No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Heart In Hand

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Heart In Hand, 43 High Street, Blunsdon, Swindon, SN26 7AG
Welcome to the Heart in Hand - a friendly inn situated in the lovely village of Blunsdon, Swindon. We offer excellent home-cooked food which is available every day except for Sunday evening and have a good range of real ales! Accommodation is also available and we have 4 rooms which are available to let, all with en-suite facilities. If you are in the area, why not come and give us a visit. We look forward to seeing you! The Heart in Hand is a family run business. The Leppard family have been here for over 13 years. We have a good range of real ales and the home-cooked food is very popular. We have 4 letting rooms which are all en suite. This year we have refurbished our garden and have a new garden menu and patanque court. The Heart in Hand is a friendly village pub on the edge of the Cotswolds in the lovely village of Blunsdon with easy access to the M4 and M5. Please note the Heart in Hand closes between 3.30 to 5.30.
Picture of The Heart In Hand, Swindon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem!
Bright, cheerful, welcoming; the sort of place that makes you want to eat there!
Spotlessly clean and comfortable throughout with charming decor. Breakfast excellent.
A place to go back to again and again!

Reviewed by
David E

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

    • Customer service
    • Hotel cleanliness
    • Quality of room
    • Value for money
    • Quality of food
    • Family friendly

    Pleasant Find
    Old Country pub but very comfortable accommodation, good food and drink, a nice atmosphere and friendly hosts/staff. Closed from 3:30 to 5:30pm so don't try to get in between those hours.

    Reviewed by
    Robert T

    From Paignton, UK
    Who stayed in November 2014

    Couple

    • Customer service
    • Hotel cleanliness
    • Quality of room
    • Value for money
    • Quality of food
    • Family friendly

    Good value
    Traditional welcoming pub with basic but spotlessly clean accommodation. Very good cooked breakfast but could do with offering some fresh fruit, yoghurt, muesli etc.. We had home cooked chicken curry for our evening meal which was really substantial, although a little hot for my taste, I think it would be helpful to give an indication of the level of spice on the menu. Just twenty minutes drive from Swindon.

    Reviewed by
    Lindsey P

    From Neath, UK
    Who stayed in November 2014

    Couple

    • Customer service
    • Hotel cleanliness
    • Quality of room
    • Value for money
    • Quality of food
    • Family friendly

    Very good overnight stay
    This must be one of the best places to stay in the area. Good room, good food and comfortable.

    Reviewed by
    Jim M

    From UK
    Who stayed in October 2014

    • Customer service
    • Hotel cleanliness
    • Quality of room
    • Value for money
    • Quality of food
    • Family friendly

    The experience was very pleasant. Landlord was friendly and helpful, bedding crisp, mattress firm and comfortable, facilities very good, all the usual amenities in the room. Bar / breakfast area homely and inviting - evening dinner enjoyable, lovely breakfast and excellent value for money which will draw repeat guest business for sure.
    Thank you.

    Reviewed by
    Ian M

    From UK
    Who stayed in October 2014

    Travelling alone

    • Customer service
    • Hotel cleanliness
    • Quality of room
    • Value for money
    • Quality of food
    • Family friendly

    Great Value for Money
    Very simple if you are looking for accomodation in the Swindon area you will not get better for the money you will pay. Freindly Staff, Good Real Ales, Clean comfortable rooms and very good value for money. What more can you ask for?

    Reviewed by
    Michael Hanson

    From Batley, UK
    Who stayed in September 2014

    • Customer service
    • Hotel cleanliness
    • Quality of room
    • Value for money
    • Quality of food
    • Family friendly

    Excellent Value for Money
    The Heart in Hand is a traditional pub in many ways but that should be seen as a plus. The decor is very traditional, I suspect the bar has been in place for many decades. Though the room I stayed in was a more modern cottagey feel but it had all you want and need. Comfy bed ,TV, biscuits (lol).
    It is pub food but much better quality and larger portions than the usual Beefeaters and so on I usually eat at. If you like Real Ale then enjoy three beers all of which were good quality.
    There is a car park and some on street parking. The pub closes during the afternoon but a quick phone call lets you in the back way.
    Cons. None that would stop me going back but its fair to say that a little more maintenance and perhaps thought when decorating would help. Examples being the loo roll holder had either been replaced or refitted but the old holes were still on show and the door frame to the en-suite had not been 'knotted' and so now all the knots show through.
    Also because the rooms are above the bar there will be some noise, the landlord does have a loud voice and likes the sound of it, so if you are sensitive to sound you might like to stay in the bar until closing!
    Overall this place represents very good value for money and if you like places that have character and atmosphere then stay a night here, there is always the Premier Inn or the Blunsdon House Hotel just up the road if you don't like it!

    Reviewed by
    David S

    From Newton Abbot, UK
    Who stayed in September 2014

    Travelling alone

    • Customer service
    • Hotel cleanliness
    • Quality of room
    • Value for money
    • Quality of food
    • Family friendly

    Fantastic
    We stayed here for one night, as we were traveling to Somerset and wanted a break in our journey. The family were very pleasant and friendly and very accommodating. The room was quaint, spotlessly clean and the food was amazing too.

    Reviewed by
    Phillip Mapp

    From Garndolbenmaen, UK
    Who stayed in August 2014

    • Customer service
    • Hotel cleanliness
    • Quality of room
    • Value for money
    • Quality of food
    • Family friendly

    Warm welcome but the room was bit cold in the night as the heaters were off.

    Reviewed by
    J Rao

    From UK
    Who stayed in August 2014

    Travelling alone

    • Customer service
    • Hotel cleanliness
    • Quality of room
    • Value for money
    • Quality of food
    • Family friendly

    Heart in Hand - best stay in Swindon area
    I've been working in Swindon nearly a year, staying overnight 1 or 2 days a week. Used over 20 different hotels / guesthouses / pubs, all good in their own ways, but this one is the best overall I have found. Reasonable price, clean comfortable spacious rooms with ensuite and drink making facilities and TV - what you would expect, but then add to that excellent low priced food, very friendly pub with well kept beer, faultless service, helpful landlord, welcoming atmosphere, not too noisey. Great!!!

    Reviewed by
    J H

    From Telford, UK
    Who stayed in August 2014

    Travelling alone

    View Older Reviews

    Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

    All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

    1 2 3 Next