No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gainsborough Hotel

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
7-11 Queensberry Place South Kensington, London, SW7 2DL
The Feel of an English country home the pleasure of being close to London's finest museums, shopping, dining, living. Relax and enjoy yourself in a setting of timeless elegance. Named after the celebrated artist, the Gainsborough combines the attractive style of bygone days with an easy informality. To stay here is to enjoy the London of fashionable South Kensington, Harrods, the restaurants, and antique markets, pubs and delightful backwaters of Chelsea and Knightsbridge. You're at the capital's culture too with great museums - Science, Natural History, Victoria and Albert - nearby and for music lovers, the glorious Royal Albert Hall, just minutes away.
Picture of Gainsborough Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 91 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gainsborough Hotel
Only complain I have was no plug in bath & could not get us 1 till following morning.

Reviewed by
marie k

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel in great area
The hotel is off the main road, so minimal passing traffic. The foyer area is tastefully decorated, in keeping with the building. Staff were very welcoming and as we arrived before our room was ready, offered to look after our bags, which other hotels have refused to do in London.
We stayed in a superior room, which was again nicely decorated. Our bed was a bit small, considering the cost of the room, it was barely a double and as my wife is 5 months pregnant it would have been nice to have a little bit more space. The bathroom was also shabby in comparison to the rest of the room, stained bath, splinters coming off the bath panel.
Overall though a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
L Johnson

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed, would never stay again.
We were told that food was available 24 hours, but when we requested a burger from the menu, they said all they had was ham sandwiches. We were starving and relied on this when we got back to the hotel. We had two separate beds pushed together which left me with a bad back as I kept falling down the middle of the two beds, and apparently, this was a deluxe room. We checked out asking for the manager who was not available. They said he would call, as we think we should have some discount, but to date, no phone call. Very bad service.

Reviewed by
Jill Fermess

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Compact but perfectly formed
I was out in London for a works Christmas party and needed somewhere to stay for the night.
I booked a deluxe single room. Room décor was clean, tidy & what was expected. Bed was a 1.5 single - big enough for me and would have been cosy for a couple.
Bathroom was a bit tired, but clean and functional.
I got exactly what a paid for through Laterooms - £79 for a room in central London - bargain!

Reviewed by
Lisa F

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sad Hotel
I must say that the staff were very good. My room Nr. 408 was unacceptable being that it was no bigger than a cupboard. The lighting was insufficient making it difficult to read. The table lamp was in a corner under the television so was really of little use. There was no bedside table - no room. Nowhere to put luggage - no room. The plaster was coming off the wall by the window. The window dirty and in need of a good coat of paint. The carpet was well worn. The bathroom cold and inconvenient. The lift floor (corners) needed cleaning and someone may trip over the loose carpet threads. The carpet in the dining room was, in parts thread-bare. Water stains decorated the walls and ceiling. I noticed it was AA approved. I wonder how? I did complain to the receptionist who was receiving other complaints that morning.

Reviewed by
Helen Smith

From St. Sampson, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very convenient for museums and The Royal Albert Hall
Very relaxing after a show. Staff particularly pleasant

Reviewed by
G FRENCH

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

zzzzz
zzzz

Reviewed by
Alan S

From Broadstone, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
The location of the Gainsborough Hotel is excellent for all central London sights.
We have stayed at this Hotel before. Found the reception area and dining room very pleasant, but felt that the room didn't quite match up to the appearance of the Hotel. With the many choices of Hotels in London, we will most likely look for another place to stay next time we make a visit to London.

Reviewed by
francis M

From East Dereham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location - Exceptional price!
I found this to be a great location, nice boutique hotel, cozy with helpful staff.

Reviewed by
E Arnesen

From USA
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location,
Disappointed that there was no free wifi.
Small double room. Bathroom was a bit 'tired'. Needed a new bath panel as the water damaged peeling paint was unappealing. Cleanlliness of bath, basin and wc was OK, but attention to detail cleaning around wc handle, bath panel, sealant, etc. Receptionist on duty on arrival was not very welcoming. A different Receptionist on departure was very pleasant. Off-site Car parking was more expensive than stated.

Reviewed by
sandra g

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next