No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Southbourne Guest House

4Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
34 Massetts Road Horley, Gatwick Airport, RH6 7DS
Hotel quality Gatwick bed and breakfast accommodation situated less than 5 minutes drive from London Gatwick Airport. Free airport transfers from 09.30 to 21.30. Holiday Parking available. All rooms with en-suite private bathrooms.  Free WI-FI broadband internet access. Courtesy tray with a selection of drinks and biscuits. Only three minutes walk to Horley restaurants, pubs and shops and five minutes from Horley train station. You can be sure of a warm welcome at Southbourne Gatwick Guest House, a handsome late Victorian property set in the quiet, picturesque conservation area of Horley, where quality, service and value ensure our guests return time and time again.
Picture of Southbourne Guest House, Gatwick Airport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value.
Clean, friendly and really convenient for Gatwick. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Bonny Massarella

From Leiston, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night stay for local training course
I cannot fault this little hotel.
Tony greeted me on the Friday night with plenty of information about where I could eat an evening meal, my bags were taken to my room, which had a devine four poster bed, not what I was expecting for a "cheap single room" that I had booked last minute!
Breakfast was continental and perfectly adequate, Tony saw to my needs as a Wheat intolerant diner by providing gluten free bread and gluten free cereal. A taxi was ordered for my second day at the course and Tony picked me up in person that evening (a courtesy car is run to the airport in less busy times). A fantastic little family run B&B, with lovely clean rooms and a personal service like no other.

Reviewed by
Yvonne C

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent enough hotel but some minor annoyances
This hotel was OK, I found the allocated tables and waitress service at the continental breakfast a bit much - I would rather just have self service with a member of staff on hand in case of any problems, I think I can manage to toast my own bread! I was a bit annoyed at the hotel taking a deposit from the card I booked with and then taking the money for the stay without me being there - its a good job I did not want to pay with a different card or cash.
Other than that the hotel was clean, warm and quiet and my room was more than big enough.

Reviewed by
Oliver P

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Southbourne Guest House
Ticks all the boxes. 100% satisfaction - cant say anymore than that really.

Reviewed by
Andy A

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, Welcoming, Convenient.
Great value for money, especially as free transfer to and from airport included. Only 5 minute drive which makes it so convenient while at the same time being away from all the noise and business of Gatwick. Lovely guest house with a friendly, family atmosphere which made me feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
Lorraine Konings

From BRIDPORT, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My eta was midday, and because of complications I wasn't able to book in until 21.30. The owners were very understanding and accomadating.
Breakfast was excellent and the service efficient.
Thank you.

Reviewed by
R White

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick overnight
Excellent room and service, very clean and great breakfast!

Reviewed by
j barnes

From Ingatestone, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

really excellent airport collection service - a definite bonus

Reviewed by
g murphy

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly helpful service in well kept, very clean accommodation. Having spent nights at other hotels in the Gatwick area and being disappointed by the overused nature of the accommodation the Southbourne is a place I would definitely return to. A family run business where they do a great job in making sure you enjoy your stay. The location is also convenient for a short walk to good restaurants.

Reviewed by
David R

From Ulverston, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay befrore a Gatwick flight
We found every aspect of our stay to be excellent. The quality and standards of service, food, and accommodation to be first class. Clearly Tony and Breda know exactly what travellers require and provide it with a warm welcome and support. We would heartily recommend this guest house for whatever yout visit to the area.

Reviewed by
J Hayes

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next