No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crystal Lodge Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
49, Brigstock Road , Thornton Heath, CR77JH
The Crystal Lodge Hotel is a well established hotel in Thornton Heath only 7 minutes away from the center of Croydon. Being very close to the high street means you are never far away from a variety of shops and restaurants, some of the bigger brands include Tesco, M&S, Matalan, John Lewis, TKMAX, Next, PC world...., pubs and Night Clubs
We are a very well presented Bed & Breakfast Hotel that has been welcoming guests for the last 15 years. As a small Bed & Breakfast we offer a warm welcome to all our guests, providing all what you need to feel that you are coming from home to home. As we have Rooms with Garden view with nice seating area to enjoy the good weather having a glass of wine also you could enjoy making BBQs, as we have some rooms with direct access to the garden.
We have a very friendly Lounge room, fully equipped kitchen to use, and well presented Garden.
Picture of The Crystal Lodge Hotel, Thornton Heath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
52% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pete foster
Communication between the staff was hard work no room cleaned and no clean towels for a week bathroom dirty and people wondering in the hotel to use the toilet during the night

Reviewed by
Peter F

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place would recommend.
Excellent place would recommend.
We stayed here for one night and had a most enjoyable stay.
We found the quirky accommodation decorated to a high standard
The staff was very friendly and helpful, love to stay there again …
Overall a lovely stay and would recommend it to friends!

Reviewed by
Alexander W

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible but...........
The room I stayed in was absolutely awful and I have pictures to prove it but, I have to hold my hands up and admit that this hotel/b&b has promise. When I arrived, the right-hand side of the place looked like it was being refurbed and I ended up on the other half in a truly awful room. What I hadn't realised is that the refurbed rooms were actually available and if I'd asked I could have had one. I think that when the improvements have been completed, it's going to be a nice place. So, if you book there, please ask for a new room. It is very close to Thornton Heath train station too but be warned, there's very little choice of eating out in that area.

Reviewed by
Graham Mather

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disgusting!
The worst place we've ever stayed at! They told us what we were going to do, they took the money out of my account 3 times and refused to return it. We didn't even get any breakfast and the hole b and b was a complete mess.

Reviewed by
toby barrowcliff

From Brighouse, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst stay anywhere ever
I have already written an official complaint to laterooms about this property, I refuse to call it a hotel. Dirty building site (undergoing maintenance). I have stayed in better hostels.

Reviewed by
lee jones

From Fleetwood, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic accommodation perhaps suited to hard-up backpackers.
Very tatty premises and not too clean, although the sheets and towels were clean. Shared toilet but own washbasin and shower in room. Breakfast in not very clean kitchen was very basic, only cornflakes, white sliced bread, jam, cheap ham and cheese.

ManagementResponse

This is regarding the unfair review above, I would like to make it clear that Mr Colin is unfair when he wrote those bad words about our hotel or our services. Actually our rooms are very clean not only clean and the breakfast been served in a very clean kitchen, we have people to clean it everyday, the breakfast is very rich with Toast(white and brown)-Jam-Butter-Cheese(Cheddar and White)-Ham-cornflakes-Eggs-Coffee-hot chocolate Tea-Orange Juice-Apple Juice-Mango Juice... What else we can offer for continental Breakfast. I can see it is unfair to post it like that, people when asking for discount and we refuse to do it as we see that is a very good price they take it personal and trying to revenge.

Reviewed by
C Carson

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay and great staff
Actually the most comfy hotel I have ever stayed in, nice customer service , comfy beds, very close the Thornton Heath train station, the car park which belongs to the hotel hotel make my life so easy.
Very wonderful place really you feel like you are staying in your home. Recommended to all

Reviewed by
George A

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Completely Unhappy
1) It was actually a terrible experienced! I have booked a room for 4 Adults and 1 Child but they did not give us the Child bed? I asked but the manager said I did not mention about Child at the booking! When I showed the booking details than he said I could give you mattress?? However, there wasn’t any other option to me, so I became happy with the used mattress! Very disappointed!!
2) It says smoke free room but the room was proper smoky smell???

Reviewed by
S CHOWDHURY

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great experience
i stayed at this hotel were i recieved a 5 star experience staff was very friendly and very helpful the room was very nice and clean and tidy i had a good experience and would stay there again

Reviewed by
G Thomas

From London, England
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality accomodation for price. rooms were clean an tidy. wifi worked well. Staff were always very helpful, courteous and respectful and kept the place very clean.

Reviewed by
jason h

From Australia
Who stayed in January 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next