No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ten Hill Place Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
10 Hill Place , Edinburgh, EH8 9DS
Located in central Edinburgh, Ten Hill Place Hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle and other major tourist attractions. This contemporary 4 star Hotel is based in a quiet Georgian Square and offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout all bedrooms and public spaces.

Each of the 77 well-equipped and spacious rooms has a sleek bathroom, a flat-screen TV with freeview channels, personal safe, iron, ironing board, hair dryer and a hospitality tray. Hotel beds are all king or super-king with allergy-free duvets and pillows to compliment a great night’s sleep. On the top floor, the four Sky-line rooms include an exercise bike, a mini fridge, towelling robes and slippers.

No. Ten Restaurant offers an a la carte menu from 5.00pm, which changes seasonally using locally sourced produce where possible. Hotel guests can also enjoy a drink in 10 Wine Bar, a fabulous space offering an exclusive selection of wines supplied by Corney & Barrow, spirits and locally produced beers. Light meals, snacks and sharing platters are available from midday seven days a week.

The hotel is proud to have been awarded the Gold Award in Green Business Tourism and has received many other accolades including Eco Hotel of the Year 2010, Green Hotel of the Year 2012 and Edinburgh's Best Small City Hotel 2013.

The hotel is owned by the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh and was opened in November 2006. It was created from the combination of an existing Georgian building, previously the Postgraduate Residence of the College, with a stylish yet sympathetic new development. All profits from the Hotel are invested back into The Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh to provide education and assessment for medical students, surgical trainees and consultants who in turn bring life-saving and life-changing skills to all corners of the globe.
Picture of Ten Hill Place Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 120 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room poor breakfast
The room was great and the hotel was very nice, but the breakfast was a buffet and most of it was cold.Plus it wasnt for free which they didnt tell us untill we checked out, if I knew I was going to have to pay for it I would have went out for breakfast.

Reviewed by
Mark S

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ten Hill Place Hotel
No car parking on site. Expensive hotel for what you get, but clean.

Reviewed by
k warner

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great boutique hotel at a budget price
Great place to stay. Just near the Royal Mile but slightly off the main drag so lovely and quiet. Fab rooms. Independent hotel with lots of character.

Reviewed by
Julie Waites

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden Treasure
Set off North Street, just up from the Royal Mile a cracking hotel in close proximity to all places of interest. Set up by the Royal college of Surgeons to a very good standard. Thoroughly recommended.

Reviewed by
Jon S

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel within easy walking distance of city centre
First time we've stayed in this hotel and we enjoyed it very much, modern, clean and excellent staff.

Reviewed by
Maureen M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An Edinburgh treasure
A good comfortable, modern clean hotel not too far from the centre (Royal Mile) The staff were very helpful but I found the breakfast arrangements a bit confusing at first but by the second day I had got the hang of it. The room itself was nice quality; the bed was very comfortable, I didn't want to get up! All in all it was a good weekend I will look back on with great pleasure - it helped that the weather was also kind to us. It just goes to show that all the treasures aren't confined to the castle and palace.

Reviewed by
Ray Alcock

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Approximately half a mile walk from the centre and station this hotel was set in a peaceful and quiet area of Edinburgh. We were impressed by the fact that when we drew attention to a couple of problems in the room they were dealt with very quickly. All of the staff were very nice and the staff at breakfast were particularly helpful and cheerful. THis is a very good well appointed hotel and we would recommend it to anyone

Reviewed by
Robert C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Theatre break in Edinburgh
We stayed at Ten Hill Place for one night with a couple of our friends when we were going to the theatre. The hotel is within walking distance of Princes street, 20 minutes approx., and also local buses are frequent, obviously reception will book a taxi for you as well.
Reception staff were exceptionally friendly and couldn't be more helpful, in fact all staff that we dealt with during our stay were the same. Excellent young staff.
We only had breakfast and it was superb, everything on the buffet was replenished regularly which kept it nice and fresh. Chef was available at all times for cooking eggs to order.
We will stay here anytime we return to Edinburgh and would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Well done Ten Hill Place.............excellent hotel.

Reviewed by
Jim Stewart

From Mauchline, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel and a good location
.

Reviewed by
Paul Ellwood

From Ware, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay, would definitely return
We were very impressed with Ten Hill Place which is in a great location for getting to the city centre.. The room was comfortable and we appreciated the commitment to environmental awareness. Staff were helpful. The Arran Aromatics toiletries in the bathroom were lovely.

Reviewed by
A Briggs

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next