No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Sun Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Coate , , , Swindon, SN3 6AA
The Sun inn has a large garden and inviting playground, we'd like to feel we offer the ideal watering hole for parents with young children, doubly so because we're a stone's throw from Coate Water Country Park, much loved by walkers, boaters and fishermen alike. The Sun Inn is a real family favourite - especially in the summer. Parents can sit back and relax while the children run around on our large lawn, or entertain themselves on the slide and swings. Our thatched summer house is also perfect when the sun's at its brightest and you'd prefer to sit in the shade. Swindon has its origin as a small market town, used mainly for barter trade until the mid-1800s. The original Swindon is now known as Old Town. Take time to wander through its quiet courtyards and alleyways or enjoy a vibrant mix of traditional shops and pubs alongside modern outlets and stylish cafes and bars. Use our website to find out more about tourist information in Swindon. Also situated 3miles from steam and swindon outlet shopping village. Although the new rooms we offer are seperate from the pub they still feel very much a part of it as they sit in our large garden. Built to a very high standard we offer a range of rooms to suit all types including doubles, large luxury with roll top bath and walk in shower, twin or adjoining rooms and 1 room that has wheel chair access and bathroom suited as well. Please be aware that the hotel is set in the large family garden of the pub and can be noisy until late at night on a hot day. Breakfast is included in the price and is served from 7-10.30 am Monday - Friday amd 8am-10.30am Saturday and Sunday PLEASE BE AWARE OF LIVE MUSIC IN THE GARDEN ON THE 1ST SUNDAY OF EVERY MONTH IN THE SUMMER UNTIL 8.30PM OUTDOOR DISCO IN THE GARDEN ON 24TH AUGUST UNTIL 8PM Now as a guest at The Sun Inn you can use the gym and pool facilities at the Holiday Inn opposite
Picture of The Sun Inn, Swindon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

so convenient
pleasantly surprised by the quality, also the decor, an exceptional room, very comfortable
sincere thanks to arkells!!
will book again
mr and mrs simpkins
bude
cornwall

Reviewed by
a simpkins

From bude, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great overnight stay at the Star inn
Bedroom with en-suite exceeded our expectations.It was very new very modern and spotlessly clean.
It was on the ground floor and our door opened up onto a short path which led to the lovely beer garden.
We ate fish and chips in the bar in the evening which was very enjoyable and breakfast in the morning could not be faulted.We would happily return if in the area again.

Reviewed by
Russell Price

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The rooms are spotless tastefully decorated ver spacious no problem to recommend

Reviewed by
D Butler

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Walking the Ridgeway
We spent 4 nights at the Sun Inn whilst walking The Ridgeway. The accommodation was excellent and the staff were extremely helpful. The food was so good and a varied menu that we did not eat anywhere else!

Reviewed by
Hilary F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only stayed for one night for a golf weekend
The staff are great .
Very good room
You would not be disappointed if you stay here .

Reviewed by
K Down

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gets very busy in the Summer
As a result service slows down. There was a 45 minute wait for dinner resulting in going elsewhere. Had to wait to check in as the staff were occupied with the number of people at the bar. Parking was also difficult though to the numbers again. Hence be aware.
Great rooms, but floor a bit too dusty.

Reviewed by
M Firdaus

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stunning room and excellent value for money
new build accommodation adjacent to the pub. room was fantastic with french doors opening to beer garden below. lovely view from room too. room decorated to a high standard with good sized bed and a spacious well appointed bathroom. good to see a well stocked gift basket of tea, coffe, hot chocolate and.biscuits too. no problem with noise either as the pub much quieter after 9 on the sunday I stayed. breakfast next morning was good but not amazing but for £40 for the room and breakfast I have no complaints and left very happy. well recommended and would certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
K McKechnie

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nicely furnished and decorated to a high standard. The twin room we stayed in would benefit either from bedside lamps or the facility to have just one spot lamp switched on rather than both at once, and a mirror positioned close enough to a socket to use when drying your hair. The staff were very pleasant and friendly and breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
P Dawson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sunny Swindon!!
Lovely place to stay, room was spotless and well decorated. Found out it was only a year or two old.
Room we booked was on first floor, which was a bit difficult for my partner who has difficulty walking.
Asked if there was a ground floor room available and the manager couldn't have been more helpful, even moved our cases for us. Food was first class, never had a bad meal, and the breakfasts were excellent and locally sourced. All the staff were friendly and most helpful. Would recommend this establishment to everyone. Would definitely stay again if in Swindon.

Reviewed by
Steven Walker

From Carshalton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb

Reviewed by
simon c

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next