No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lordleaze Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Henderson Drive, Forton Road, Chard, TA20 2HW
The only AA 3 star HOTEL in Chard, bar and restaurant on site, Free wi-fi throughout, lots of free parking. Bedrooms are all ensuite with Flatscreen Digital TV

The Lordleaze Hotel, once an 18th century farmhouse, is a comfortable country hotel offering the finest standards with a warm and friendly atmosphere. Ideal for both business and pleasure.

Family owned and run we are set in a secluded area on the Somerset, Dorset, Devon borders it is surrounded by natural pasture land but only three minutes away from Chard town centre. It is a perfect location for those seeking peace and tranquillity.

The Olde Worlde lounge bar with its comfortable seating and real log fire has a relaxed and intimate atmosphere where you can enjoy a quiet drink or chat to fellow guests.

Good quality local produce expertly cooked is the essence of our kitchen. We are also open to non residents and excel in functions with professional approach.

Restaurant menu and bar meals are available 7 evenings a week - The breakfast is rather good too!

The twenty five tastefully decorated bedrooms all have Free Wifi access, an en-suite bathroom, Flatscreen Digital Television, radio, telephone with modem port, tea & coffee making facilities, trouser press & iron, hairdryer and other small touches for your enjoyment.

There are seven ground floor bedrooms, some with disabled facilities. All rooms are of course also available for single occupancy.

The Owen family look forward to welcoming you.

Picture of The Lordleaze Hotel, Chard at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had stayed at The Lordleaze several times many years ago and it is basically unchanged
Frankly, The Lordleaze is a perfectly acceptable Hotel in a nice rural location on the outskirts of Chard.
Reception, waiting and bar staff all very pleasant and good at their jobs. Assuming that the hotel wants truthful feedback, I would say four things:
1) It is a little overpriced. I paid £82.00 through Laterooms - this is a £65.00 level of hotel room - 2) It is not really suited to business traveller wanting to sit and work on laptop for a couple of hours - you have to unplug the light to plug in your computer - no suitable chair.
3) My breakfast was disappointing - bacon and sausages cremated - clearly having been in the oven or under the salamander for a long long time
4) It was interesting that on checkout - I was (for the first time in ages) not asked if everything had been all right with my stay. I would have given the feedback on the breakfast if asked - but it was very clear that my opinion was not going to be sought - in fact this is the first hotel that I have used in a long time that did not have a guest's comments card, either. I think the owners do not feel the need to try all that hard, there being a shortage of hotel rooms in the vicinity - so they are often full through the supply/demand balance.

Reviewed by
Peter Hurrell

From St Neots, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely warm welcome at this cosy hotel
Cosy, clean bedroom with clean en-suite. Lovely, comfortable bed too.

Reviewed by
Anna Norfolk

From West Molesey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful bed, expensive but good food, strange location .... Nothing for children ....Not for us ...
Following a very bizarre approach through housing estates we arrived and received a nice welcome. It was not overly welcoming but not cold either. Could have been better. Going to our room it was a good size, small size bunk beds for kids and double for us. Being in the middle of no where we had no choice but to eat at the in house restaurant. The waitress was absolutely fabulous. Can not remember her name but she really was superb. Food was good but very expensive starters ... 3 prawns for over £8 ... Good steaks ... £100 for 4 of us (2 children) plus drinks on top ... Rather steep! Sadly our first nights sleep was so so awful we nearly left. The bed is absolutely awful ... Springs stick in you when you turn. Creaks badly, is obviously very old and on its last legs. Getting a second pillow the second night helped but could barely move on waking. Dead legs and crooked neck. Really poor bed. Such a shame decent beds are not invested in as gat is after all what is going to make us happy .... A good nights sleep!!! Also with no air conditioning it was a boiling night and rooms really needed a fan ... Was stifling hot and made any chance of sleep impossible. Breakfast was great and made the price for the room seem better value. Good selection and the cooked breakfast was good quality. Great the room had beds for kids, however there was nothing for kids at the hotel .. I.e no slide or climbing frame, nowhere for them to play etc so can not mark highly for family friendly even though the waitress at dinner made them very welcome. Owner / reception lady did not even say hi to the children!!! We would not recommend anyone go out of their way to stay here. We will not be returning.

ManagementResponse

The hotel is only a 5 minute drive from Chard town centre where there are a few restaurants and pubs that serve food, we don't force anyone to stay in and have dinner at the hotel! We're glad you enjoyed your food, you're right the prawns are delicious, however you get 6 prawns not 3 for £8.50, for the quality of the food we should probably charge more! We are pleased to say that we have replaced all of our beds with new and very comfortable pocket sprung mattresses. So no one will be having a sleepless night. Our breakfast is great, all the food is sourced locally with free range eggs etc. The hotel is not advertised to have childrens play equipment. Of course we allow children to stay and they are welcome to play in the garden or even in the field in front of the hotel with a football etc. However a lot of these issues could have been addressed if you had of asked.

Reviewed by
Amber S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed our stay - excellent breakfast
Good hotel in a lovely quiet location. We booked the family room which had everything we needed. The bunk-beds looked a little bit wonky - I'm not sure whether they have been put up incorrectly, or just a bit old and worn, but they were fine and sturdy enough for a 6 year old. The breakfast was delicious - all local produce and home cooked. The bar and restaurant staff were very helpful and attentive. We would stay again if in the area.

ManagementResponse

We are set in a lovely location being surrounded by fields. We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast*, as you said all sourced locally and cooked fresh to order. We have very recently replaced the bunk beds with new ones, the old ones had been here for a few years and get used very frequently. But new sturdy ones now! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed by
J Ainley

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another excellent stay
Excellent meal highly recommended

Reviewed by
David Allan W

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food, staff and ambience. Disappointing accommodation.
The room was disappointingly small, although it was well furnished and clean.
The shower was poor and I was a little surprised to find no blind against the bathroom window. A little lacking in privacy, I felt. TV reception was atrocious.
I specifically requested a quiet room which would suggest one furthest away from the other guests. As it was I got the first one in the hallway therefore all the other guests had to pass my room to get to theirs. As such, it was anything but quiet.
All in all the food, staff and the atmosphere were triumphs, but at £125 I have had better rooms for a lot less.

Reviewed by
Andrea S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

LORDLEAZE HOTEL REVIEW
Charming owners. Extremely helpful. Top quality service. Room was very clean and spacious. Nothing too much trouble for staff. All in all a very good hotel maybe justifying the higher than average price. We would definitely stay there again. If I was 'picky' for that price Sky TV might be an addition to be considered by owners.

Reviewed by
GERALD WALSH

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were very attentive and welcoming. The food was enjoyable. The approach and setting of the hotel was not what we expected, but it was quite and a relaxing enviroment.

Reviewed by
f mcnicoll

From Dollar, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.