No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
High Street Dorchester-On-Thames, Dorchester, OX10 7HH
The George Hotel is situated in the charming village of Dorchester on Thames and is part of the RelaxInnz prestige collection. Dating back to the 15th century, this is one of Britain’s oldest coaching inns, it is rich in historical character and charm complete with oak beams and inglenook fireplaces. The ensuite bedrooms are individually & tastefully decorated and include a TV, free Wi-Fi access, tea & coffee making facilities and most have period features.

Guests can enjoy fine British cuisine and traditional Sunday lunches in the intimate surroundings of the restaurant or relax with a quiet drink in the leafy gardens.

Surrounded by scenic river walks and countryside, The George Hotel is a 20-minute drive from Oxford’s historical centre. Henley-on-Thames is a 25-minute drive away while Birmingham and London Heathrow arirports are less than an hour away.

Picture of The George Hotel, Dorchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

mixed bag
On arrival we were impressed with the look of the hotel but the reception was situated in a very small cramped area. Our room was quite basic & had abit of a musty smell to it. It was obviously one of the cheaper rooms but reflected what we paid for the night. It became very hot & stuffy during the night & had to have the window wide open all night for some air. The valentines meal was nice but grossly over priced. Some of the staff were friendly & quite helpful but others not so much especially one of the gentleman who was present at breakfast who was positively miserable.



Reviewed by
lesley g

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice area and room but let down by lack of cleanlines.
nice enough cozy room in nice surroundings but was let down by the lack of friendliness from staff and the lack of cleanliness in our room. There was hair in the bath and the teaspoon I went to use to make tea was really dirty and had dried food all over it!

Reviewed by
J Hughes

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean and comfortable historical coaching inn.
We came back to the George having enjoyed a comfortable break there in March last year. This time we stayed in the main building in a very clean and comfortable room. We ate in the restaurant every night of our stay as the food was very good and real value for money. There is also a good choice of real ales and fine wines to suit most palates.
Situated across the road from Dorchester Abbey the hotel has good links to Oxford, Reading and Newbury. A really nice place to hang your hat.

Reviewed by
Doug Johnson

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The George Hotel
This is a thoroughly nice place to stay, the staff were polite and friendly, the room far better than I could have wished for and the food really good.

Reviewed by
A Chapman

From Danbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

David and Cheryl New Years Eve at The George
We both enjoyed the stay overall, our second stay at the hotel. It was New Years Eve and were looking for somewhere with character quieter than a town and just to be taken out of our modern surrounds. The booking achieved this.
The rooms, restaurant, bar are well see decorated and were clean.
The only gripe is about the price of the NYE menu and speed of service which was too quick. The menu had no prices on it and when we enquired they said £50 for three courses. We only wished to have two courses and choose the cheaper dishes. Anyway eventually the offer of £30 for two courses including a glass of wine was fair enough. The menu starter and dessert choices in the NYE menu were quite limited. The quality of food was good. Other guests next to us kept saying they, their room and the food was cold.
Overnight our room was very hot so I opened the window, we did both struggle to sleep though.
All the above however I think was down to the particular circumstances rather than a usual experience.

Reviewed by
David Broadley

From Didcot, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The George, Dorchester
Good value. Pleasant service. Decent food. Decent room. No complaints.

Reviewed by
david c

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb accommodation and wonderful food.breakfast was amazing

Reviewed by
MARY S

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely establishment
Really lovely property in beautiful village. Food was good, landlord was welcoming, having been in the hospitality business myself I can completely appreciate busy evenings with small numbers of staff but everyone was seen to and the service was brilliant. Would definitely recommend. The room was lovely and comfortable. Great for a weekend away.

Reviewed by
B Strawson

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

George Hotel
OK for the money

Reviewed by
Henry C

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely cosy place to stay
Lovely location, our room overlooking the courtyard was fine, bed so comfy and warm.
The bar area has a log fire and the dining room area very old with original features. The food was fine.
very good value for the location. The Landlord could have been a bit more welcoming and friendly, like the barmaid was. Locals were friendly.

Reviewed by
L Oakes

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next