No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bay

Not Classified  Guest House Ratings explained
23, Fort Crescent , Margate, CT9 1HX
The Bay guest house is in a beautiful seafront position opposite the Winter Gardens in Cliftonville, Margate and enjoys picturesque views.

We are located close to central Margate for conveinience and just a few minutes walk to beaches, ammusements, restaurants, shops and a number of other attractions. Shell Grotto, Tudor House, Droit House and the Turner Centre.

15 miles from historic Canterbury and its cathedral, and Broadstairs with its Dickens heritage, Ramsgate with its yacht marina the Bay Guest House is in an ideal position.

We provide Bed & Breakfast in clean & comfortable, well decorated rooms, four of which are en-suite. It is our wish to make your stay in Margate a comforable, happy and memorable one.
Picture of The Bay, Margate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at the Bay
Right the Bay building is a bit weathered inside and out, but this is minimal within the whole concept. The price of stay is excellent and you get more than what you pay for. We had the "penthouse " with a superb sea view, AND yes near main road and you wil get noise from traffic and the odd walking /swaying/ singing drunk on their way home and may wake you.
The location being just out of town and opposite the winter gardens, is priceless.
In summary, the hosts, especially Hannah and her family, could not do enough , very warm and helpful. Thank you all.

Reviewed by
david green

From penrith, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not expecting much
For £50 a night my wife and I were not expecting too much, the room was very clean and big enough.
The en-suite bathroom shower was good but the shower was a bit small for me as I am over 6ft and big built.
The couple running the hotel are very friendly and helpful and make you feel really welcome.
We will be staying there again the next time we visit Margate.

Reviewed by
John B

From Bexleyheath, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly people and made to fill welcome and very helpful in every way from start to finish

Reviewed by
A skinner

From Barnet, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value, great location
Situated a few hundred metres up from the Turner gallery, this is just a short walk to the centre of Margate. We stayed in the (larger) family room (with sea view) which was comfortable and roomy. Cooked breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Hosts very friendly and helpful. Little disappointed the room wasn't serviced after first night of two night stay and the decoration / fittings could benefit from some "sprucing-up" (our bathroom extractor fan did not appear to be working.) But these did not significantly detract from what is an excellent value B&B. We would stay there again and happily recommend it.

Reviewed by
A Whitmarsh

From Chessington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A charming surprise
We were expecting a traditional B&B with cramped rooms and faded wallpaper. Instead we found a spacious and well-furnished room with a sea view. The most memorable aspect was the friendliness and helpfulness of the lady who welcomed us, showed us the room and cooked a superb English breakfast the next morning. The place was quiet and we had a very good night's sleep.
We have already booked for another overnight stay in a couple of weeks

Reviewed by
Anthony Rabin

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome, ideal for those on a budget
I stayed at The Bay prior to a job interview the next day. It was easy to find from the train station - just follow the coastline around towards the Winter Gardens.
On arrival I received a warm welcome and was shown to my room (#8, ensuite double). The room was pleasantly decorated, there were 2 comfortable chairs, space to hang clothes and a tea tray (no option for non tea/coffee drinkers, but not a real issue considering the price of the room). Sheets and towels were good quality and smelled fresh.
The bathroom was nice enough, but could be improved by the removal or painting of the slightly rusty shelves by the sink, and by installing an electric shower - I found it took a long time for hot water to arrive and the power was somewhat lacklustre.
After a decent night's sleep (bed slightly on the soft side for me but I'm very picky), breakfast was served in the light and airy front room, with cheerful background music. Upon hearing that I didn't want tea or coffee, I was offered more juice or some squash, which was nice. Breakfast was a plate of fresh and tinned fruit follow by a cooked option.
When I came to leave I was given an unexpected discount on the room rate as I was staying alone, which was very kind and much appreciated.
Overall, The Bay is good value for money and I felt very welcome.

Reviewed by
Lydia M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place
just stayed for one night , very friendly , nice food, ideal for winter gardens ,going back next year, will recommend to friends

Reviewed by
GARY BLACKMAN

From Gravesend, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect venue for the Winter Gardens!
Lovely little guest house right opposite the Winter Gardens so perfect if you have tickets for a show and don't want to travel home afterwards like us! The service was fabulous. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Anne A

From Faversham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome, charming and quirky, great location
We were warmly welcomed to The Bay, the owner couple are very sweet and accommodating. The rooms are carefully decorated in a boutique-style on a budget, which was charming and quirky, and the cooked breakfast was generous and very good.
The Bay overlooks the sea, is situated just opposite the Winter Garden, and next to the old town and the Turner contemporary. Its perfect for artist's and those who enjoy an individual atmosphere without too much fuss. A winter arts and crafts fair was on at the Winter Gardens during our stay. It was such a find, we bought beautiful wooden hand-turned bowls and many presents and shared great Margate stories with the locals. The Lifeboat was great for hot cider too. Highly recommended, great fun!

Reviewed by
M Olofsson

From Sweden
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming, happy to help where ever required, brilliant service received
Wouldn't hesitate in staying again

Reviewed by
J Hurley

From Folkestone, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next