No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Academy

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
17-21 Gower Street , London, WC1E 6HG
Located just off Oxford Street, The Academy is located in a peaceful yet central location in leafy Bloomsbury. A traditional townhouse hotel, originally built in 1776 with history, charm and character; each guestroom is tastefully decorated, and features iPod docking stations and flat screen TV's, for your entertainment.

Enjoy Full English or Continental breakfasts in our dining room – and dinner in one of the many fantastic restaurants nearby. During summer, take advantage of our two scenic, walled gardens or during colder days, relax in the peaceful, heated conservatory. Alternatively, in keeping with the area’s literary history, while away the hours in our small library before enjoying a drink in the sumptuous lounge.

Take advantage of The Academy's ideal location – just 10 minutes’ walk from Covent Garden’s boutique shops, The West End’s notorious theatres and Soho’s bustling nightlife. We are a short walk to the tube stations of Goodge Street (Northern Line), or Tottenham Court Road (Central Line). For the Eurostar, London St Pancras is just a 5 minute taxi ride or 15 minutes’ walk for the Eurostar is just a 5 minute taxi ride or a 15 minute walk. The Academy provides easy access to all London’s major Airports.

The Academy is a Grade II listed building (and, as such, does not have an elevator - all rooms are only accessible by stairs!). All guests receive a 50% discount on parking at Bloomsbury Square Car Park.
Picture of The Academy, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 141 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not run of the mill!
The hotel was easy to get to from Euston Station, yet close to Central London. It was very comfortable with everything provided, including nice touches such as fresh apples. The room had plenty of character and was well appointed. Breakfast was very good too. The best thing about it was that it felt more like a house than a hotel.

Reviewed by
Louise W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, friendly stay in Bloomsbury
Really nice area, and great to be able to stay in a comfortable, clean and friendly hotel for a reasonable price. I am in no doubt I will use this hotel next time I need to stay in central London.

Reviewed by
Liam H

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable, beautifully decorated and courtyard garden was lovely. Well situated for centre
The staff were very helpful and accommodating. The hotel had a luxurious feel due to the period features and this was not reflected in the price of the suite. The only main issue which we encountered was that the room was advertised as being suitable for a family of 4. the only problem was that the 2nd bed was a sofa bed and 2 single beds would've been better for 2 children. The springs in the mattress could be felt and there wasn't enough room for our 2 childen.

Reviewed by
J Bell

From Egremont, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff
Very friendly staff

Reviewed by
Caroline Dear

From NOTTINGHAM, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location Location
For my needs this was fantastic as only 300yards from my work visit and really handy for Restaurants and bars around Tottenham Ct Rd and Bloomsbury. I had no issue with the fifth floor room and no lift but some might struggle and would need to ensure a room lower down. Nice feel to the place, quiet quality. Thank you, I shall be returning.
(got it at a discounted rate and would have considered the full price too high).

Reviewed by
Peter R

From Birkenhead, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

holiday
Was nice for weekend away. Bed nice and comfortable.shame about breakfast

Reviewed by
Stephen j

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best little London hotel I've stayed in...
A pleasant single room, a gorgeous breakfast, nice surroundings and lovely decor ... I will be back.

Reviewed by
Jackie B

From Towcester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No lift for downstairs
Nice service, nice rooms , nice locations for shopping, but why no lift for upstairs

Reviewed by
Xiangxia K

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ademy means higher learning and i could find nothing but high standards here.
i had stayed here some time ago,and it was excellent then and is more so now.the reception staff were excellent and dealt with my booking very quickly as i had arrived late for a dinner engagment.in my room in less than 10 mins.porters very good.room very clean and spacious.will stay again.

Reviewed by
J A

From WEST YORKSHIRE, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming Hotel
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Academy.
The appearance of Hotel outside was very pleasant and this trend continued inside the building.
My room was spacious and comfortable. The complementary drinks and toileteries were of a high quality. I had an excellent sleep on a comfortable mattress.
Each member of staff treated me with courtsey and readily supplied any information I required.

Reviewed by
D Kennedy

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next