The Southern Cross

0

41-43 LANGLEY ROAD, WATFORD, WD17 4PP

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (36)

56% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Peter S

  • April 2015

The Southern Cross

Good location and better than I expected but would benefit from a little more TLC.

  • L Kitt

  • April 2015

Shambles

Where to start with this review.

the main points that should be taken from this review is the sheer lack of customer service from the "senior management" team. When I arrived at the hotel I was informed that they had overbooked and couldnt explain why given that I'd received 2 booking confirmations. Unfortunately the problem wasnt rectified by the help of anyone within the management team as the deputy manager was in the kitchen and couldnt come out as the chef had called in sick and the general manager was appartently "out and about" and wouldnt take my phone calls when asked if I could speak to him. In a nut shell the problem left me waiting for nearly 2 hours with the only solution to tell me to check into another hotel and pay for it myself as an alternative would be "too expensive" for them to compensate. The problem was then only resolved by a family that had made another booking for a twin room that wouldnt take 3 people due to insurance, leaving the poor family with a child no room at nearly 9pm. The hotel seemed somewhat pleased so they didnt have to deal with my booking anymore and could pass the room over. I then asked to speak to the general manager as I was nearly 2 hours waiting and found this unacceptable, which is when he refused to speak to me (whilst on the phone to the receptionist!!) as he was off duty and busy. Given that the deputy manager couldnt be bothered to tear herself away from the kitchen for 2 mins I think its the least she could have done. My room was not particularly clean but its the attitudes that need attention. However bar staff and receptionist (if not a little stressed) were as helpful as they could be.

  • Chris Poole

  • March 2015

Value for money.

If you are looking for value for money accomodation, then, this is for you.

Basic amenities, but, comfortable bed, free wifi, excellent food.

  • Jill G

  • March 2015

Very Basic Accomodation

Stayed for 1 night.

In my opinion it took too long for reception to show me to my room. I was left waiting in the pub area. Room was very basic and would benefit from a bedside lamp and a net at the bathroom window. There were lots of doors banging up until midnight and I could hear the gent coughing in the next room, so walls are thin. The windows didn't seem to lock/shut which made me feel quite vulnerable about leaving anything valuable in the room e.g mobile phone. However, the room was warm, sheets & towels were clean. Hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities were a bonus. I was able to park my car in the car park and walk into town.

  • lee metcalfe

  • November 2014

wembley weekend

great stay nice rooms staff very helpful, lovely food, bargain worth staying & will stay again

  • M Rothwell

  • November 2014

Cheap and cheerful.

Very basic.

Shared toilet. Didn't fancy using the shower. Bed comfy and clean. Rooms in need of overhaul. Having said that the staff were friendly and helpful and the room served it's purpose so I would probably use them again.

  • R Dodd

  • November 2014

Honest place to stay, convient for London railway

No frills, low cost accomodation which provides a reasonable place to rest if you need to be in London.

Room was ok, small but clean and tidy enough, food again ok, no breakfast but a cafe down the road. Manager was helpful, left my car on his car park all day for no extra cost. I would use it again.

  • Chris D

  • October 2014

you get what you pay for.

Felt rather dirty and with the pub downstairs and thin walls, sleep was at a minimum

  • P younger

  • October 2014

The accommodation was poor and that is being kind

I will not be staying here ever again.

A small room with poor services and no toilet sorry unacceptable

  • Paul W

  • September 2014

Won't be staying again

On arrival walked into pub, greeted by bar tender who took our money and showed us the room.

That was the only human contact we had. The bed sheets were clean but that was all. The rest of the room was shall i say tired and extremely dirty. Curtain pelmet thick with dust don't think they had ever been cleaned. There were broken tiles in the shower and again could have used a real deep clean. Had a shared wc that took about 30 minutes to refill so would not flush most of the time sink in room also blocked. The room cost £50 so I wasn't expecting luxury but I do expect cleanliness and basic amenities that work. Real shame as the building is great and the cleanliness of the room put us of using the restaurant and we ate somewhere else.