Reviews - BEST WESTERN The Bell Hotel


High Road Epping,, London Epping, CM16 4DG

Price From 134.99 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (37)

43% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality



  • October 2015

Could of been better for the price

Quite, clean but overpriced compared to others I've stayed at.

  • Elaine Jackson

  • October 2015

worst hotel room ever

The block of rooms looked like a detention centre.

Room old and tired, lamp not working, tea tray and bathroom were covered in ants!. Bathroom old and disgusting the radiator had been leaking for so long it was covered in limescale. First time ever I did not have a shower in a hotel room!. Mattress springs sticking through and carpets stained. We were about to eat in the hotel restaurant when a couple told us not to bother as the food was disgusting and a table of 14 adults walked out after waiting for nearly 2 hours for food stating it was cold and horrible, they all refused to pay. We had to order takeaway pizza as it was now 9pm and as my husband went out to the carpark to collect he was accosted by 2 prostitutes who were obviously looking for their client in the reception area. There appeared to be only 2 staff who were trying to run the reception, bar and restaurant. It was like fawlty towers crossed with a carry on film. Would never stay in a Best Western again.

  • mark r

  • October 2015

The room was worth the price i paid everything was adequate

  • John L

  • September 2015

Room was adequate, but did not appreciate being woken at 4am by foul and loud mouthed yobs in corridor, and then having decided to start our journey, finding that there was no hot water!

  • David H

  • August 2015

Epping again

I have stayed in the Bell at Epping many times over the past 10 years.

There have been a few changes in name & ownership in that period but the quality of the staff still shines through making the stay very pleasant,

  • Mike B

  • August 2015

Avoid at all costs

Avoid this place at all costs.

Dirty rooms and corridors. There was dirty plates outside room opposite when we checked in and this was there when we checked out. Incredibly noisy at night not helped by 2 fire alarms overnight. I complained the next morning as their fire alarm should be a silent alarm until it's investigated - either it wasn't silent or there were no night staff awake to check. Staff refused any discount for this just saying "not our fault"

  • Gary H

  • July 2015

Mr M25

Hotel being done up this will make it better.

When I stayed was very hot and room uncomfortably warm even with windows wide open rooms could do with fan to help keep cooler.

  • Brian W

  • May 2015

An overnight stop

A good location for what I needed.

However the hotel was plentiful of guests who were workmen. Not that I have a problem with that but my room was next door to inconsiderate people who were noisy and this disturbed many guests. I complained received an apology from the staff and was asked to complain to the manager who would call me. The call is still awaited.

  • Keith F

  • April 2015


I needed to stay overnight due to work but options are limited in this area.

  • Angela L

  • April 2015

No hot water on one evening.

Not sorted out after reporting the problem. Bedroom not in the main building. Staff tried to be helpful and were friendly.