No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oldfriend Guest House

2Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
129 ROMAN ROAD , LONDON, E2 0QN
An elegant Bed And Breakfast deluxe hotel situated in the heart of London’s Bethnal Green, with well serviced rooms in a well relaxed environment only a few minutes from Bethnal green Underground Station. The great location offers easy access to the mainline train services, such as the Central line of the London Underground network Easy access to London’s most popular attractions, spending time in the city has never been easier.

We offer single, double and triple rooms every room comes included with TV, DVD player and satellite channels. WI-FI Available in All Rooms.

Whether you are here on business or pleasure Old friend Hotel will help you to enjoy your stay in pure elegance. Spend time shopping in Britain’s most fashionable hot spots like Central London, Bethnal Green Children Museum, Canary wharf invest in culture and visit attractions like the London Eye, the British Museum or dine out in some of the best restaurants that London has to offer.first night will be charged upon booking.
Picture of Oldfriend Guest House, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
39% recommended this accommodation to a friend 43% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
Pretty cheap accommodation in a handy area of East London. Within easy reach of the tube. Lots of nice places nearby. Room not that clean (dirty carpet and the odd stain) but generally ok. Wifi and TV was nice to have. Breakfast simple but decent. Service was similar. Overall not terrible!

Reviewed by
Judith M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old friend
You pay online only for one day even if you choose to pay for many and when you arrive they ask you to pay with cash, no official receip was given, and the reason was that you may choose not to stay more than one day and they will charge you by default with only one day. In couple of words they are horrible. The breakfast was - help yourself kitchen, even if they don't mention it on the site. The room I've choosen was with bathroom and there I found out that I must pay an extra 10GBP for the room I've already choosen. The room had mould on the wall and so did the bathroom. Don't choose this hotel.

Reviewed by
Mihai B

From Romania
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disgusting
I booked a room online, as I arrived at the reception. I said my name, then the man asked me "why am I here?" What a unprofessional QUESTION to ask as I am a paying customer and it's none of his business.
I've been to so many hotels but never was I asked a silly question like that and worst of all the man sitting at the reception had a dirty grin on his face that really made him look uneducated person who does not know professionalism.
In the room I was staying the duvet cover was not washed, central heating was not working the room look tacky and was very smelly.
I am very disappointed in the standard of service,the condition of the room and the bathroom. In the end I left I didn't want to stay for the night, it put me off.

Reviewed by
H Begum

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impression of room and guest house
The bedroom itself was ok and plenty warm enough. However the shower room was awful and very cold. There was no way we could have a shower as it was freezing in there. We had washes on both days and even that was not good because there was no plug in the sink.
Breakfast was also do it yourself so though adequate but most guest houses have people serve breakfast to their guests.

Reviewed by
Jean Collins

From Birmingham, England
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quirky stay
I stayed at the Old Friend Guest House for 2 nights. The room was clean and had everything I needed and required. I was only using the room as a base and to sleep in. The Guest House was quiet, the staff welcoming.

Reviewed by
CLARE TUCKEY

From LIVERPOOL, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couldn't wait to get out of the place!!!!!

Reviewed by
c noble

From Peebles, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit poor
So we knew it was going to be cheap, so I can't complain too much. But still. There were tears in the wallpaper, and a hole in the desk drawer. The walls were so thin I could hear the room next door watching telly. And the whole hotel had to share a single toilet. Still, it had four walls and a mattress so if that's all you need then no problem.

Reviewed by
J Ward

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You can get more elsewhere in london for your money
avoid unless you are really stuck. not a pleasurable experience staying here

Reviewed by
R Coyle

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth avoiding
Negatives: Sullen receptionist. Insisting on cash payment. Extra charge to use a bank card that wasn't advertised. Terrible decor. Tacky carpets. Shabby curtains. Poor tiling and facilities in bathroom. Locked me out!
Positives: warm and quite clean

Reviewed by
Nicholas D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I really should have read more of the reviews about this place before booking. The place is best described as a flea pit. The "free parking" was on the street, but only free from 5.30 p.m. to 8.30 a.m. The "help yourself" breakfast, was just that, including make it yourself. There didn't seem to be much more than cereal, toast and coffee on offer. Frankly, I wouldn't have dared try anything else, even if it were available. I don't expect to cook my own breakfast for £70 per night! The room and bed sheets were damp on arrival, but my body heat just about sorted that out. However, my clothes were equally damp in the morning. My poor bath robe even changed colour. It looked like mould. Avoid this place like the plague. Late Rooms should strike this place off their list. To call it a "Hotel" is demeaning to the places that actually give a damn.

Reviewed by
Tony S

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next