No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Canal Cottage

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Station Road , Lower Heyford, OX25 5PD
The Grade II listed former Wharf Manager’s house at the entrance to our historic holiday boatyard has been tastefully converted into three comfortable, centrally-heated bedrooms - two fully en-suite and one with a private bathroom (which is disabled-friendly). Each includes Freeview flat-screen TV/DVD, courtesy fridge and designer hair-dryer. Continental breakfast* is delivered to your room on arrival. Canal Cottage is especially suitable as a touring base for Oxford and the Cotswolds, for a shopping extravaganza at nearby Bicester Village Outlet Shopping Centre (15mins) or for savouring the splendour of Blenheim Palace (15mins) and Rousham House (5 mins) nearby. For racing fans, Silverstone is a mere 20 miles away. The rail station is 50m away and offers excellent train links to Oxford (15mins) and Banbury (20mins), with connections to London (70 mins), Birmingham (90mins) and many other parts of the country. Parking available. Open all year round, except Christmas/New Year (20/12/13 - 02/01/14 inclusive). PLEASE NOTE VERY LATEST CHECK-IN TIME IS 1700.

*Our home-made plated continental breakfast includes a selection of cold meats, cheeses, tomato, croissant & petit pain. Tea, Coffee (including decaffeinated), Hot Chocolate, jams/marmalade and honey are also provided: Orange/Apple Juice and a jug of fresh milk are placed with breakfast into your in-room fridge for your convenience.
Picture of Canal Cottage, Lower Heyford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
Really enjoyed our stay, the room was very nice clean and warm. Bathroom was amazing,
The choice of tea and coffee good with fresh milk in the fridge,
Bed very comfortable on downside for me was hard pillows but that's all,
Very friendly staff excellent cooked breakfast
Will definitely be going back to canal cottage.

Reviewed by
gary d

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
Description and photographs of the property did not match the actual accommodation. The room was clean although a number of flies could be seen lurking around. The bathroom (corridor like) was fine for showering but alas cleaning your teeth presented more difficulty. The bathroom had the smallest sink I have ever seen and a long glass shelve fitted above it. People were friendly and Steven's full cooked English breakfast is very worthwhile. In a good location though and very pleasant sitting outside watching the narrow boats and the wildlife.

Reviewed by
Chris Hurrell

From Hockley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little cottage
Love stay. Staff could not do any more for me. Very helpful and attentive. Room was beautiful; very clean and a view overlooking the river. Very good value for money. I had breakfast in the bistro the following morning and the food was lovely and the staff there were really attentive and brilliant customer service!

Reviewed by
Ashlie G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent/good Value accomodation
This was booked as a overnight stop off for Silverstone MotoGP. Great service from the lady who showed us our room, beautiful location and a lovely room with a fabulous bathroom, nice walk along the canal to The Bell Inn where great food is available in a cracking olde England pub.
I can highly reccomend this cottage to stay at, just wish we had longer. A+

Reviewed by
Jon T

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely idea, but with many tiny flaws
The location was outstanding, being right next to the canal and Lower Heyford village. The cottage itself was cute and well kept. The room was clean and bright and comfortable. We staying in the 'manager's room'.
My tiny pickings would be about the temperature of the room for a start. the boiler must have been in the room and it got incredibly hot, but opening a window wasn't an option due to the speeding traffic outside, tractors would rush past causing the cottage to vibrate!
The breakfast was a continental spread. In looks this was brilliant, with cheese, sliced cooked meats and bread rolls, but that was it, the bread was stale, to the point where I went hungry at breakfast twice. What's wrong with just a holder of toast and a bowl of cereal?
The traffic and breakfast would put me off coming back, as I feel it really let the stay down.
Sleepless, hot, traffic filled nights accompanied by a lousy breakfast.

Reviewed by
Elena D

From Market Drayton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

as walkets in was in a lovely locatian for an afternoon walk
along the canel the staff were very friendly and helpfulso we will be staying in the future

Reviewed by
alison d

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Canal Cottage
The property location is excellent being alongside both the canal and within 50 yards of the railway station. It was perfect for travel to Oxford by train, the Cotswolds by car and for local walks including along the canalside. The property has a private bathroom across the hall not ensuite, but this is reflected in the price. We enjoyed our stay and appreciated the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

Reviewed by
Trevor S

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a shame
Great Room size, Great People, Great Site...
Shower had no hot water - this was genuinely apologised. apology was welcomed and accepted but it didn't help the freezing shower situation.
Continental breakfast consisted of part baked rolls not quite cooked enough with a selection of cheese, one slice of ham and a small slice of italian sausage. Very dry. Had to eat elsewhere and we're NOT picky eaters! Room too hot. Got bitten throughout the night by who knows what. it was a shame as the people are genuinely lovely. If the breakfast was a little more indulgent or just locally sourced fresh produce it would have matched the look and feel of the hotel.

Reviewed by
C Jay

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good base with limitations
Liked the actual bedroom [ parlour rooms ]---Did not like the fact our bathroom was not ensuite, and in fact we had to walk across the entrance hallway. The location is on the edge of a very busy road-----being a canal cottage I was hoping for something much quieter.No faults with comfort and cleanliness, lovely towels and plenty of hot water.
Breakfast disapointing, --particularly as I had given enough advance notice that my partner, needed gluten free food----still ordinary bread arrived which she could not eat, plus there was breaded ham on her plate also. -----I would stay here again purely because of the location where I wanted to go----Blenheim palace, ----My partner would object, I know, because of the bathroom across the entrance hall

ManagementResponse

The Parlour Rooms are very clearly described on Laterooms as follows:- Ground floor twin or king-size double bedroom (please specify). Private bathroom across hall... Therefore a criticism of the facility is unjustified. I personally prepared and delivered the breakfast making a point of stating that the bread rolls were Gluten Free! This comment is thus very unfair since we take a pride in trying to offer a personalised service to our guests. I can only apologise if the traffic going to the Game Fair was noisy, but all roads leading to the Game Fair were, unsurprisingly, similarly afflicted in the area.

Reviewed by
david mullinger

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant helpful staff.
Room size adequate, bed comfy and fridge v useful
Would have appreciated:
- removal of shelf above wash basin as this made it impossible to clean teeth / wash face (in particularly small basin)
- small box of cereal of choice / piece of fruit for breakfast
- availability of all Freeview channels
- something to hold window open a little in bathroom (already available in bedroom)

Reviewed by
c lea

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next