Reviews - Horton by Marstons



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (17)

47% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Chris C

  • November 2015

Relaxing break

I stayed here while in the area for work.

I found t very relaxing with a great host

  • R Bailey

  • September 2015

one night stay

Not a complaint, more a suggestion, scrambled egg was "fried" not really.

the way to do it, the sausage had been oven heated either to long or too often, was tough

  • K wiggins

  • March 2015

One nighter

Stayed at the hotel for a friends wedding as was close to venue, staff very friendly, room ok but tired, floor boards creaky,was not able to use toilet in room.

Breakfast simple but filling would of been nice to get better coffee and juice available on buffet.

  • andrew h

  • March 2015

dated accommodation

friendly staff but unfortunately the room we stayed in felt very dated, also thought it was closer to wimborne because of the post code but it cost £20 in a taxi each way so would have been cheaper to stay in wimborne itself.

  • Hilary Jones

  • February 2015

Recommended place to stay in the Dorset countryside

We had a warm welcome by the staff at this small pub inn, which has been under new management for the last six months.

The accommodation is comfortable, with en suite bathrooms and tea/ coffee makers in each room, and full of character. The breakfast was "English", very tasty and was freshly cooked, as requested, by the landlady. The inn is dog- friendly, and I will definitely stay there again.

  • m roberts

  • January 2015

Real family affair

Thoroughly enjoyed the stay at the Horton, the manager Jo was lovely and so welcoming, she even made a curry for my husband and they weren't doing food, she apologised for the decor but that is due to be upgraded soon.

Very clean and nothing was too much trouble even with it being new year eve. Next morning it was like having breakfast with the family which was fab, every one was really friendly and breakfast was really good. Will stay again, and hope that Marstons will support Jo and Charlotte by decorating for them.

  • o williams

  • November 2014

ok being up-graded

  • Julie T

  • October 2014

Welcoming and comfortable

I did an overnight stay .

The welcome from the girl behind the bar was very nice. Check in and entry to room was swift and efficient. Room was a good size, twin bedded as requested and spotlessly clean. My only bad mark was the shower which pulsed rather than flowed!!. Breakfast next morning was fine on hot plates ( always a bonus!)

  • J Parry

  • August 2014

Pay top whack for poor accom.

En-suite twin it wasn't, en-suite was down a corridor, shower did not work, could not even run a bath, pub run down, under refurb, nothing like the picture on late rooms, guessing this was taken in the hay day.

ended up checking out. There are cheaper and better quality Marston's pub's out there!

  • maria w

  • August 2014

clients had only just taken over and were lovely people and I am sure will make a success of it.

Would stay there again as I am sure the hotel will be in a much better state once they have been allowed to settle in.