No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Waverley Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
43 Princes Street , Edinburgh, EH2 2BY
The Old Waverley is a landmark building located in the heart of Edinburgh's vibrant city centre. The Hotel is centrally located on the famous Princes Street, overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott monument and with views across to Edinburgh Castle.

Of all the hotels in Edinburgh, the Old Waverley is one of the best located, with the Waverley train station, Edinburgh bus terminal and the sightseeing tours departure point just 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Some of Edinburgh's finest shops are situated on Princes Street, such as Jenners. All the major attractions - Theatres, Museums, Art Galleries and Edinburgh Castle - are within easy distance

The hotel offers excellent value for money and the highest standards of customer service. Many of the en-suite bedrooms offer spectacular views of Edinburgh Castle. Both Cranstons Restaurant and the Abbotsford Lounge Bar are light and airy with superb views over Princes Street Gardens and of Edinburgh Castle. Both offer excellent cuisine and service.

The hotel reserves the right to pre authorise (or charge if using maestro card) the credit card used to guarantee the reservation 24 hours prior to arrival.

THE OLD WAVERLEY HOTEL IS COMPLETELY NON SMOKING.
Picture of Old Waverley Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 269 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Xmas in Edinburgh
Great stay, nice and central, traditional city centre hotel.
Great view from room and friendly staff.
Recommended

Reviewed by
A Angus

From Ellon, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
For a 3 star hotel I was surprised at the quality of the accommodation. Fantastic value for money and I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

Reviewed by
Maxine Smith

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value, if a little dated here and there
For £65/night for a double room right on Princes St, this is pretty decent value. The room was compact but fine, and though the club night nearby provided quite audible accompaniment until midnight, I was perfectly happy. The basics are all covered well - a comfy bed, lots of sockets, surprisingly spacious bathroom, all the hotel bits and pieces you need, with a solid breakfast. It doesn't feel like a modern hotel, and the carpets in the common areas could do with a spruce up, but in all the important aspects it's a great little hotel.

Reviewed by
S Gray

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent Stay
Everything was adequate, very comfortable bed and friendly staff. Only slight complaint i have is for a hotel of this standing there was no complimentary toothbrush available on request at the front desk.

Reviewed by
Stephen Connolly

From Uphall, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old Waverley
Our one night stay followed a recommendation from a family member , we were very disappointed . We paid up grade room to a suite , which consisted of king size and single bed , ( a family room ) unfortunately there are building works on going till after 6pm , followed by disco noise till approx 3 and building starting again at 8am . Very disappointed . We did complain and upgrade money was refunded , but we would not stay again . Most of staff very attentive and pleasant , it's a shame staff could not have been honest about building when asked on the first evening we may have stayed elsewhere.

Reviewed by
Alison L

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old Waverley Hotel
Christmas break.

Reviewed by
jamie S

From Linlithgow, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

old waverley stay
Very pleasant hotel ideally situated for Edinburgh city centre

Reviewed by
Alan Charles

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
I stayed for one night with my partner and it was lovely. Would absolutely stay here again.

Reviewed by
L Combe

From Bo'ness, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old Waverley Hotel
Booked a room for 3 adults. There were 3 single beds which were very comfortable. Room was spotless, as was the bathroom. Had tea& coffee making facilities available. We had sandwiches and tea in the afternoon which were excellent value for the money.Had a drink in the bar at night after we had been to see Wicked. General ambience of the hotel was great, as were all the staff.
Breakfast was plentiful with a good selection available. My wife and sister wanted poached eggs and these were provided-done to a t!! Will certainly use hotel again

Reviewed by
R Campbell

From Alloa, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 616
Great hotel, central position, close to station and attractions. Room 616 is on the sixth floor, accessed by the lift, which at busy times can result in a longish wait. Room 616 is a great room, compact with ample facilities. It does have two 'porthole' windows, which at the time, the opening light did not close properly on both of them. Sadly, this resulted in the wind howling causing sleep disturbance, it also meant that despite both being double glazed every noise from the street could be heard quite clearly. The ill fitting window above the bed also caused a draught of air to chill the room and the bed occupant, along with moving the curtain pelmet. The window above the table also let a cold draught into the room. Despite mentioning the problem twice to reception, the response each time was 'I'll mention it to maintenance', up to leaving nothing had been done to rectify the situation, and no recompense was mentioned.

Reviewed by
R H

From England
Who stayed in December 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next