No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Heart In Hand

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Heart In Hand, 43 High Street, Blunsdon, Swindon, SN26 7AG
Welcome to the Heart in Hand - a friendly inn situated in the lovely village of Blunsdon, Swindon. We offer excellent home-cooked food which is available every day except for Sunday evening and have a good range of real ales! Accommodation is also available and we have 4 rooms which are available to let, all with en-suite facilities. If you are in the area, why not come and give us a visit. We look forward to seeing you! The Heart in Hand is a family run business. The Leppard family have been here for over 13 years. We have a good range of real ales and the home-cooked food is very popular. We have 4 letting rooms which are all en suite. This year we have refurbished our garden and have a new garden menu and patanque court. The Heart in Hand is a friendly village pub on the edge of the Cotswolds in the lovely village of Blunsdon with easy access to the M4 and M5. Please note the Heart in Hand closes between 3.30 to 5.30.
Picture of The Heart In Hand, Swindon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value for Money
Very simple if you are looking for accomodation in the Swindon area you will not get better for the money you will pay. Freindly Staff, Good Real Ales, Clean comfortable rooms and very good value for money. What more can you ask for?

Reviewed by
Michael Hanson

From Batley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value for Money
The Heart in Hand is a traditional pub in many ways but that should be seen as a plus. The decor is very traditional, I suspect the bar has been in place for many decades. Though the room I stayed in was a more modern cottagey feel but it had all you want and need. Comfy bed ,TV, biscuits (lol).
It is pub food but much better quality and larger portions than the usual Beefeaters and so on I usually eat at. If you like Real Ale then enjoy three beers all of which were good quality.
There is a car park and some on street parking. The pub closes during the afternoon but a quick phone call lets you in the back way.
Cons. None that would stop me going back but its fair to say that a little more maintenance and perhaps thought when decorating would help. Examples being the loo roll holder had either been replaced or refitted but the old holes were still on show and the door frame to the en-suite had not been 'knotted' and so now all the knots show through.
Also because the rooms are above the bar there will be some noise, the landlord does have a loud voice and likes the sound of it, so if you are sensitive to sound you might like to stay in the bar until closing!
Overall this place represents very good value for money and if you like places that have character and atmosphere then stay a night here, there is always the Premier Inn or the Blunsdon House Hotel just up the road if you don't like it!

Reviewed by
David S

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
We stayed here for one night, as we were traveling to Somerset and wanted a break in our journey. The family were very pleasant and friendly and very accommodating. The room was quaint, spotlessly clean and the food was amazing too.

Reviewed by
Phillip Mapp

From Garndolbenmaen, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome but the room was bit cold in the night as the heaters were off.

Reviewed by
J Rao

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Heart in Hand - best stay in Swindon area
I've been working in Swindon nearly a year, staying overnight 1 or 2 days a week. Used over 20 different hotels / guesthouses / pubs, all good in their own ways, but this one is the best overall I have found. Reasonable price, clean comfortable spacious rooms with ensuite and drink making facilities and TV - what you would expect, but then add to that excellent low priced food, very friendly pub with well kept beer, faultless service, helpful landlord, welcoming atmosphere, not too noisey. Great!!!

Reviewed by
J H

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

on way to hols
very friendly staff,made to feel like local even invited to quiz .very good meals amd good beer choice,very good breakfast would stay again

Reviewed by
S Mullin

From Corby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very clean and tidy, and quite. The location was very quite and good views of the countryside. The owners were very friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was very full and tasty

Reviewed by
Paul K

From Thatcham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth the money
A one night stay was not enough. The warm welcome from the landlord and his patrons was really nice. The room, though basic, was clean and the 'pub grub' was just as you would expect but it certainly did not disappoint and was reasonably priced. I would stay there again.

Reviewed by
A Langley

From Llanelli, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyable stay
Comfortable room, friendly hosts and lovely breakfast cooked to order. A very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
ann s

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business stay
The room was great
Good value for money
The breakfast was great
The pub and customers were so friendly
Would recommend without hesitation
Thanks to all the staff for making us so welcome

Reviewed by
marc burman

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next