No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Waverley Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
43 Princes Street , Edinburgh, EH2 2BY
The Old Waverley is a landmark building located in the heart of Edinburgh's vibrant city centre. The Hotel is centrally located on the famous Princes Street, overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott monument and with views across to Edinburgh Castle.

Of all the hotels in Edinburgh, the Old Waverley is one of the best located, with the Waverley train station, Edinburgh bus terminal and the sightseeing tours departure point just 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Some of Edinburgh's finest shops are situated on Princes Street, such as Jenners. All the major attractions - Theatres, Museums, Art Galleries and Edinburgh Castle - are within easy distance

The hotel offers excellent value for money and the highest standards of customer service. Many of the en-suite bedrooms offer spectacular views of Edinburgh Castle. Both Cranstons Restaurant and the Abbotsford Lounge Bar are light and airy with superb views over Princes Street Gardens and of Edinburgh Castle. Both offer excellent cuisine and service.

The hotel reserves the right to pre authorise (or charge if using maestro card) the credit card used to guarantee the reservation 24 hours prior to arrival.

THE OLD WAVERLEY HOTEL IS COMPLETELY NON SMOKING.
Picture of Old Waverley Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 262 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Old Waverley hotel, Edinburgh, Scotland.
I requested three rooms close to each other as I was travelling with my sister and mother aged 81 years and I confirmed my request by telephone directly with the hotel prior to arrival. When booking in we were given three rooms on 6th floor. My mother does not use a lift and I had to be quite forceful in acquiring 3 rooms near each other, eventually on 2nd floor. The receptionist had no knowledge re opening time of the shop Jenners and it was difficult booking a table in their restaurant for that evening. On entering the hotel one has to negotiate several stairs to reach the reception on the first floor as there is no lift. This is fine for relatively fit and healthy people but proved problematic for my mother. Whilst the rooms were fine, due to the age of the building, the windows are old and one can feel quite a cold draught when sitting in the room on the chair.
The service was extremely slow in the restaurant that evening and although we had booked a table at reception earlier there was confusion when we went to the restaurant as we were told we had no booking. There were not many covers but only one waitress.
The reception area has a great draught when one is sitting on the settee.
I placed two cases in the secure cupboard and on leaving there was no help to carry the cases downstairs which I had been promised earlier when I was checking out.
A shame that hotel staff were not more competent, helpful, well informed and pleasant and friendly towards a paying customer.
All in all a disappointing experience.

Reviewed by
C Jenner

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and convenient
Situated on Princes Street this hotel is very convenient. The hotel probably needs a little updating, but this did not detract from the comfort. The room we had looked directly over Princes Street but secondary glazing ensures there is very little disturbance to sleep. Needs are large and comfy. Reception staff were efficient and friendly. Wide choice of cooked breakfast which was refreshed regularly and quickly. Staff in restaurant were very efficient, serving and clearing quickly and they all smiled, which was appreciated. Reception is on the 1st floor so maybe not suitable for anyone with a mobility problem as there does not appear to be a lift from the ground floor.

Reviewed by
Denise B

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great accomodation in superb location
Booked this hotel for a six nations rugby visit: the room of two single beds was large, came with a seating area over looking Princes St and the Castle and was a 2minutes walk from taxis, the train station and some of the finest pubs in Edinburgh. Some noise from Princes ST, but to be accepted considering proximity to road. Windows were only single glazed on one window but thought this was a superb hotel-would definitely return as standard far exceeded expectations for the price paid.

Reviewed by
James M

From Llanelli, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

At the hub..
Close & Central 2 most off city attractions.

Reviewed by
G Coull

From Berwick upon Tweed, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old Waverley Hotel
This hotel is in a very central location and easy to access from Waverley station. Being so central however means that you hear all the sounds of this lively city. Traffic, late night revelry and construction work will be part of the soundtrack in this hotel. With original single glazed windows this is unmuffled and if a quiet night comfortable night is what you seek and not a cheap room this may not be the hotel for you. The bed was a standard double and not the most comfortable but the room was en-suite with a castle view. Breakfast was included if nothing to write home about. This is very much a hotel where you need know what your priorities are, if it's a cheap room right by the station offering B&B your after then the Old Waverley is great but if your after a quiet relaxed luxurious stay your after then I'd look elsewhere.

Reviewed by
M Bradley

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old Waverley Friendly and Great Location
Excellent clean and well finished rooms. The view from the bar area and breakfast room was perfect. Location could not be better for shoppers, tourists and diners. Would stay there again without fail.

Reviewed by
Sarah K

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average hotel-nothing special
This hotel is very average for a three star hotel. It needs an update, especially by way of entrance and the tiny lift. Our room was small but very clean. The bathroom was fine with a brilliant shower so no worries there. Shame for a special occasion all we got as a view for three days was an air shaft and pipes. The noise of cleaners early in morning was annoying as was the building work and loud tv by another guest above us all night. I only ever saw one staff smile, the rest were surly and acted as though they were doing us a favour serving us. Didn't like giving our card for a deposit for key, thought that was rude. We won't be back.

Reviewed by
M Roscoe

From Mold, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value hotel
I enjoyed my stay, the breakfast, bedroom & the staff were good.

Reviewed by
T Corrigan

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
Have stayed in The Old Waverley a few times, it's great value for money especially for a Hotel bang in the middle of Princes Street so convenient, across the road from Railway station a short walk over Waverley Bridge climb the 99 steps and you are up on to the Royal Mile. Loads of Museums and all with free entry. St. Giles Cathedral worth a visit.

Reviewed by
C Yuille

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very clean and tidy but the only complaint was the size of the bathroom window which had no curtain or blinds attached which made it very cold when having a shower or using the toilet, and last week was a very cold week in Edinburgh. Otherwise no complaint about anything else. Good location and easy to locate from the train station. Reception staff very polite and helping.

Reviewed by
R White

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next