Reviews - Kew B&B

3

271 Sandycombe Road , ,, Richmond, TW9 3LU

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (54)

63% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • B Broad

  • June 2015

Not Recommended

We were given Room 1 on the ground floor at front of the house.

The bed was comfortable but one side was pushed up against the wall and old fireplace. A large and unnecessary settee took up most of the rest of the room. There was no provision of any bedside lighting, the window curtains difficult to draw. TV reception was very poor. Worse than any of this was the fact the people in the room directly above were thumping about and chatting noisily until 2.30 AM. The en suite was functional but smelled, due no doubt to the lack of a working extractor and the fact that the shower tray did not retain the water properly. No one enquired as to our comfort at any stage. We only saw the owner for less than 1 minute, at breakfast, when he asked how we were going to pay. The one bright spot was the young Nepalise student 'Ray' who served us breakfast and took our £88.00 cash payment. He was friendly, helpful and chatty. Should we decide to visit Kew Gardens again we would definitely stay elsewhere.

  • wally frost

  • April 2015

review

the only downside to our stay was the sloping roof in the room.everything else about our stay was very good also very friendly.

  • J lewis

  • April 2015

Average B&B but good location for Kew and Good Value

Hosted by a lovely couple.

Just off a main road. Exterior of accommodation looks poor

  • Dino F

  • March 2015

B&B of Slamming Doors and Family dinner fights 3 feet away from us

The owners were kind and the breakfast was full of options; it was convenient for us to stay in the area for two nights and the price was right.

However, the room we stayed in - Room 2 - was the worst B&B experience we've had to date. The B&B is a Victorian terraced property converted into several guest rooms. Our was a converted second reception room which is still adjoined to the kitchen. The glass doors to the kitchen were covered by a roman shade and wardrobe; these provided absolutely no sound or light proofing. At night, with our room lights turned off, the light from the kitchen bled through the shade and around the wardrobe. The clank of dishes from the kitchen, particularly during the evening meal (the owners dined in the kitchen which is also where the complimentary breakfast is served in the morning) - sounded like we were sleeping in the kitchen itself. The owners also had a very loud row with their son (?) after 8pm one night - needless to say, it was uncomfortable to hear because we could hear normal conversion levels perfectly through the doors. The kitchen table is butted up against the adjoining doors.

The absolute worst thing was the door slamming. Front door. Door to kitchen. Room 1. Another door. Repeat. It woke both of us up both nights and there were several instances of door slamming after midnight.

The mattress was also uncomfortable. It was like sleeping on a mattress from 1962 that had never been rotated but heavily used. I could feel individual springs.

It was not an enjoyable experience.

  • R Pates

  • January 2015

animals for breakfast?

We arrived at the beginning of January, but the heater had not been put on in our room, and the central heating wasn't on.

Brrrr. When we came down for breakfast, there were cats on the nearby surfaces, adjacent to the breakfast table, and there was cat fur on the table itself. If we had been allergic, this would have been a disaster - but there should not be any animals present in a commercial dining room.

  • S Banfield

  • December 2014

Great overnight stay

Kew B & B was perfect for what we wanted.

It's easy to get to, in a lovely part of London and has great transport links if you need to explore further afield. Our room itself was a Studio with a double bed, single bed and camp bed. It was a bit cramped but for a group of three thirty and forty something blokes, that's hardly surprising. Everything worked, it was clean and the shower was fantastic. Breakfast was very nice with a constant supply of tea and toast when you wanted. The proprietor was friendly and allowed us a slightly earlier check in than advertised. All in all for the price we paid, this was ideal accommodation in a lovely part of London and I highly recommend it.

  • Sarah A

  • December 2014

A great find for the area!

Such a lovely friendly environment.

Breakfast was great and the facilities also fab!

  • Kevin Rapley

  • November 2014

Excellent b&b

The house/room was clean, fresh, spotless.

Customer service wasn't the best. The owner didn't no if he was coming or going when I tried to pay in morning. But he was a pleasant man.

  • Amy B

  • November 2014

This is situated in a very good location for accessing Kew Village, the underground and Kew gardens.

The studio we stayed in was clean and was fine for our needs. The room was cleaned daily and towels changed, however they took our towels and forgot to replace them with clean ones!. The beds were ok but one was extremely soft and the other (just a camp bed) was very firm but all clean linen. The owner seemed a little put out when we said we wouldn't be arriving till about 9pm as he said he normally goes out on a Friday night but his wife was there to check us in when we arrived The main let down was breakfast. Nothing was explained at breakfast, the owner didn't even greet us when we arrived. It was a quite a tight squeeze and breakfast is only served between 7 and 9am which I find quite early especially on a weekend. The owner ran out of bread both days and juice. It was described as a continental breakfast but there was just cereals and toast, cheese and ham and some limp looking salad. There was croissant on one day and chocolate pain on the 2nd day but not enough for everyone so you had to negotiate with your fellow guests as to who could have what. We kept having to ask for cutlery, bowls and glasses as the places were not set up and had to share butter, jam, milk etc. between tables so were constantly up and down. It wasn't a particularly pleasant experience. If you don't like cats this definitely isn't the place for you. There are 2 cats that walk around the dining area whilst you're having breakfast. I don't mind cats but I can appreciate some people wouldn't like this.

  • John Childs

  • November 2014

Enjoyable Stay in a quiet location with good transport links

Yet another enjoyable stay in studio 4 ideal for wife who has difficulty walking, being on ground floor level.

A quiet ,comfortable and clean accommodation with good hot shower and good heating ideal to come back to after a day out. Good public transport with train service directly into London nearby without having to use your own car. Also good choice of food at breakfast, with hosts very friendly and approachable.