No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Academy

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
17-21 Gower Street , London, WC1E 6HG
Located just off Oxford Street, The Academy is located in a peaceful yet central location in leafy Bloomsbury. A traditional townhouse hotel, originally built in 1776 with history, charm and character; each guestroom is tastefully decorated, and features iPod docking stations and flat screen TV's, for your entertainment.

Enjoy Full English or Continental breakfasts in our dining room – and dinner in one of the many fantastic restaurants nearby. During summer, take advantage of our two scenic, walled gardens or during colder days, relax in the peaceful, heated conservatory. Alternatively, in keeping with the area’s literary history, while away the hours in our small library before enjoying a drink in the sumptuous lounge.

Take advantage of The Academy's ideal location – just 10 minutes’ walk from Covent Garden’s boutique shops, The West End’s notorious theatres and Soho’s bustling nightlife. We are a short walk to the tube stations of Goodge Street (Northern Line), or Tottenham Court Road (Central Line). For the Eurostar, London St Pancras is just a 5 minute taxi ride or 15 minutes’ walk for the Eurostar is just a 5 minute taxi ride or a 15 minute walk. The Academy provides easy access to all London’s major Airports.

The Academy is a Grade II listed building (and, as such, does not have an elevator - all rooms are only accessible by stairs!). All guests receive a 50% discount on parking at Bloomsbury Square Car Park.
Picture of The Academy, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 143 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pricey but worth it for a treat
The Garden Suite was fab in every way.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline H

From Wallingford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, clean and comfortable
The location was ideal for me, just a short walk from Euston. My single room wasn't big but very clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
J Gibson

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Academy hotel is excellent
The Academy hotel is very close to tube and shops but manages to feel quiet and secluded away from the hurried busyness of a central London location. The welcome was perfect, booking in sorted swiftly and easily. staff very friendly and accommodating. our room was at the top of the beautiful ancient building and was well worth the climb. gorgeously comfortable and perfectly kitted out with tea & coffee facilities, a mini bar and lovely big bath in the bathroom. even room service was quick and delicious. we had a really lovely sleep and finished our stay with a fresh and tasty breakfast. I couldn't fault the academy and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a great stay in a unique small London hotel. will definitely return.

Reviewed by
T Battershill

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing rooms in a great location
Fantastic rooms, spacious, just a shame I arrived late at night and checked out early so didn't get the chance to appreciate it.

Reviewed by
Graham York

From East Molesey, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel - Well Worth a Stay
The title says it all really. The hotel was approx 10/15 minute walk from Kings Cross, very welcoming (nice fire on in the reception area) and had a nice feel to it. Rooms were clean, bed very comfortable, good strong free wi-fi and no issues at all. They also had a conservatory which is useful if you were travelling in a group and a garden. Great location. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
R G

From England
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not run of the mill!
The hotel was easy to get to from Euston Station, yet close to Central London. It was very comfortable with everything provided, including nice touches such as fresh apples. The room had plenty of character and was well appointed. Breakfast was very good too. The best thing about it was that it felt more like a house than a hotel.

Reviewed by
Louise W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, friendly stay in Bloomsbury
Really nice area, and great to be able to stay in a comfortable, clean and friendly hotel for a reasonable price. I am in no doubt I will use this hotel next time I need to stay in central London.

Reviewed by
Liam H

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable, beautifully decorated and courtyard garden was lovely. Well situated for centre
The staff were very helpful and accommodating. The hotel had a luxurious feel due to the period features and this was not reflected in the price of the suite. The only main issue which we encountered was that the room was advertised as being suitable for a family of 4. the only problem was that the 2nd bed was a sofa bed and 2 single beds would've been better for 2 children. The springs in the mattress could be felt and there wasn't enough room for our 2 childen.

Reviewed by
J Bell

From Egremont, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff
Very friendly staff

Reviewed by
Caroline Dear

From NOTTINGHAM, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location Location
For my needs this was fantastic as only 300yards from my work visit and really handy for Restaurants and bars around Tottenham Ct Rd and Bloomsbury. I had no issue with the fifth floor room and no lift but some might struggle and would need to ensure a room lower down. Nice feel to the place, quiet quality. Thank you, I shall be returning.
(got it at a discounted rate and would have considered the full price too high).

Reviewed by
Peter R

From Birkenhead, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next