No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - SO Arch

4Self Classified Serviced Apartments Ratings explained
Pemberton Gardens , London, N19 5RR
SO Arch, located close to Camden, is a 4 star grade II listed building, which is now a boutique style Apart hotel, that successfully combines contemporary design and concepts within the walls of a former dispensary and school that dates back to 1830.

Behind its original yellow brick walls and church style windows, you will find extremely modern apartments and duplexes which are spacious, well equipped with soft furnishings and appliances. Bathed in natural light, all enjoy free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, kitchenettes with integrated fridge, microwave, flat screen televisions, work station, and onsite parking is also available

Perfect for 1 night or extended stays, leisure or business travellers, So Arch makes a great base for your stay in London.
Picture of SO Arch, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do not stay at this hotel
I booked a luxury double room that was extremely spacious,
bathed with natural light through the dual aspect church
Style windows and high ceilings with a king size bed.

Upon arrival we were given a room that was the complete opposite.
The garden suite - it had low ceilings and was very dark and
dingy. The windows over looked the courtyard that people
were sitting it so we had to have the curtains closed. There
were blood type stains on the carpet and on one pillow case and
brown stains on the bathroom towel and a hole in the bathroom
door and rubbish in the kitchen bin.

We informed the gentlemen on reception that this was not the room
We had booked and was advised that no other rooms were available.

Unfortunately we were attending a function at 5pm that day and
Did not have time to find a new hotel.

Reviewed by
Jodie H

From Potters Bar, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic value - lots of space in a brilliant location with off street parking
I stayed for one night with my boyfriend as I was in London for work. The hotel was easy to find and there was masses of off street parking. The check in process was easy and the receptionist was helpful - they had made up the sofabed in advance in case we were not a couple (which I thought was an excellent idea) but on discovering that we were, dismantled it in minutes. The room had a bathroom, kitchenette and sitting room downstairs, with a double bed on the upper mezzanine level. Very clean, furniture looked new and everything (air con, tv, kettles etc) worked without a hitch. We had a fantastic meal at a nearby pub (the St Johns Tavern on Junction Road) and the hotel is brilliantly placed a few minutes walk from Archway tube - I was in work in Edgware in a short drive, and my boyfriend reached the City within about 15 minutes. For what we paid, I was very impressed with this level of accommodation compared to other things on offer in London. Could comfortably have slept 4 adults which would have made it an even better bargain!

Reviewed by
E Donnellan

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Frustrating and disappointed!
Upon check-in we were told we could be together in one apartment (we originally booked two apartments for 4 adults). We accepted and moved into the apartment. Once settled we realised there was no living/lounge room for us relax and socialise. We had to sit and talk in the kitchen (which was small). There was no pots and pans or iron and ironing board. There was no curtain or blinds in any of the rooms therefore there no was privacy (we had to change in the kitchen or bathroom) and it was hard to sleep with the sun coming through. We went to reception to see if these issues could be rectified. We were told by the first receptionist that he will provide us with the pots, pans, iron and ironing board shortly but could do nothing about any curtains or blinds but he will move us to another apartment the next day. We asked if we could have our original rooms back to which he said they are no longer available. We were frustrated but if we were provided with our requests we would be fine. After an two hour wait we were only provided with an iron and ironing board. We were told there was no pots and pans available. The next day we were told by a different receptionist they couldn't move us into another room. We asked the receptionist "what would you suggest we do?" to which he replied "you can fill in a complaint form."
Very disappointing as the apartment visually was exceptional and very clean. Loads of potential for a great stay but very poor service.

Reviewed by
A Parle

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great find!
A beautiful converted school which was simple, clean and accessable. The room had an upstairs for a double bedroom and large bathroom. Still needs some minor touching up in places but mostly cosmetic. Staff were friendly and accomondating. Quiet spot within walking distance of tube.

Reviewed by
Wendy B

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

customer Service
On arrival I was told that there wouldn't be any electricity from 7am for approx. min 2 hrs.
There were no other mirrors in the room apart from the bathroom but with no electricity it was dark so you were unable to see.
They were unable to provide me with another mirror, so it was a case of using the stainless steel toast to try and do my hair.
I had to complete a form as I requested a discount on my room due to the inconvenience but have just heard from the hotel to say they will not provide a discount but will offer me money off my next booking which I do not feel is appropriate.

Reviewed by
J Thomas

From Verwood, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So- You fancy a trip to London?
We had a 4 person room, set on 2 floors, one being a bedroom and the other being a lounge/kitchenette and WC/shower room. It was compact, as you'd expect but the old school had been refurbished nicely and it was a pleasant, quiet place to stay.

Reviewed by
Scott P

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A tad disappointed
There was one thing that took away from the whole experience for us.
When we booked, nothing was mentioned about the building work that was going on - we were rudely awakened (on the one morning of the week that we could have stayed in bed) by a group of builders working outside our window.
Apart from that - it's a lovely building, bright, fresh decor. A spacious room with good storage and a really nice bathroom. Microwave, sink, fridge and so on was discreetly placed so as not to be a feature - very clever.
Conveniently located 5 mins from underground station with a good selection of local restaurants, bars and supermarkets nearby - *Sainsburys is one minute away and open 7am til midnight.
I'd be happy to return WHEN the building work is completed!

Reviewed by
P McMahon

From LONDON, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A friendly welcome. Clean, well equiped, lots of space.

Reviewed by
Ian J

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So Arch
Newly refurbished, modern, sky TV and spotlessly clean. Excellent value

Reviewed by
Louise G

From Hedley on the Hill, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
I stayed here for one night with friends on a weekday. I would recommend staying here as the quality of the rooms were brilliant for the price we paid and it is easily accessible by bus, walking and tube. The beds were comfortable and everything was clean and in good working order. However, it took us a while to find it, as there is no sign saying so arch and it is not in the place Google maps says it is. There was also a consistent water like noise in our room that im guessing was pipes/a boiler that greatly affected my sleep. A bit like a toilet cistern slowly filling up and taking 15 mins to stop and then starting again. A constant flow of water. My friends were out like a light but i am a light sleeper and i laid there for hours. It is also next to a church that has a clock that chimes the time every hour.

Reviewed by
C Mandrell

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next