Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.
94% would recommend it to a friend
Great value and friendly service
We were made to feel very welcome by the owners.
The room was clean and comfortable. An enjoyable stay - and great value.
Excellent Value for Money!!!
Nice and close to the airport..
they even arrange transport to the airport for you!
Southbourne Guest House
Great place to unwind from long flight.
Southbourne Guest House
Airport only a short drive away and located a short walk from restaurants and pubs.
This accomadation was possibly the best B&B I have ever stayed at and guess what ( my wife and I own a B&B.
Immaculately clean, room spacious, facilities great, host friendly, great place guys and girls
Good and bad points
This is a nice place.
I booked a single room, but was put in a family room, so had plenty of space. The welcome was friendly. If you wish to sleep during the day, the curtains do a good job of blocking out the light. The room has a decent enough shower, with shower gel and shampoo provided. Although the room is a stone’s throw from Gatwick Airport, it didn’t seem to be in the flight path, so wasn’t noisy and there are places to eat and drink as well as good enough transport links within easy walking distance. If you are driving, there is on-sight parking
There were some downsides though. If you book a room with breakfast, be aware that this is a selection of serials, juices and pastries, not a hot breakfast, which you will need to pay extra for. It was only £3.50, so didn’t break the bank for my one night stay, but if I had been there for a longer period, I might have been somewhat upset at the unexpected cost. I mentioned my disappointment in this matter, but got no response, other than to tell me I would have pay up front for this
While the room was spacious, it did look quite dated and the bed was quite hard, though still reasonably comfortable
Shortly after arriving, the fire alarm sounded. I was advised that it was a false alarm, caused by the people in the next room boiling a kettle. This was a little concerning and while I wasn’t resting at the time, I was resting when it went again the following morning, presumably for the same reason
Response from hotel
Thank you for your kind comments and we are sorry you were disappointed by the supplementary charge for cooked breakfast, however it was clearly stated that only continental breakfast was included in the room rate when you made your reservation.
We are also sorry you were concerned by the fire alarm sounding however it is a most unusual occurrence as we have very few false alarms. On the occasion you stayed it was extremely unusual to have two in 24 hours, one was caused by another guest boiling a kettle with the lid off resulting in excessive steam escaping and the following morning another guest took a shower with the shower room door open again resulting in excessive steam filling the bedroom and setting off the alarm.
You will appreciate we have a fire alarm system to ensure our guests safety and while a false alarm can be inconvenient, it is also reassuring that it works.
Breda and Tony
2 night stay
Great place, close to town, lots of pubs and restaurants with in 10 mins walk room clean and tidy, lovely breakfast cooked fresh will stay again.
Hard to improve on it!
If ever you need to overnight either before or after a flight from Gatwick then this is the place for you.
So convenient, so comfortable, so well organised, so welcoming, such value, such service you just can't beat it. The owners know what they are doing and they do it extremely well. I couldn't recommend this delightful guest house more highly. (I didn't score the food with maximum points as I only had a continental breakfast which was included in the room price and was perfectly adequate).
Clean, quiet and efficient.
Friendly owners and staff
After booking my accommodation i was not going to arrive until 2245.
I called and nothing was a problem. I was shown to my room which i would have paid double for. Everything about this place left me thinking that i will come back, even the next morning with an extensive choice of breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble for these people.