No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Horton by Marstons

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
CRANBORNE ROAD , WIMBORNE, BH21 5AD
We are a traditionally styled victorian coaching inn, set in the beautiful Dorset countryside. Just a short drive to Poole, Bournemouth, & the Jurassic coast, we are an ideal base for a short break. We have a real fire for the cold winter nights, or a beautiful outside area for long summer evenings, & free Wi-fi. We take all debit & credit cards, except Amex.
Picture of Horton by Marstons, WIMBORNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended place to stay in the Dorset countryside
We had a warm welcome by the staff at this small pub inn, which has been under new management for the last six months. The accommodation is comfortable, with en suite bathrooms and tea/ coffee makers in each room, and full of character! The breakfast was "English", very tasty and was freshly cooked, as requested, by the landlady. The inn is dog- friendly, and I will definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Hilary Jones

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Real family affair
Thoroughly enjoyed the stay at the Horton, the manager Jo was lovely and so welcoming, she even made a curry for my husband and they weren't doing food, she apologised for the decor but that is due to be upgraded soon. Very clean and nothing was too much trouble even with it being new year eve. Next morning it was like having breakfast with the family which was fab, every one was really friendly and breakfast was really good. Will stay again, and hope that Marstons will support Jo and Charlotte by decorating for them.

Reviewed by
m roberts

From tideford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming and comfortable
I did an overnight stay . The welcome from the girl behind the bar was very nice. Check in and entry to room was swift and efficient. Room was a good size, twin bedded as requested and spotlessly clean. My only bad mark was the shower which pulsed rather than flowed!!! Breakfast next morning was fine on hot plates ( always a bonus!)

Reviewed by
Julie T

From Minehead, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pay top whack for poor accom.
En-suite twin it wasn't, en-suite was down a corridor, shower did not work, could not even run a bath, pub run down, under refurb, nothing like the picture on late rooms, guessing this was taken in the hay day! ended up checking out. There are cheaper and better quality Marston's pub's out there!

Reviewed by
J Parry

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok being up-graded

Reviewed by
o williams

From Merthyr Tydfil, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clients had only just taken over and were lovely people and I am sure will make a success of it.
Would stay there again as I am sure the hotel will be in a much better state once they have been allowed to settle in.

Reviewed by
maria w

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was awful
We came here to stay as we were going to a wedding. We arrived at about 4ish. When. Poking this some months ago it had amazing reviews. But just four weeks to us coming it changed hands. And the reviews were not good but it was to late to change now. We thought that we would just go for it and see how it went. On arrival was not what we though we were gong ton dose not look like anything from the picture they show u are going to. Very run down and dark in side. No reception to go to. U just go to the bar. It turned out we were the only guest staying that night. The room was ok and a nice size bathroom. All clean. The mattress was awgful. Very cheap and could feel all the springs and the pillows were also very fine and know pillow protectors on them either. When coming back from the wedding we left early and thought that we would go back to the bar and have a drink. But could not do this as on. Saturday night at 9.30 pm it was closed. I fact the hole pub/hotel was closed up. No one to be found. So I had to get my torch out to find are way up the stairs as it was so dark. Had a rubbish night sleep because of the bed. Was going to go for breakfast at 9 but we didn't bother as the reviews on the food was so bad with under cooked food. Still frozen food or recooked food so we just paid and left. At know point did they say that you to us or ask if were still staying for breakfast. Just took payment and walked away. We had tried to leave before hand in the morning. But we could not leave the keys in a safe place as stated on the A4 posted saying we could leave them in the green post box out in the car park as it had know front to the post box. All in all it was just awful stay and a waste of £71 very cross

Reviewed by
L Davis

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our room was lovely and big and the bed linen was clean and looked new but the décor was a bit tired looking and on the whole the place looked shabby and a bit run down. There was a big garden with tables etc. but the grass looked like it hadn't been cut in weeks and was nearly knee high in places. The staff were pleasant and friendly.

Reviewed by
P Dyer

From SOUTHSEA, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Musty needs updating manager very abrupt told they would serve food until 9.pm
Sign said finished serving food on sat at 6 pm. Manager said only been there for 3 days no food delivered . Over charged on drinks pint of Guinness and half of lager £6.85.says he had no food delivered, asked if he could suggest any where to eat( in the middle of the country side) said he could rustle something up . The bed was like lying on floor boards couldn't turn over so uncomfortable .

Reviewed by
J Chadderton

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
Positives
1. Staff very friendly at check in and breakfast
2. Breakfast very good
3. Single beds were comfortable
Negatives
1. Room standard was very poor. The corridor and room was suffering from water damage. One window latch was broken, the door handle into bathroom was broken and my wife got stuck inside the bathroom and the toilet flush mechanism was dodgy.
2. Cleanliness of room was below expectations - the kettle was not something you'd want to use and the shower was mouldy in places.

Reviewed by
Mark Baker

From Chepstow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next