and bustling village centre of Bowness-on-Windermere, this delightful corner of Cumbria has it all. Whether you want to explore the historic, the cultural or the contemporary, we're within easy reach of attractions as well as towns, villages and rural retreats that are scattered across the Lake District. Come along to Cumbria, and you'll literally see why so many people come back time and again.
Picture of Best Western Burnside Hotel, Bowness On Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bowness Burnside Definitely Recommend !
Enjoyed a two night stay with breakfast at Burnside. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Great position, close to all shops, restaurants etc. 5 minute walk. Hotel has a swimming pool which although I didn't use looks great. The bedroom was very large in comparison to others ,clean and tidy, a welcome gift on arrival consisting of two bottles of water and a tray of petit fours. There a different dining venues there depending if you want a bar menu or three courses. We only had breakfast as we know a great Italian restaurant close by that we love. I would definitely recommend Burnside hotel and shall be returning very soon.

Reviewed by
S Wilson

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was adequate however the bed was small as was the television (could only get bbc programmes) the pillows were rather hard the heat in the room was so bad I couldn't sleep even with the patio door open.

Reviewed by
p sanderson

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, pool and sauna facilities in need of modernisation
Good stay, reasonably good value for money. Leisure facilities need a good refurbishment, a bit dated and borderline H&S non-compliant.
Breakfast was nice, wifi connection didn't work for some reason.

Reviewed by
J G

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Wi-Fi zone etc
The hotel is a bit dated and the patio overlooking the lake is one where you really can't see the lake because all the hedges and trees are too high it is nowhere near as nice as it looks
however the food was alright and there are plenty of places in the hotel to Chill
But a major problem was we had no Wi-Fi at all throughout our stay
we were given a handout on how to wipe the memory on our iPhones to try and get it but without any conventional Wi-Fi connection it really was an isolated break barely worth the money overall at room only

Reviewed by
Sean S

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice location
The location is very close to Bowness Pier and the breakfast is very delicious. The hotel staff is very friendly. The Wifi in the room is very poor. If the hotel website can include how to go there by bus and which bus number can take will be more convenient for visitors who do not travel by car.
Bus number from Windermere train station to Bowness Pier are number 6/599/755/800

Reviewed by
Alice C

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was a perfect location for Bowness.
Our room was quite spacious but the bathroom was very small and dirty. The toilet hadnt seen a clean for a while and the bathroom floor looked like it hadnt been swept or mopped in months.
Staff were nice but not friendly. In the middle of checking in the receptionist answered the telephone!!
The breakfast was superb.
We had booked treatments in the spa only to be told two days before our arrival that they all had to be changed due to lack of staff and lack of products! B
The therapists were very good but it was still a disappointment as the spa was one of the main reasons we booked the hotel.

Reviewed by
L Bagley

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap & cheerful
Nothing fancy but great location, clean & quiet. Good value for money

Reviewed by
rachel t

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

"Worst Western"
To start there was a total lack of direction shown by the staff, as to where the dining room was. Had to guess as to where our room was too, we were just told that the lift is over there & it's there 3rd floor.
When we arrived in the room there was sweet wrappers on the floor, also a dead fly on the floor & 2 more on the window sill.
The toilet would not flush, as the tap at the side had not been turned on.
Which I presume that the room had not been used for a couple of days.
When we went for breakfast I had to wait ten minuites a for some toast, while my breakfast was going cold. I also heard another guest having to ask for cutlery, to which the waiter said " I fuckoff not understand.!!!"
Complete incompetence as far as I'm concerned by all members of the staff & will not be staying at any other "Worst Western" venues.
Completely "disgusted" for the price of the room I was charged.
My comments will also be put on trip adviser, & I will be telling all my friends and family to avoid best western at all costs.!!

Reviewed by
J Lee

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only stayed the one nite but pleasant enough it was clean and tidy, close to all the shops and the lake.

Reviewed by
C Burch

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Its Gone West(ern)
First impressions are ok a basic reception area but functional. Booked on late rooms they mucked it up, I booked two rooms for two couples, they forwarded to the hotel two single occupancy rooms!
Both rooms were not cleaned after the previous guests, even the linen was not clean!
The staff were brilliant a guy called Jordan was very good under the circumstances and did his best to get us relocated to a different room.
The house keeping people want a wake up call, after looking at two other rooms we settled on the better one...mainly because it was their last choice...they were full...A very poor experience, the whole place is in dire need of investment!!
No I would not return!

Reviewed by
J C T

From Morpeth, England
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next