No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - De Vere Venues Ponsbourne Park

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
NEW PARK ROAD Newgate Street Village, Nr. Hertford, Herts, SG13 8QT
Ponsbourne Park is set in over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and offers stylish, elegant accommodation and surrounded by scenic Hertfordshire countryside, with numerous opportunities for walks. Paradise Wildlife Park is just 10 minutes’ drive away, and the stately home Knebworth House is a 15-minute drive away.

Ponsbourne Park offers fine dining at Seymour’s Restaurant, informal cuisine at The Bistro, and relaxed drinks in stylish surroundings at the hotel bar.

Guests at Ponsbourne Park have access to the mini-gym facilities, tennis courts and golf at the 9-hole pitch and putt.

Complimentary Wifi is available throughout the hotel.
Picture of De Vere Venues Ponsbourne Park, Nr. Hertford, Herts at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Understand room was at a reduced rate, but Premier Inn accommodation was superior to the room we stayed in! Bed very small, decor not too the standard of an expensive property!

Reviewed by
I Andrews

From Lyme Regis, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor experience- poor signage to get to hotel, very bland and disjointed layout
My bedroom was in an annexe on the first floor, no lift available. The television was from the 80's and I couldn't get normal TV eg. bbc, itv,
The restaurant was very bland, a white box, no pictures, and no atmosphere. heating was via a very noisy air conditioning unit that blew straight into your face when sat at the tables.
Very disjointed in that you have to walk outside (raining) from hotel, to annexe and to the restaurant.

Reviewed by
philip l

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic and unwelcoming room...
Room was more like a nice-ish doctors waiting room...struggled to get comfortable and was keen to leave. Wasnt worth the money. Very helpful staff though!!

Reviewed by
Emma S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A short stay, but not the first or last!
We have stayed several times at Ponsbourne Park and have always found the hotel and surroundings delightful. The Hotel is a little oasis of peace and quiet, but only a short distance ( 10 minutes drive ) from the hubbub of outer London and the M25. The breakfast is always of good quality and is plentiful in amount and choice. We recommend it to all our friends who need to travel to London.

Reviewed by
Graham Kirby

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall the hotel was very good. Staff polite and helpful. Breakfast should be kept warmer

Reviewed by
W Cowan

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet and relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Neil F

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel at short notice
Very nice hotel clean and roomy. Trainee receptionist needed a bit assistance but overall staff friendly and helpful. Lively food too

Reviewed by
D Robinson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Underwhelming
My partner as he had a flying lesson booked at a nearby venue so I thought we would make a weekend of it and book one night's accomodation. As it was a special occasion we booked a 'Superior' room, this was substandard and located in an annex building with little to no character over the car parking area in the main venue. This was really dissapointing. I went to reception after we checked in to ask them discreetly without my partner being there, "is room 215 a superior room?" I was told it apparently was and nothing else was asked. In all honesty out of sheer embarassment I did not pursue it further as the staff were all focused upon the wedding going on during the Saturday, then a wedding fair during the Sunday.
The staff were very pleasant and our evening meal was fantastic, however we were the only people in the restaurant and it lacked any atmosphere with background music turning on and off frequently leaving us in a silent, empty room!
Overall I was very underwhelmed and have stayed at much nicer venues for the same money.

Reviewed by
Katie T

From London, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ex Bottoml stay
Breakfast great, large room a bit worn but comfortable, could not work out TV controls or channels available, enjoyed stay and excellent reception from staff particuarly the lady on duty when leaving. Pity from The Bistro there is a large skip in view.

Reviewed by
Patrick B

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Conference room
When booking the acomodation for my wife's 50th birthday surprise,I was expecting to stay
In the main hotel building.However on arrival we were given a room in the conference centre
a totally sepporate building from the main hotel,
No mention of this when checking the website and viewing rooms!
I would stay again, nice hotel, but only to stay in the main building.

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From Felixstowe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next