No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crystal Lodge Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
49, Brigstock Road , Thornton Heath, CR77JH
The Crystal Lodge Hotel is a well established hotel in Thornton Heath only 7 minutes away from the center of Croydon. Being very close to the high street means you are never far away from a variety of shops and restaurants, some of the bigger brands include Tesco, M&S, Matalan, John Lewis, TKMAX, Next, PC world...., pubs and Night Clubs.
We are a very well presented Bed & Breakfast Hotel that has been welcoming guests for the last 15 years. As a small Bed & Breakfast we offer a warm welcome to all our guests, providing all what you need to feel that you are coming from home to home. As we have Rooms with Garden view with nice seating area to enjoy the good weather having a glass of wine also you could enjoy making BBQs, as we have some rooms with direct access to the garden.
We have a very friendly Lounge room, fully equipped kitchen to use, and well presented Garden.
Continental Breakfast is served from 7.30am - 9.30am.

Picture of The Crystal Lodge Hotel, Thornton Heath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as advertised
I had to pay cash-surcharge even for DebitCard AND got no receipt(tax dodge???)
TV didn't work-Explanation"no aerial in your room(10)"
No wash-basin in room as advertised
I'd have complained before leaving but there was no one around

Reviewed by
robert davidson

From Sandbach, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel is cheep and in perfect condition. Wll recommend it.

Reviewed by
Saulius budinas

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little budget stay close to transport links
When I booked this room, I didn't expect anything, I just prayed it was clean as I only needed a bed for a couple of nights whilst I was working in Croydon. Crystal Lodge is around 2 minutes walk from Thornton Heath station and this suited me perfectly. There is a tesco next door to the station so I could even pick up a sandwich on my way to work. This is also the first time I've ever booked a room with "shared bathroom", which worried me to no end but actually was quite bearable for a couple of nights. I was fascinated by the UV mood lighting in the hall and bedroom, entertaining myself for far too long looking at my white pj's glowing. I don't know why they've done it, but I think I like it. The TV was simply enormous for the size of room and I had no trouble seeing every single tiny hair in Danny Dyer's beard whilst I caught up on Eastenders. The TV programme info is in French so that kept me occupied for a little while. As far as budget independent hotels go, this is definitely one of my favourite so far. Clean, tidy, comfy beds, modern decor, and the receptionist was quite lovely on my check in. He even wrote the wifi code down for me so I didn't have to try and connect all of my devices whilst stood at reception. It's the little things that make me happy!

Reviewed by
Rebecca O

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
Room was tidy and warm shower was new but could of had a bit more pressure
Pleased overall

Reviewed by
Guy A

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

omg worked had booked , i turned up and thought my boss was having laugh
There was rats , a rubbish trip in the back garden right in front of the patio doors , we only stayed one night , even though we booked for two , you need to take this off your web site .....

Reviewed by
Lee J

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The crystal lodge b+b was more bed than breakfast.this b n b while the room itself was adequate the breakfast was non existent . The breakfast room was so small four people would fill it .when we were there the TV didn't work and in fairness they got us a different one. There was an element of confusion no one knew what the other was doing. The place was being renovated so I can understand some choas

Reviewed by
martin Barwell

From cloyne, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

safe and comfy hotel
I stayed one night in room 4 it was great staying , the staff were very helpful and friendly, the location of this hotel made our staying very nice we managed to do a lot of shopping, the room was very clean

Reviewed by
Robert R

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful small hotel
t was wonderful stay, everything was clean, friendly staff and very helpful , large room and comfortable bed .

Reviewed by
A Andrew

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's a rogue business. Do no stay here
We booked the hotel looking for a place near Croydon. 45 GNP for the night was lucrative but what hollowed was a nightmare. Before leaving the home we called the hotel , the person in the other end could hardly understand English,. We reached there at 8 pm. To our horror the hotel manager said to us that there is no vacancy in his hotel and took us to the hotel next door and gave us very very very filthy room, bathroom was stinking , carpet was filthy , no one could stay I the room. When I protested he told me he have only this room. We called late rook. Customer care but they refused to entertain my request. At the end had to book another hotel. This is a rogue business. PleS do not book it

Reviewed by
A Kumar

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly and warm welcoming hotel
clean room, friendly staff, the breakfast was really great and safe area and safe hotel, the shared bathrooms were been cleaned every single hour, it was easy to park my car at the hotel car park , it is small hotel but clean and safe and the location is great it is about 5 minutes walk to Thornton heath train station.

Reviewed by
Henery M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next