No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Southern Cross

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
41-43 LANGLEY ROAD , WATFORD, WD17 4PP
Friendly Hotel with10 simply furnished bedrooms (rooms not en suite) The rooms are located above the pub, and all rooms have Tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen TV,and hairdryer.
The hotel is ideally located close to major Motorway Networks (M1 and M25) and is an ideal stop over for commuting into London.
We have Ample on-site parking, and serve great value hearty meals in the Flaming Grill Bar.
Picture of The Southern Cross, WATFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Boat or coffin?
Its basic but clean good food friendly staff only complaint -
Banging music till 12.oopm followed by someone in a room above either building a boat or...a coffin - Banging sawing and planing ..I kid you not..all night!

Reviewed by
R Hutchinson

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would not recommend
We were very disappointed with our stay, the room was very dated and did not seem very well looked after! Unpainted areas of the room, radiator falling off the wall, no plug in the sink! Some kind of mites on the windowsill! And a shared bathroom we didn't know about, unable to even flush the toilet as the handle was not attached! Flood light right outside our bedroom window making it dificult to sleep! Can't comment on the food because after seeing the state of the hotel there was no way we would be eating there!

Reviewed by
James H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good service
The beds were confortable and nice room with Tv and the bathroom was adéquate.

Reviewed by
M Edmonston

From Cranbrook, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad
Good: Clean room. Car park behind the pub; free after six pm. TV. Cheap. Room had sink, shower, hair dryer, tea/ coffee making stuff. Five minutes from M25. Accommodation area is separate from pub - you get a front door key and a room key.
Could be better: Window and door catches needed repair. Had to wait for several minutes before someone was available to register me.

Reviewed by
Martin L

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
Not the best room in the world but there is a sense of real good value for money.

Reviewed by
Christopher G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value
Its a great place to stay it's not far from watford junction station and the food is amazing and is cheap too. The room was perfect for what we needed it for.

Reviewed by
Tamara R

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Everything was great, but there was no soap in the bathroom, other than that, my stay was very pleasurable.

Reviewed by
Ellie D

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
Couldn't of asked for more considering the price.

Reviewed by
Christopher G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not impressed
Check in was 2pm when we got there were told room wont be ready till 4pm. We had to get to a reception for 4 so they said use the room and we will clean it later. Room needed a lot of maintenance and general standard was extremely low for price. The bathroom was communal and on a landing outside the room. The hotel alarm went off at 2am and didnt stop for approx 40 mins. Overall it was not a great experience.

Reviewed by
E McGarry

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Toilets
The only complaint we have is that the toilets upstairs and downstairs were not flushing properly.

Reviewed by
Pauline Harrington

From , UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next