Reviews - The George Hotel


High Street Dorchester-On-Thames, Dorchester, OX10 7HH

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (50)

78% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Ian S

  • September 2015

Loads of character

The George Hotel is a fascinating place to stay.

Don't expect boring, box-shaped rooms - this hotel oozes character as befits its location in a pretty village in wonderful, pictoresque countryside. We had a lovely stay and the staff were friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Glynn Griffin

  • August 2015

top accomodation

This has got to be one of the most beautiful villages in Oxfordshire.

The George is full of old world charm with good food and friendly bar staff. I was in room 5 and I slept like a log. I was awoken by the bells of the abbey ringing(what a marvellous way to wake up). So what if there is no double glazing, the village is that tranquil you don't need it. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Andy Jones

  • May 2015

Accommodation Quality

The `George` is certainly not an `Hotel`, `Old Coaching Inn` would be more appropriate.

There are no `Residents Only` areas except for the dining rooms, which I must say are outstanding. There were several minor issues with our room;

Neither of the radiators could be controlled. the thermostats were broken. There was only one security bolt on the outside door. The other was broken. The extractor fan in the bathroom did not work. Only half of the light bulbs were working. The chandelier did not work at all. I appreciate these points are relatively minor and could easily be corrected with regular maintenance. However, over a period they become a nuisance.

  • F Bowes

  • April 2015

Lovely hotel, great staff and beautiful area

We loved our stay at the hotel.

Staff was so friendly, room was big with beautiful features and the pub was lovely

  • Edwin townsend

  • April 2015

staying away for work

The room was ok .

It was clean and tidy. Food menu was basic but the food was excellent . for me breakfast could have been served from six thirty not seven but the food was again excellent.

  • John K

  • March 2015

Back room has becime tired/ refurbishment due

The rear room (10) had a loo flush which was not quite right.

With a bit of care it then worked. Curtains with damaged track. Decor generally looking tired. We have stayed previously and the front rooms are much better. We had an out of season (reduced) rate, so this room was still reasonable value for our overnight stay. A beautful old coaching house and Dorchester on Thames is a delight place to visit. Breakfast was excellent.

  • lesley g

  • February 2015

mixed bag

On arrival we were impressed with the look of the hotel but the reception was situated in a very small cramped area.

Our room was quite basic & had abit of a musty smell to it. It was obviously one of the cheaper rooms but reflected what we paid for the night. It became very hot & stuffy during the night & had to have the window wide open all night for some air. The valentines meal was nice but grossly over priced. Some of the staff were friendly & quite helpful but others not so much especially one of the gentleman who was present at breakfast who was positively miserable.

  • J Hughes

  • February 2015

Nice area and room but let down by lack of cleanlines.

nice enough cozy room in nice surroundings but was let down by the lack of friendliness from staff and the lack of cleanliness in our room.

There was hair in the bath and the teaspoon I went to use to make tea was really dirty and had dried food all over it.

  • Doug Johnson

  • February 2015

Very clean and comfortable historical coaching inn.

We came back to the George having enjoyed a comfortable break there in March last year.

This time we stayed in the main building in a very clean and comfortable room. We ate in the restaurant every night of our stay as the food was very good and real value for money. There is also a good choice of real ales and fine wines to suit most palates. Situated across the road from Dorchester Abbey the hotel has good links to Oxford, Reading and Newbury. A really nice place to hang your hat.

  • A Chapman

  • February 2015

The George Hotel

This is a thoroughly nice place to stay, the staff were polite and friendly, the room far better than I could have wished for and the food really good.