No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oldfriend Guest House

2Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
129 ROMAN ROAD , LONDON, E2 0QN
An elegant Bed And Breakfast deluxe hotel situated in the heart of London’s Bethnal Green, with well serviced rooms in a well relaxed environment only a few minutes from Bethnal green Underground Station. The great location offers easy access to the mainline train services, such as the Central line of the London Underground network Easy access to London’s most popular attractions, spending time in the city has never been easier.

We offer single, double and triple rooms every room comes included with TV, DVD player and satellite channels. WI-FI Available in All Rooms.

Whether you are here on business or pleasure Old friend Hotel will help you to enjoy your stay in pure elegance. Spend time shopping in Britain’s most fashionable hot spots like Central London, Bethnal Green Children Museum, Canary wharf invest in culture and visit attractions like the London Eye, the British Museum or dine out in some of the best restaurants that London has to offer.first night will be charged upon booking.
Picture of Oldfriend Guest House, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
41% recommended this accommodation to a friend 44% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I really should have read more of the reviews about this place before booking. The place is best described as a flea pit. The "free parking" was on the street, but only free from 5.30 p.m. to 8.30 a.m. The "help yourself" breakfast, was just that, including make it yourself. There didn't seem to be much more than cereal, toast and coffee on offer. Frankly, I wouldn't have dared try anything else, even if it were available. I don't expect to cook my own breakfast for £70 per night! The room and bed sheets were damp on arrival, but my body heat just about sorted that out. However, my clothes were equally damp in the morning. My poor bath robe even changed colour. It looked like mould. Avoid this place like the plague. Late Rooms should strike this place off their list. To call it a "Hotel" is demeaning to the places that actually give a damn.

Reviewed by
Tony S

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I'm a 22 year old who needed somewhere to stay for the night for work the next day. Once I eventually found the hotel, if you can even call it a hotel. The man on the reception or should I say in the dark unwelcoming room was trying to make me go to a cash machine at 10:30pm at night when I said I didn't mind the £2 charge for paying by card. I was finally lead to my room, which you had to go outside to, through a kitchen full of males drinking beer on some plastic chairs and muttering in a foreign language as I past. As you can imagine by this point I didn't feel safe at all I just wanted to get to my room! The room was freezing, a very hard single bed with a blanket, no quilt and no heating! The bathroom was black and green with mould. The whole place itself was dirty. I woke up to leave at 7am to leave, passing through the 'reception' to find the man was asleep on the sofa and I awkwardly had to wake him to give him the key. This place was like some back alley drug den where the owner and his friends hang out for a drink.

Reviewed by
Emma M

From Pudsey, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Massive Letdown
"hotel" was fairly difficult to find, I was expecting a visible sign instead it was sandwiched between two other large hotels and more resembled at poor mans hidden brothel.
Guy at reception was nice, explained when breakfast would be and that there was 24 hour service available ect
took me to my room which felt like the furthest walk ever, I was taken to which felt like the smallest room ever, literally a bed and a chair and wardrobe... there was no proper duvet on the bed and there were no movie channels on the sky box ( as advertised ) it was just a massive let down.
the only plus really was the free Wi-Fi which allowed me to watch movies on my tablet as I was looking forward to a night of sky movies, at 31.47p I expected a little more considering the rooms start normally at £40+ pounds
I checked out at 7.30am and despite being told there was "24 hour service" I walked in to find nobody at the front desk but a very confused and tired man sleeping on the sofa, he jumped up and that kinda threw me off a little... a very interesting experience indeed
Wont be staying again

Reviewed by
David H

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was the worst place I have ever stayed at

Reviewed by
Craig B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bad hotel
Staff very unwelcoming and unfriendly. Bedroom not cleaned properly. Breakfast very poor.

Reviewed by
M Shaw

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

mediocre...
Given the Price, a poor choice....noisy main road in grotty part of London, small room up steep stairs, loo on next floor , tiny shower, night porter sprawled asleep in foyer in morning...all rather third world..stick to a Travelodge in future.

Reviewed by
john gillings

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not recommendable
The customer service is very poor. They are so incredibly rude and actually never come to clean our rooms, even after complaining.

Reviewed by
O AJOSE

From Nigeria
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
Reasonably priced, nice room, no hand towel in the bathroom, pedal bin broken. Very pleasant and respectful staff.

Reviewed by
A Williams

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice and clean place. Ideal for those traveling in family or in groups staying for a short period of time.

Reviewed by
Izilda B

From Stocholm, Sweden
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very basic , ok for 1 night
Very basic , simple room , shared poor looking bathroom, self service breakfast / kitchen... Basic
But ok for 1 night stay , noise location - on main road but close to tube .

Reviewed by
pritpal r

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next