No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Allensford , Allensford, DH8 9BB
*All public areas and bedrooms are non smoking*

Set in 20 acres of Northumberland countryside overlooking the Derwent Valley, this country house hotel offers the warmest of welcomes. There are 48 spacious double bedrooms including five suites and many of our rooms have stunning views over the countryside. Guinevere's Restaurant offers english and continental a la carte cuisine in luxurious surroundings while the Grouse and Claret Bar offers the warmth of a country pub with a full range of bar meals and snacks. The hotel also has several conference rooms up to a capacity of 300 and is a very popular wedding venue. The hotel has its own superb leisure club with indoor heated pool, fitness centre, spa bath and steam room The hotel offers easy access to the major cities of Newcastle upon Tyne and Durham and all local attractions in the North East.

We do have a few pet friendly rooms within the hotel that carry an additional £15 per night charge.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor Hotel, Allensford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Returning customer
Have stayed at this hotel before and were favourably impressed, however a large wedding somewhat spoiled the experience at the weekend on our first stay.
Hotel is in a nice situation, food is good which can be taken in the bar or restaurant. On our recent stay we were given a room in the cottages which had been re-furbished to a high standard.
Would stay again.

Reviewed by
P Troth

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel

Reviewed by
Karen L

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very friendly and inviting hotel .
A very enjoyable stay ,clean and comfortable accomodation ,friendly and helpful staff,a great breakfast .Swimming pool and spa an extra bonus .Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
james m

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very impressed!
We got married at the Royal Derwent Hotel, which is now the Best Western Derwent Manor, 13 years ago, and always planned to return. We were treated to a break at the hotel for my husband's 50th birthday and had the most wonderful time, a 2nd honeymoon really! We were upgraded to the Bridal Suite, which is a beautiful hexagonal room in the turret of the hotel, with a fabulous bathroom complete with slipper bath and twin sinks, and a huge Queen-size bed! The staff were very professional and accomodating, and allowed us a late check-out so we could enjoy the leisure club after breakfast! The breakfast was excellent, we couldn't fault it really; loads of choice and a selection of hot food plus continental and pastries.
The leisure club was clean and had a small pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gym. There are minor works to be completed within the renovations, but we enjoyed spending an hour relaxing there.
There were a few minor decorative issues but the hotel is in the process of being renovated so we can overlook this! I would recommend the Derwent Manor to anyone wanting a relaxing break; the surrounding area is beautiful!
We will definitely be returning as soon as we are able, and look forward to seeing the new improved Hotel after the renovations! Thank you very much for our wonderful break :)

Reviewed by
Tracy Porter

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easter Break
Excellent hotel, large and good quality rooms with lovely views, spotlessly clean, quiet location and friendly helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Nigel C

From Carrickfergus, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

another relaxing stay
Very pleasant environment with spacious rooms

Reviewed by
James Brunton Smith

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ageing grandeur
Reasonable accommodation, although the bed was past it sell by date and the tiling in the bathroom needed some attention.
Only found out that a fee of £15 was payable for a dog on arrival and the cost worked out more expensive than kennelling! Apparently the cost covers the extra cleaning required after accommodating a dog but this is questionable when the dog is using its own bedding.

Reviewed by
R Cobb

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying at Derwent Manor
A very comfortable place to stay. Staff very helpful. Room clean - nice views and convenient for local facilities ( a short drive to Consett).

Reviewed by
Jan P

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brilliant
after leaving a comment on the late rooms site when booking my hotel, i arrived to find that they had done what i had asked and even left me gluten free biscuits in my room. brilliant.
i have stayed at this hotel a number of times, and nothing to much or them, they will always try to help. good value for money for the rooms. nice quiet hotel. will be back

Reviewed by
Angela s

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfiest beds ever slept in

Reviewed by
Aidan King

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next