No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Corner House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Park Street , Taunton, TA1 4DQ
We call our bedrooms here at The Corner House budget boutique.
Not only are they tremendous value for money but we asked you what you wanted from a bedroom in the heart of this wonderful county town of Taunton; A good nights sleep, A comfortable bed, A decent modern bathroom, an excellent television system and security - that's what we offer!

All bedrooms are unique and they all have their own bathroom with free Caroline Henry toiletries. Other facilities include flat-screen TVs, stocked minibars, tea/coffee and free water and milk.

The Wine and Sausage Restaurant specialises in traditional British food and we also have a wine shop in the restaurant. All wines are handpicked from around the world and we can offer you tasting session to enjoy before your evening meal.
A room service option is also available within the hotel.

FREE Wifi is available throughout the hotel and FREE public parking is also available (no reservation needed).
Breakfast can be added at the booking stage to any room only rates for £10.00 per person.
Picture of The Corner House Hotel, Taunton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 149 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for to crash for a night
Terribly dirty! Even towels are dirty. Don't have proper keys for the room so you have to actually get receptionist to let you into your room every time you leave. There was couple who moved out of there just because of how dirty it was. Needs some refurbishment for sure - they say they going to start some next winter

Reviewed by
Angelina K

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed the break
Staff are very good here especially Andy the Deputy Manager and Mary behind the bar. The Key card entry system was down and all the staff where up and down the stairs opening the guest doors all with a smile all day long. The rooms are quality and beds are comfy. Breakfast you have a big choice and they happily change your order if there is a certain way like something. Can't wait to go back next year

Reviewed by
Frank F

From Grangemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay again
A quirky but decent hotel, even having its own wine shop. The staff were great, although when we stayed the door cards weren't working and so we needed to be shown to our room each time. Not their fault, just a computer glitch.
The room was clean and comfortable but surprisingly small. I imagine some are normal size.
We can't comment on the food as it was room-only. I would certainly consider staying again.

Reviewed by
Dominic J

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy, wifi kept crashing. Would not stay again.

Reviewed by
Dermott S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
Carpets could do with a clean and walls a lick of paint, but otherwise excellent. Good value and friendly with an attractive bar and dining area and very nice breakfast.

Reviewed by
Mike Bottomley

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Key card machine wasn't working. They said that it could not be repaired for a week.
The room was dangerous as far as I was concerened. Step into bathroom very small but couldn't be seen, expecially at dusk. Room badly designed. Bed right against window wall. This meant you had to scabble across bed to get to one side of it. Not good at 66 years of age, even though I am reasonable fit. Several flight of stairs to get to room. If the Ironing board and iron were removed. Wardrobe could have been put on that wall with dressing table/tea making facilities and the bed could then be moved along making access better. Our room was very noisy, it was over what appeared to be the kitchen area and an alley where clients/staff (not sure which) would go for a "fag" and of course much laughter and noise occurred. Not a problem but when you have just driven 700 miles up France and across from the Tunnel, not good for very very tired people. We were attending my sister funeral and needed to be in Taunton to take my brother to same and return to Taunton afterwards. I could have done without having to find a member of staff everytime I needed to access my room, however, the staff were very good. Polite even under stress. Breakfast wasn't earlier enough for us as we needed to be away from the hotel at 7 on both days and Breakfast didn't start until 6.30 and the hot breakfast not until 7 which was too late. I am sure that for business guests it would be more convient to have breakfast commencing at 6am with cooked commencing no later than 6.30. I would not stay at this hotel again

Reviewed by
M Ward

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very impressed. ...
This hotel was everything and more we could of asked for I was very impressed with the whole stay, staff were very welcoming and always on hand to answer questions, the room was clean and fresh havingvthe fresh milk for a nice cuppa after are 5 hour journey was a god send, the restraunts was lovely...I will definitely recommend this hotrl to friends and family

Reviewed by
s Church

From Dereham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

corner house hotel
stayed in room 47 could do with decorating ..entrance to annex - would be nice with new paint and air fresheners to freshen up. food ok little on the expensive side ..bigger portions

Reviewed by
michelle r

From Driffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy and tired
The hotel looks great from the outside and if you get the right room it's an OK place to stay, but I had a room at the front and ended up asking to be moved because the traffic outside was so noisy. The food is good (I personally don't like wooden platters though) and the staff friendly and generally helpful, although it took two days to get moved. The hotel is a bit tired and shabby, so could do with new carpet and a lick of paint. Oh . . . and double glazing!

Reviewed by
L Snelgrove

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

reasonable room for an excellent price

Reviewed by
kate smith

From Okehampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next