You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Angel Hotel


47 High Street, ,, Royal Wotton Bassett, SN4 7AQ

Price From 96.47 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (8)

63% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Alex M

  • September 2016

Excellent value for money

Hotel was excellent value for money, I have paid more for hotel rooms in a far worse location and nowhere near a nice

  • John W

  • August 2016

Angel Wootton Basset

Helpful and Friendly staff, made you feel welcome.

Room was clean and comfortable.

  • Brian S

  • June 2016

Mr aleksandr petrov

Would happily stay there again.

The only thing one must be aware of is that there is the garden area of the restaurant just outside the rooms so you will may have some noise but for me that wasn't a problem. The room was really lovely. A second armchair would have been nice as it's a double room. All round good and stay and staff were brilliant.

  • Richard W

  • May 2016

Handy for the local nightclub!

Stayed for one night and never again.

The rooms are brand new, built in a courtyard behind the pub. There is open access to this area from the street and, consequently, we had half of Wootton Bassetts yob culture outside the window arguing about which "bitch" did what to which other "bitch". That was compounded by the local pub/nightclub which apparently has a 4am licence (unfortunately the Angel only reveals that when you complain about being kept awake until the early hours by the music). The room was unbearably hot despite the heating being switched off and, because of the noise, we couldn't have the window open.

Food in the restaurant is less than average for quality and more than average for price. I ordered steak and chips and they forgot the chips. Pretty poor all round.

Clearly the noise issue is one caused by ludicrous council licensing and is outside of the control of the management of The Angel, but I will never be staying there again. Not what I was expecting in ROYAL Wootton Bassett!

  • John Oliver

  • April 2016

The Angel Hotel

Comfortable and welcoming accommodation

  • Manny B

  • July 2015

Truthful evaluation

The hotel is situated in the centre of Royal Wootton Bassett, owned by Arkells breweries.

serve excellent real ale, bar staff are very welcoming and friendly.

My room was spacious and had everything you need, quiet, comfortable bed, I had a good nights sleep. However, the cleaner is not carrying out a thorough clean. Weeks of dust gathering on all fittings, towel rail, toilet seat if lifted clearly see urine stains and crud building up near the seat hinging. Shower base has build up of dirt/mould. Breakfast staff very pleasant however, I opted for a full English and it arrived within a fe minutes. Good portion but poorly presented, egg was dry and leathery, sausages dry obviously cooked a while ago and left to dry up.

  • Mike B

  • March 2015

The Angel Hotel


  • J Woolner

  • December 2014

An interesting weekend!

Reception desk in the bar and not manned unless someone spots you waiting.

On arrival informed there is no car park (not on website) so had to find space in public car park and then on the high street. Rooms are in a purpose built Annex - well built and to a good standard but the yard between the hotel and the rooms littered with cigarette ends and blocked drains - not good. The room was not serviced on the Sunday - 'do it yourself' was the order of the day - 'we don't have rooms serviced on a Sunday - didn't anyone tell you?' Again not on the website. The room was comfortable but only one easy chair, bathroom good. No evening food supplied on Sundays.........'you could go to one of the town's take aways'

The food we did have in the hotel - Saturday dinner and breakfasts was good. We had the feeling the Angel is set up for single business people during the weekdays and so weekend service is poor. They need to do something about blocked drains outside!!