No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macy's Hotel

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
168 Station Road, , , Chingford, E4 6AN
Welcome to Macy`s guesthouse in London Chingford! Macy`s hotel is a modern hotel located in East London, one minute from Chingford railway station, 20 minutes away from London city centre and 10 minutes to Stratford where the London 2012 Olympics took place! The guesthouse located in Chingford, is a modern, boutique guesthouse with 10 en suite guestrooms. Our facilities include air conditioning, free WiFi, free car parking, the comfy bar features a wide array of drinks along with a beautiful tapas restaurant CITRUS, to dine with a dash of spice serving a full menu of Spanish & Greek Meze and specials of the week. All room rates include complimentary continental breakfast. All 10 rooms are beautifully furnished and decorated in unique styles, with en-suite bathrooms. Macy`s guesthouse is proudly represented by a team of hardworking professionals who are committed to providing a personalized service. We will assist you with getting around London and recommend a variety of restaurants, amenities and attractions suitable for your needs whether you are visiting the capital for business or pleasure. Please note our check-in is until 11.00pm if arriving later than this time please contact us for a late check-in. Check ins after 11pm will incur a call out charge. You can contact the hotel on an alternative number which is 02085248666 or 07716245537 We would like to add that during the Christmas festivities the restaurant will not be open on the 25th/26th December and the 1st January 2015 Sorry for any inconvenience
Picture of Macy's Hotel, Chingford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Macy's Hotel
Reasonably priced accommodation we have used before. Staff always very friendly and helpful. Rooms have good size, if maybe a little dark due to opaque window (as room overlooked flatroof/walkway area). Good shower. Nice to have fresh fruit at breakfast but pastries a bit 'rubbery'.

Reviewed by
Lucy V

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay staff were friendly and helpful
Enjoyed our two night stay here lots of good restaurants locally with plenty of choice with a tapas bar under the hotel only downside was our shower wasn't working properly but I would return there if I'm in the area again

Reviewed by
s perkins

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was greeted and booked In then told the bathroom light didn't work
no effort was made to help with that issue by offering a lamp or stick on light etc
I was forced to use my phone light to see whilst using the bathroom
room was in need of redecorating with many marks on the wall by the bed
tea making spoons where dirty, bathroom taps where dirty
it was cheap and felt cheap

Reviewed by
Gareth S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic But Overpriced
Interestingly enough, there is little to actually fault with the hotel itself, I would just say that £80 was a bit steep for the cost of the room.
The room was basic but clean, the en-suite very small. The bed, to be fair was actually very comfortable. If the cost was a little lower (say £60) then I would say that it was fantastic value for money, however, at £80 it simply fell short. It has taught me to book further in advance in future and look at other venues including a Premier Inn just 5 mins walk up the road.
For breakfast, I would strongly suggest leaving the hotel and walking up the high street and across the road from the Tesco Express is "The Station Cafe" which does amazing breakfasts and well worth a visit.
Don't get me wrong, the staff were pleasant and the room served its purpose of providing us with a roof over our head for the evening whilst we visited friends/family in the locale.
Would I stay here again? Not at £80 a night no, however, at a more reasonable rate like £60 I wouldn't hesitate in re-booking.
Would I recommend it to others? Only if you can't get a room elsewhere first.
Just to re-iterate - we didn't have any negative experiences at this hotel, rather we didn't really have any positive ones either.
It was a functional room at a slightly inflated price.

Reviewed by
Ross W

From York, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
The hotel is above a Tapas bar in Chingford high Street. It's got wonderful surroundings being next to Epping forest and reservoirs. There is parking behind the hotel and restricted on street parking right in front of it-between 4.30pm and 10am the next day. The room was well decorated and clean and the landlord was very friendly and accomodating. It's also only 15-20 minutes to drivecinto London outside of the rush hour. I highly recommend this place for value for money.

Reviewed by
g james

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little place
Felt like I was in Spain! You have to go to the bar to get your room key and they're so welcoming, felt like I was in a family run place abroad. Just from the layout and atmosphere. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We didn't make it down to breakfast but had a lovely sleep. Will definitely stay on my next trip to Essex!

Reviewed by
Alice H

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Maceys Hotel
We were a little confused when we arrived as we didn't know how to get into the hotel there were no signs and no signs for where to park. When we did enter and climbed some stairs there was no one on reception and I don't think it is ever manned. We went looking for somebody and found the cleaner who was very helpful and found somebody to check us in. The hall ways were very dark because the lights were not working properly. The room was small with a small bathroom type window that you could not see out of. We were disappointed but when we did see staff they seemed very friendly. Luckily it was only for 1 night.

Reviewed by
J Croffey

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice place
very nice place

Reviewed by
raymond harrison

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Met by a wonderful lady who was more than welcoming nice clean and new plac to stay

Reviewed by
D Strouther

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

macys chingford
This was the 2nd time ive stayed at this hotel.. nice clean friendly. Have already recommended fridnds visiting London to use this hotel and would definately do so again.

Reviewed by
L Legood

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next