No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hostel 639

Not Classified  Hostel Ratings explained
639 HARROW ROAD , LONDON, NW10 5NU
Hostel 639 offers its guest Clean, Cheap, Budget Accommodation and lives up to being a part of London 's Number 1 Budget Accommodation Group.
 Choose between our mixed, male or female dorms, Hostel 639 also has quads, triples and twin rooms available at various price's all with bathing amenities, bedding and heating. I lf you are looking for a hostel with environment then we are the place for you... Sit, relax and enjoy a drink in our Moroccan style lounge bar or dine in our Brazilian restaurant for a hardy fairly priced meal. Perhaps you are looking for a snack on the run, then why not stop past our coffee shop, where one of our friendly staff can whip you up one of their fresh baguettes or toasted sandwiches or why not indulge in some pastries and fresh coffee or choose from our wide range of drinks and snacks.
Please note credit/debit cards payments are not accepted but only cash.

Picture of Hostel 639, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
46% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hostel but too far from centre
Staff,room and cleaning ok but location.....too far from the city centre. mattress is destroyed.

Reviewed by
VINCENZO L

From Italy
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything great

Reviewed by
andrei baron

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

you get what you pay for!
this hostel is good value for the price, and ok for someone on a tight budget to stay for a short while.
However, it is rough, quite a long way from the city centre and definitely not suitable for a family with young children. if you book for a 'single' room, do not expect to have the room to yourself!. I suggest if you can afford extra money, to go somewhere else more comfortable, and more safe and secure....... also helps if you can speak Spanish or can communicate in pidgeon English.

Reviewed by
alan wood

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid like the plauge!
Stayed here on August 10th and 11th to attend a concert in London the following day, and since its only two nights to stay in a hostel rather than a while week for example, I thought I would pass it by without any problems, but even two nights was enough and I only went there to sleep after being all day out in London.
Firstly upon arrival, I was greeted by a receptionist speaking in broken English, in which three times I had to ask her why I had to pay 10 pounds deposit for a key, then when I explained the storage of luggage, it was not explained very well due to her broken grasp of English, after a second explanation she said that my bag can be stored behind the reception desk for a pound extra, which made me think "not a good idea, this lot seem untrustworthy". She later gave me a written receipt, which I luckily kept and did not throw away, as it was needed to claim back the deposit although my name was written in pencil in a book. She never told me to keep the receipt.
On my way up the stairs, it looked okay for a hostel, but as I walked through the corridor leading to my room, the old looking wooden doors made me think this was going to be bad.
On entry to my room, there was two beds free (appeared to be), there was only one from what I was told, I later found out two people being a couple were sharing the bottom bunk. The pillow was thin as if somebody stuffed cotton wool in the pillow case; my head could feel the mattress, while the duvet was the same. Also, the window was open and was cold outside, there was no power points to charge my phone or tablet, while the cold tap on the sink did not work, the hot tap only provided cold water which was a dribble while the shower was a manky looking cublicle in the corner of the room, while the sink had hairs in it. I also every one of the two nights I stayed, set my bag down beside the bed, when I woke up in the mornings, there would be a hair on it (a long one).
The toilets had a hand dryer which did not work and the soap dispenser had no button on it.
Along the corridors was these manky looking posters for the downstairs restaurant. I for one upon a single gaze at it, did not want to go in there and the food looked going by the posters quite awful.
Didn't even want to have breakfast there, so went off to McDonalds at Oxford Street.
At nights there was a bunch of randoms standing round the door who looked quite dodgy.
The only best thing about this dive was the location being near Kensal Green tube and the pub down the road, although there was a girl trying to steal off me there who was most probably staying at the hostel, since I've read reviews on this place where guests have had stuff stolen and hostel staff did nothing.
I've stayed in hostels in Newquay, Brighton, most of Europe and had a very pleasant stay with brilliant hosts and fellow roommates, but Hostel 639 is one hostel which has put me off London hostels completely!. Even if its an overnight stay you'll be doing, don't bother and look elsewhere, you'll thank yourself for it, maybe a guesthouse in Shep's Bush or anywhere but here if Hostels are your preferred stay.
I only stayed here because of the price and needed to save money I'm putting towards a 5 star hotel stay with my girlfriend next year, while wanting to see my fave band play, but if I knew what I was getting myself into here, I would have never gone and the experience and poor cleanliness of this dump, made me feel quite manky.
In a nutshell do not stay here under any circumstances!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed by
Marc B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall quality matches price.....

Reviewed by
A Stewart

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overcrowded and terrible service
This hostel is very large and hence really noisy. Staff woke me in the middle of the night to ask for my receipt and would I move to another bed! It's located in a very boring residential part of London's outskirts and a longish train ride into central London. There is one pub in the area which is great, but expensive. Wi-fi in the hostel costs extra. There are no bathrooms in the building, just one cubicle in each dorm room.

Reviewed by
Jim H

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
The accommodation is a hostel, an interesting way to travel and great people. Rooms are shared and basic but it was very clean and everyone very friendly. Great value and good experience.

Reviewed by
T Law

From Grays, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good value for money

Reviewed by
Karolyne Balogh

From , UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst hostel I've ever been to
The staff at this hostel is extremely rude and inefficient. The rooms are in a bad condition, everything seems like its going to fall apart and there is a lot of noise all the time, including at night. There was no toilet paper or soap in the bathroom (we had ensuite room). Even though the hostel is cheap, you can find much better places for this price.

Reviewed by
Katja G

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Roger waters - the wall at webmley stadium
Just wanted somewhere to get our heads down after the gig. 6 bunks in a room. A fraction of the cost of a hotel. It worked for us. I would stay again. Mainly young people, it's a backpacker after all. We enjoyed the party they were having which went on for most of the night. Not for people expecting a holiday inn but like i said, it worked for us.

Reviewed by
Kenny Tregenza

From Falmouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next