No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Southern Cross

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
41-43 LANGLEY ROAD , WATFORD, WD17 4PP
Friendly Hotel with10 simply furnished bedrooms (rooms not en suite) The rooms are located above the pub, and all rooms have Tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen TV,and hairdryer.
The hotel is ideally located close to major Motorway Networks (M1 and M25) and is an ideal stop over for commuting into London.
We have Ample on-site parking, and serve great value hearty meals in the Flaming Grill Bar.
Picture of The Southern Cross, WATFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

you get what you pay for.
Felt rather dirty and with the pub downstairs and thin walls, sleep was at a minimum

Reviewed by
Chris D

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The accommodation was poor and that is being kind
I will not be staying here ever again. A small room with poor services and no toilet sorry unacceptable

Reviewed by
P younger

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Won't be staying again
On arrival walked into pub, greeted by bar tender who took our money and showed us the room. That was the only human contact we had. The bed sheets were clean but that was all. The rest of the room was shall i say tired and extremely dirty. Curtain pelmet thick with dust don't think they had ever been cleaned. There were broken tiles in the shower and again could have used a real deep clean. Had a shared wc that took about 30 minutes to refill so would not flush most of the time sink in room also blocked. The room cost £50 so I wasn't expecting luxury but I do expect cleanliness and basic amenities that work. Real shame as the building is great and the cleanliness of the room put us of using the restaurant and we ate somewhere else.

Reviewed by
Paul W

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Boat or coffin?
Its basic but clean good food friendly staff only complaint -
Banging music till 12.oopm followed by someone in a room above either building a boat or...a coffin - Banging sawing and planing ..I kid you not..all night!

Reviewed by
R Hutchinson

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would not recommend
We were very disappointed with our stay, the room was very dated and did not seem very well looked after! Unpainted areas of the room, radiator falling off the wall, no plug in the sink! Some kind of mites on the windowsill! And a shared bathroom we didn't know about, unable to even flush the toilet as the handle was not attached! Flood light right outside our bedroom window making it dificult to sleep! Can't comment on the food because after seeing the state of the hotel there was no way we would be eating there!

Reviewed by
James H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good service
The beds were confortable and nice room with Tv and the bathroom was adéquate.

Reviewed by
M Edmonston

From Cranbrook, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad
Good: Clean room. Car park behind the pub; free after six pm. TV. Cheap. Room had sink, shower, hair dryer, tea/ coffee making stuff. Five minutes from M25. Accommodation area is separate from pub - you get a front door key and a room key.
Could be better: Window and door catches needed repair. Had to wait for several minutes before someone was available to register me.

Reviewed by
Martin L

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
Not the best room in the world but there is a sense of real good value for money.

Reviewed by
Christopher G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value
Its a great place to stay it's not far from watford junction station and the food is amazing and is cheap too. The room was perfect for what we needed it for.

Reviewed by
Tamara R

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Everything was great, but there was no soap in the bathroom, other than that, my stay was very pleasurable.

Reviewed by
Ellie D

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next