Reviews - Clink78 Hostel



Price From 56.08 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (36)

75% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Adrian G

  • October 2015

Clink78 Hostel

  • Frederick Bee

  • July 2015

Not For Older Travellers

I booked a room knowing nothing about the hotel.

At least, I thought I booked a room. Only after booking did I discover I had booked a bed in a 10-bed dormitory. I had to pay £65 to upgrade to a tiny room with no openable window in sweltering heat. The showers are communal, with nowhere to put your clothes other than in the shower itself. There was only one working men's toilet for about 12 rooms. OK for young back-packers. Not OK for someone my age, accustomed to some privacy and daily showers.

  • frank lukey

  • May 2015

Overnight comment

I was struck by the cleanliness of the place & the helpfulness of the staff.

Well done. I would have appreciated knowing there were no towels beforehand so as to bring one. You provided the minimum I needed for low cost which is what I was looking for - a place to sleep overnight & a cup of coffee in the morning. I was surprised to find myself bunking with some girls although it did not bother me - nor them as far as I could see.


  • March 2015

Historical Building with Stylish Interior

Everyone was quite welcoming and the athmosphere was lively.

The building has an epic entrance and was quite clean. The only problem might be that the room was small. As long as you need a space only for sleeping and having breakfast, I strongly recommend for you to book this fairly cheap hostel in advance!

  • Hai P

  • March 2015

The price is worthy


  • J Macpherson

  • March 2015

Cold and unfriendly

Dorm room was extremely cold and cleaning staff were abrupt and extremely rude

  • x zhao

  • March 2015



  • E Pink

  • December 2014

Review on my stay

A pleasant stay; was not too keen on the bed as I slept on a top bunk, found it difficult to get up the bunk stairs.

Also, I did not think they had enough food to cater for all people as I require a gluten free diet. However, the accommodation was very clean and loved the environment of the hostel; overall a great stay for a night away.

  • S Mckay

  • October 2014

At 51 my first hostel visit

As I’ve just left permanent employment to peruse a career as a self employed artists every penny counts and even though I was attending the launch of my own work I could not justify paying London hotel prices.

I booked the Clink78 because the building sounded interesting and the reviews were generally good. However I had an open return ticket and was prospered to jump ship and head back home early if things didn’t work out. However I didn’t have to worry. The Hostel was a short walk from Kings Cross Station and easy to find. The staff on the desk were friendly, booking in was quick and efficient. I needed to buy a towel £2 and a padlock £3 as I hadn’t thought to bring these with me and that was it – I was fixed-up for a two night stay. The room, bedding and loo were all clean. A substantial metal locker beneath the bed had plenty of room for my laptop and bad. The 4 bed room with on suite shower and loo was on the street side of the hostel so there was a lot of noise from the street but this didn’t stop me having a great night’s sleep. Breakfast was included in the price and was just what I needed to get me going in the morning. The staff were very helpful with travel information and could not do too much to help. The other guys staying in the hostel were a great mix of students, international travellers and visitors to the city like me on a limited budget. My stay at Clink78 exceeded my expectations and I have already recommended it to my friends.

  • Nina C

  • October 2014

Dorm a little dark and no mirror for girls to do hair and make-up, otherwise great.