No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macy's Hotel

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
168 Station Road Chingford, London, E4 6AN
Welcome to Macy`s guesthouse in London Chingford! Macy`s hotel is a modern hotel located in East London, one minute from Chingford railway station, 20 minutes away from London city centre and 10 minutes to Stratford where the London 2012 Olympics took place! The guesthouse located in Chingford, is a modern, boutique guesthouse with 10 en suite guestrooms. Our facilities include air conditioning, free WiFi, free car parking, the comfy bar features a wide array of drinks along with a beautiful tapas restaurant ELCHE, to dine with a dash of spice serving a full A La Carte menu of Spanish & Mediterranean cuisine. All room rates include complimentary continental breakfast. Full English breakfast will cost additional £4 per person. All 10 rooms are beautifully furnished and decorated in unique styles, with en-suite bathrooms. Macy`s guesthouse is proudly represented by a team of hardworking professionals who are committed to providing a personalized service. We will assist you with getting around London and recommend a variety of restaurants, amenities and attractions suitable for your needs whether you are visiting the capital for business or pleasure. Please note our check-in is until 11.00pm if arriving later than this time please contact us for a late check-in.
Picture of Macy's Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

macys chingford
This was the 2nd time ive stayed at this hotel.. nice clean friendly. Have already recommended fridnds visiting London to use this hotel and would definately do so again.

Reviewed by
L Legood

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and very itimate hotel great
Felt very welcome and the hotel was itimate cosy and clean

Reviewed by
D Tidy

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Macys a restaurant with rooms
Ideal for entertaining and not driving

Reviewed by
stanley k

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic , clean ,friendly will deff book again

Reviewed by
peter simpson

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick and Easy
The Accomodation is basic but doesn't lack alot. En suite room with Full shower stuff towels and alsorts.

Reviewed by
Daniel W

From Leeds , UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

London Break
Enjoyed our stay, great to park at the back and the tapas was really good.

Reviewed by
David P

From Thetford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms above a restaurant wtih good value food
As other reviewers have said this is more of a restaurant with rooms rather than a hotel. However, the room was very clean and perfectly comfortable. Good choice of food in the restaurant and excellent value. Staff friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Alison T

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent all round.
Excellent. Welcoming, knowledgable staff, very good accomodation all round.

Reviewed by
graham b

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

AVOID ROOM 6
I booked this hotel because it has only 10 rooms and I hoped it would be quieter than the door slamming chain hotels. Big mistake on my part!
This is not really a hotel but a restaurant with rooms above it. Checked in on Monday but could not pay for the room as the hotel card machine wasn’t working and the owner didn’t want to put the transaction through the restaurant books. Tried again Tuesday but the restaurant waitress couldn’t find the hotel machine so the transaction was put through the restaurant books anyway. Their problem not mine.
The hotel “reception” doesn’t really exist, there is an A4 sheet sellotaped to the restaurant door saying “Hotel Reception” but you go to the restaurant till. There is a reception desk in the hotel but it is not used. In fact there are no hotel staff - everything is done via the restaurant. In the event of an emergency, we’d be stuck because once the restaurant shuts, there is no one around and I assume, we’d be locked in. No emergency procedures on view.
The owner(I assume) said that she had builders in. They were working near to my room and were banging and clattering around until 10pm on the Monday. My room must have been next to a kitchen as every night I could hear plates clattering and lots of banging and crashing until late and then the drone of a fan heater. Worst night’s sleep in ages on the Monday not helped by the couple next to me constantly leaving their room and re-entering and of course slamming their door. The walls here are paper thin.
No soap left in the room for Monday but I always carry my own just in case.
The room was decent quality although the carpet was more like underlay. Bed base had water stains on it like it had been standing in water at some time. The hand basin in the bathroom leaked when you turned on the taps and this still hadn’t been fixed by Friday. Friday morning the toilet started to leak when flushed. Base of the shower was filthy and during the night on Thursday, one of the slats on the wooden blinds (also filthy) fell off. I agree with a previous reviewer that this refurbishment is being done on the cheap.
Never tried breakfast as 7am is a bit late for me.
This hotel has real potential but it seems to be secondary to the restaurant (which actually looks very good) I’ve never stayed in a hotel with no staff before. An unbelievably noisy place and I wouldn’t stay again

Reviewed by
Colin T

From Littleborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy
Had a room at the front of hotel very noisy room ok ask for room at back of hotel

Reviewed by
Gary H

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next