No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alexandra House

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Whittingham Drive,Wroughton , Swindon, SN4 0QJ
Set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds, Alexandra House has all the latest facilities for business travellers to stay overnight and a great value venue for couples and families staying to visit friends or the local area at the weekend. Located on the outskits of Swindon in the village of Wroughton, access is easy from either junction 15 or 16 of the M4 (just 5 miles away) and a mere 4 miles from the centre of Swindon. Use Alexandra House as a base to explore the local attractions or local events, including Swindon Designer Shopping Outlet, Stonehenge, Longleat and Newbury Racecourse. Convenient for visiting Cheltenham, Bath and the Cotswolds, there's an array of things to keep you amused close by. At the end of a busy day the outstanding health and leisure club, including indoor swimming pool, gym, all-weather tennis court, sauna and steam room is a welcome sight.

Picture of Alexandra House, Swindon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 74 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smart room fab breakfast
Good room, thought might be noisy but not the case. Good night sleep followed by a lovely breakfast

Reviewed by
Jacqui M

From North Walsham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stop over
My wife and I (Sounds a bit Royal) stop over here on our way down to visit our son and family in Salisbury on a regular basis. We live in the West Midlands (Sedgley)We find the standard of service excellent. We have a breakfast which we cannot fault. The staff are most helpful. Great place to stay. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
George McClay

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good short break
all staff were very polite and helpful from cleaners to reception. All facilities very good. Great location for exploring and shopping. Quiet location in the country.

Reviewed by
STEPHEN MILUM

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place to stay
Stayed here overnight on way to see our grandchildren in Salisbury. Staff so helpful and polite. We had the breakfast so many choices, such good value. Excellent would recommend to any one, thank you Alexandra House staff.

Reviewed by
George McClay

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK chain hotel- basic leisure facilities
like a lot of 'conference hotels' i.e. used to hosting large corporate parties, the hotel is a bit souless for indepedent guests. everything is ok in terms of cleanliness, functionality etc (although the overly complex showers are a bit odd) it's just lacking in atmosphere. The leisure facilities are limited - the pool is small, the sauna and steam room ok, but the gym has 2 of everything max meaning you have to wait for 30mins to get on CV machines if they're in use. maybe for golfers this is a better bet but I'd be disappointed with a spa-trip here. as it was we were just breaking up a long journey so it was fine.

Reviewed by
gayle c

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing break
All staff were very attentive and helpful

Reviewed by
M Buckland

From Halstead, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well looked after
Quality of food very good and plentiful and is getting better on every visit

Reviewed by
K Wood

From Sittingbourne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visit to Swindon - Alexandra Hotel
A nice functional hotel. Good leisure facilities, comfortable room and breakfast excellent value.

Reviewed by
T Baker

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay.felt restricting children in the pool to certain times was unnecessary at the weekends.

Reviewed by
Ian B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very well appointed, nice decor and very comfortable bed, quiet and very clean. The bathroom was very nice with a full bath. However the fridge did not work and even after maintenance was still warm. The room was stifling hot with no air conditioning but Maintenance kindly provided a fan as the windows only opened a fraction. The Wifi was non existent unless one went to the Hotel lobby. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The Hotel grounds and other facilities were very good.

Reviewed by
janet h

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next