No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Avonpark House

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
123 Shipston Road, , Stratford upon Avon, CV37 7LW

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Martin and Maria welcome you to their friendly, family run quality guest house close to the centre of Stratford-upon-Avon.
Only seven minutes walk from the Royal Shakespeare Company - RSC Theatre, along the River Avon, and a short stroll from the birthplace of William Shakespeare and the historic sights of Stratford. A Convenient bed and breakfast, with car parking, for visiting warwickshire, the Heart of England, and nearby attractions of the homes of William Shakespeare,Warwick Castle, NEC, the Cotswolds, Stratford Races, events at Long Marston and many others. The B&B has been awarded Visit Britain 4 star grading and all rooms have en-suite accommodation. The bed and breakfast accommodation, has many facilities available to make your holiday in shakespeare country a comfortable and enjoyable experience.
Picture of Avonpark House, Stratford upon Avon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As guest houses go, this is pretty good
We stayed a couple of nights with Martin & Maria at the Avonpark House and can't really complain about anything. The owners are particularly nice, the facilities were as good as you could expect for a guest house and the breakfast was as good as most. The room was spotless and the size was adequate. Sky TV in the room helped me keep up to date with the news and the wi-fi connection was excellent.
The local pub - Tramway - was friendly and good value.
Amongst the few downsides were that the short cut back from the town centre (10 minute walk) was unlit and eerie, the rooms on the front were a tad noisy and the price was relatively high compared to the town centre Hilton (exactly the same price without breakfast).
Still, it was a good stay and we'd consider staying again.

Reviewed by
Tim Amor

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a lovely time
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome Maria. Took the time to tell us were to go what to do and places to eat we would recommend to anybody The shower in our room was fab

Reviewed by
c burton

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better than excellent
Family feel, maria was superb managing the B&B single handed at the time and doing a really good Job, would definitley recommend for great value and 1st class service. Well dome Mr & Mrs Cooper!

Reviewed by
John Cooper

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

maria was a great host and served an excellent breakfast

Reviewed by
i powell

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute break
Booked at last minute. Very welcoming and helpful. The owners create a relaxed atmosphere, convenient for the town but away from the hustle and bustle. Handy to have plenty of parking and breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
David E

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely stay
we had a lovely stay at Avonpark, room was lovely, breakfast great and the owners were very friendly and helpful. our room was ground floor and overlooked the garden, airy and clean, the only downside was the drippy shower which we reported and the owner tried his best to sort out. Close to town centre, just short walk, would definitly stay again, very welcoming.

Reviewed by
debbie knowles

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet and Secluded
This establishment is a well run, well located property, with helpful owners. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend here, and would recommend it to anyone. You are literally a five minute walk from the centre of town, and the walk itself is extremely pleasant.
The rooms are well equipped, however the wifi did not quite stretch to ours, but we didn't particularly need it so that was fine.
The breakfast on offer, while limited in choice, was plentiful and served promptly.
Overall a great stay and would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
A Benson

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B&B
I stayed here one night with my mum in a twin room. The room was very clean and modern. The owners were very welcoming and the breakfast was lovely. It was good that they allowed us to leave our car at the B&B on our departure day until we were ready to leave. I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Emma O

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, friendly B&B
Friendly hosts. Clean, bright room. Excellent breakfast. Good value for money. Would definitely use this B&B for future visits to the area.

ManagementResponse

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Avonpark House.

Reviewed by
Bryan F

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avonpark guest house
Although room very nice ! But as the weather was very hot the ventilation was poor ! We should have been shown how to open velux windows to have air as although we had patio doors leading to garden we didn't want to leave them open at night!
We were annoyed that there was a 10% charge if u pay by card!! This is very steep as the room was quoted at £85 so that added another £8.50 to orig cost !!!
I think that the outside of the property needs to have more roadside appeal for passing trade ! Too many overgrown bushes and plants. Otherwise they do try to accommodate yr requirements.

Reviewed by
Caroline J

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next