No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Southbourne Guest House

4Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
34 Massetts Road Horley, Gatwick Airport, RH6 7DS
Hotel quality Gatwick bed and breakfast accommodation situated less than 5 minutes drive from London Gatwick Airport. Free airport transfers from 09.30 to 21.30. Holiday Parking available. All rooms with en-suite private bathrooms.  Free WI-FI broadband internet access. Courtesy tray with a selection of drinks and biscuits. Only three minutes walk to Horley restaurants, pubs and shops and five minutes from Horley train station. You can be sure of a warm welcome at Southbourne Gatwick Guest House, a handsome late Victorian property set in the quiet, picturesque conservation area of Horley, where quality, service and value ensure our guests return time and time again.
Picture of Southbourne Guest House, Gatwick Airport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My eta was midday, and because of complications I wasn't able to book in until 21.30. The owners were very understanding and accomadating.
Breakfast was excellent and the service efficient.
Thank you.

Reviewed by
R White

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick overnight
Excellent room and service, very clean and great breakfast!

Reviewed by
j barnes

From Ingatestone, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

really excellent airport collection service - a definite bonus

Reviewed by
g murphy

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly helpful service in well kept, very clean accommodation. Having spent nights at other hotels in the Gatwick area and being disappointed by the overused nature of the accommodation the Southbourne is a place I would definitely return to. A family run business where they do a great job in making sure you enjoy your stay. The location is also convenient for a short walk to good restaurants.

Reviewed by
David R

From Ulverston, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay befrore a Gatwick flight
We found every aspect of our stay to be excellent. The quality and standards of service, food, and accommodation to be first class. Clearly Tony and Breda know exactly what travellers require and provide it with a warm welcome and support. We would heartily recommend this guest house for whatever yout visit to the area.

Reviewed by
J Hayes

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

flying visit.
A late booking for an overnight stay prior to flying out to Belfast. A very adequate room, very comfy bed. A nice welcome and the landlady suggested a ver nice pub down the road.
Definately stay again.
JT

Reviewed by
P THOMPSON

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice and convenient
Very convenient and close to Gatwick airport without any plane noise. Excellent collaboration with a local cab company. Helpful staff. Nice and practical rooms. I'll be back.

Reviewed by
Martin F

From Zurich, Switzerland
Who stayed in January 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a lovely place to stay and so close to the airport. Very quiet at night. Easy transfer to and from the airport by the friendly owner. Good continental brekkie or upgrade to full cooked for £3.50. Friendly helpfull staff. Lovely warm room with plenty of space and a good clean quality hot shower. Reccomended A*

Reviewed by
Chris Sutcliffe

From Bideford, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I've given up on big hotel chains
I travel a lot & stay in different hotels all over the country. I don't expect much, clean/tidy/shower/decent breakfast & I'm happy. The big hotel chains have this covered and lets be honest it is easy to book with them, you know what you're getting everytime. Including plastic food prepacked & reheated in the microwave!
Call me sentimental but I feel the need to support local business. Years ago we all stayed in small family run guest houses with home cooked food. Now it seems we prefer Lenny Henry's cold white with purple rooms and the exact same menu everywhere we go...................
Not for me. This hotel typifies what I look for in a room. I don't need flashy, I'm rarely in a hotel for even 10 hours. I want clean, I want a shower & I want to be treated like a person. In 9 out of 10 cases hotels like this are cheaper than the big chains anyway so why don't we stay in them? I do & the next time you need a room you should too!

Reviewed by
Craig Waites

From Alhaurin el grande, Spain
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb!
Was met by a very nice man that had organized the room to fit me and my family of five.
It was a really nice stay, and since we was suposed to leave early they had ordered a taxi for us and set up a breakfast table so we could eat before we left, outside the opening hours.
Recomend this place!

Reviewed by
S Hanssen

From Norway
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next