No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alexandra House

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Whittingham Drive,Wroughton , Swindon, SN4 0QJ
Set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds, Alexandra House has all the latest facilities for business travellers to stay overnight and a great value venue for couples and families staying to visit friends or the local area at the weekend. Located on the outskits of Swindon in the village of Wroughton, access is easy from either junction 15 or 16 of the M4 (just 5 miles away) and a mere 4 miles from the centre of Swindon. Use Alexandra House as a base to explore the local attractions or local events, including Swindon Designer Shopping Outlet, Stonehenge, Longleat and Newbury Racecourse. Convenient for visiting Cheltenham, Bath and the Cotswolds, there's an array of things to keep you amused close by. At the end of a busy day the outstanding health and leisure club, including indoor swimming pool, gym, all-weather tennis court, sauna and steam room is a welcome sight.

Picture of Alexandra House, Swindon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 80 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A modern, business style hotel with helpful and friendly staff. Great value for money.

Reviewed by
P Higgins

From Tenbury Wells, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good night away
Excellent accommodation, I asked for a quiet room and it was. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Shame the Jacuzzi was out of action on the day we were there, but things do break.

Reviewed by
Arthur S

From Carshalton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

June 2014
The room was fine and clean. There was a party going on during the evening which made the bar rather busy and the food in the evening was not wonderful, pricy for what it was. The breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
S V

From Bridport, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing
Good value relaxing weekend break...

Reviewed by
Julie M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Me and my wife stayed here for two nights our room were nice and clean as was the hotel, the staff were friendly and always willing to help you. We had breakfast each morning and enjoyed the lay out of the buffet very much there was plenty of food and a also had a great choice, the hotel is set in the country side and had plenty of parking spaces available and was not too far the M4. We would stay here again.

Reviewed by
A Newbury

From Chepstow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great room and service but poor food!
Excellent accommodation with helpful staff but problem with food - starters cold, lamb main course some of the worst hotel food I've ever had.

Reviewed by
david p

From Biggleswade, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value!
Stayed here on the weekend on the dinner, bed and breakfast package. The hotel staff are lovely and friendly. The food was very good! Will definitely go back .

Reviewed by
Joanne W

From Swindon, United Arab Emirates
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

From the moment of arrival staff were friendly and accommodating. Very spacious clean and comfortable room. Food was most excellent. Even our dog was made to feel welcome.

Reviewed by
B Twinn

From Lewes, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Somewhat underwhelmed
I travelled to Swindon for business purposes, staying overnight I was attracted to the Alexandra hotel by the reviews on trip advisor. The cost of the room was reasonable, but I paid more for dinner and pack lunch.. As I knew I wouldn't eat much at work otherwise.
The good: clean room, exceptionally friendly staff. Who couldn't do enough for me. Decor in the room was dark, but up to date with a desk to work; which I used.
The not so good: broken tap in the bathroom, shower that changed temperature ranging from freezing to scolding hot about 5 times per shower, un-usably slow broadband connection speed and WiFi. Remotely unable to use my mobile network "3", pool jacuzzi not working the night I stayed... Packed lunch- that's a story.. Waited 20 minutes FDOT two pieces of white bread, a couple of flakes of tuna in lots of mayonnaise, stale tortilla chips and a drink.. Appetising for a hard days work.. It was binned.
Yes, I know people will say, these are minor issues... Maybe they are.. But for a 4 star hotel? Although I was impressed by the decor and the ambiance, with the problems I faced to the quality of the actual product: room and shower, the pool and jacuzzi and packed lunch I paid extra for, it feels more like style over substance. Please rectify room 220!

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stop over
Fabulous absolutely fabulous, is the best way to describe Alexandra House.
An ideal retreat with fantastic facilities, wonder how we have not stumbled on this before.
The only draw back for me was the 15 pounds breakfast - which because there was three of us and a child we had to miss and frequent another establishment along the M4 - also the TV in the bedrooms didn't have many channels - even Premier Inn has sky news, come on!
On the whole a wonderful place to stay - weddings would be a dream!!!!!

Reviewed by
susan middleton

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next