No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Pratts Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
4-8 South Parade , Bath, BA2 4AB
Bath - one of the few places worldwide to be awarded the 'World Heritage City' accolade - has been host to visitors for 2000 years...Being located in the city centre, Pratt's Hotel is within walking distance of all the attractions.With its famous Roman Baths, Abbey and Classic Georgian architecture, such as the famous Royal Crescent, this spa city is a natural tourist attraction.It is a city best explored on foot, having four distinct quarters, the lively city centre, dominated by the Abbey and Pump Room The Upper Town, with its superb architecture and museums Kingsmead, home of Bath's theatres, cinemas and many restaurants and Bathwick, a tranquil area by the river.Street entertainers are a familiar sight in the city centre, jugglers, mime artists, musicians, even trick cyclists adorn the pedestrianised walkways.The hotel has been part of the city's heritage for more than two centuries itself, hosting such guests as Sir Walter Scott and Dame Peggy Ashcroft, and has a comfortable traditional elegance and style.Extensive pay & display car parking space is opposite the hotel, so motorists can drive to the surrounding tourist attractions such as Longleat House and Wildlife Park, Wookey Hole Caves, the mythical Glastonbury, Cheddar Gorge, Stonehenge and the Cotswolds.
Picture of Pratts Hotel, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 108 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay away
The staff were very helpful and friendly and breakfast was OK. The staff deserve a better hotel.
The hotel is very much past its best; it needs a referb top to bottom. The decor made me think I was staying in a very poor rest home for the elderly.
During my stay, I needed to send a couple of urgent emails. Whilst my laptop did connect to their wireless network, their network did not seem to connect to the internet.
I booked in a hurry and believed it was a 3 star. I was so wrong!
All in all, I was very disappointed.

Reviewed by
M Gordon

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Location and Venue
Excellent central location. Very helpful and friendly staff. A bit quirky and dated decor but that just adds to it's character. Thoroughly recommend this hotel for two or three nights. We will definitely go again this year... We were a little worried about some of the reviews but they proved largely unfounded.

Reviewed by
Jonathan Freed

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only if you are desperate
Unless you are there with friends and don't care where you stay so long there is a bed and a toilet, this is not a top choice hotel. On the upside staff were fantastic!

Reviewed by
m m

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location and Staff were friendly and responsive but decor needs sorting
Needed a central location and that is good. Staff were great. Breakfast good if you want full English. Décor very much in need of a change. Very old fashioned, creaking floors etc. A bit pricey because of that.

Reviewed by
J Cave

From Brecon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth the stars!!!
Not sure how stars are really given to hotels these days but 3 stars for this hotel was certainly a real long shot. Maybe you can buy stars these days!!! Joking aside. It was a very poorly maintained hotel. Paintwork all battered, chipped flaming off at just about every corner. There were cobwebs on the lamp shades ( on a high up ceiling light I can accept a little more but on lamps that are at eye level not acceptable at all). The bed linen had been cleaned but equally had seen better days probably some 10 years earlier. The bathroom was disgusting. Just awfully maintained, dirt behind all the fittings and around the bath. Only good point was the shower, not a nice shower, but powerful enough. Lastly, no a/c. Which in winter is fine, but in summer when it's a little warm (only 19 deg when I was there) with the window open you are totally and utterly battered by the shrill night time singing of hundreds of seagulls and then woken up at 4am by their dawn chorus. Not a pleasant night at all.

Reviewed by
Neil A

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired but clean, convenient and welcoming
This is the second year in a row I have stayed a night at this Hotel. The hotel is tired and could do with a much needed makeover. However on both occasions the room has been clean and the staff could not be more welcoming or accommodating. The big attraction of this Hotel is it's proximity both to the station and to the centre of town: a great location. I would say though that on this visit staying in a first floor room at the front of the hotel it was a little noisy and the clock chimes in the morning did disturb my sleep somewhat - we had to have the windows open as the room was warm and the fan that we requested did not work and another fan never materialised. The room we had last year in the eaves was a little quieter although the room more stuffy (we had a working fan on this occasion) and the shower did not really shower so much as trickle! These snags aside however were more than made up for by the cleanliness of the hotel and its great location. I would stay again.

Reviewed by
Janette C

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Flying birds and good breakfast
Good: The breakfast is unlimited, and there is a wide choice. The location of the hotel is great.
Negative: Windows are not double glazed, so can constantly hear seagulls and general outside noise, which will wake you up! (One guest mentioned that a seagull actually flew into his room one morning). The rooms are hotter than outside, and there is no air con, so you should leave the windows open - but not wide open to allow birds to fly in! Floor boards are also noisy throughout.

Reviewed by
Frederic S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

little disappointed, the photo promised great things, but did not deliver. The hotel was shabby and well used, a leak in the bathroom ceiling leaving a stream of dirty water in the bath was left unattended by cleaning staff. The staff however were friendly and helpful, a fabulous location.

Reviewed by
jacky barrow

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
We stayed one night with an infant and the customer service at this hotel was amazing. They wanted to make sure my child had a cot and provided us with a fan since it was hot in the room and not much of a breeze was coming in. Great place to stay and it's in the middle of everything. A short walk to the Abbey and the Baths. A lot of great restaurants are within walking distance.

Reviewed by
Christopher H

From USA
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Size Room
I rang Pratts Hotel prior to arrival to ask about parking and was told told that there was a car park opposite the hotel. I was also told that my request for a quiet room had been arranged but due to the location of the room (at the back of the hotel and the outlook wasn't great) I may wish to view another room on arrival. On arrival I was given keys to 2 rooms to decide which room I prefered. The quiet room was as described - the 2nd room was at the side of the hotel about FOUR times larger - dressing room, large bathroom and very large bedroom with lounge area (similar in size to junior suites of other hotels we've stayed at) - FANTASTIC. The decor isn't great but the Hotel has just been taken over by new owners and a referbishment is planned. Fantastic location and staff, we didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food, ( we prefer to explore the local
restaurants and pubs - and there's alot in Bath!) but otherwise we had a fantastic stay at Pratts and would go back again.


Reviewed by
Richard J

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next