Reviews - The Angel Hotel


The Angel Hotel, 47 High Street,, Royal Wotton Bassett, SN4 7AQ

Price From 162.94 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (11)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Manny B

  • July 2015

Truthful evaluation

The hotel is situated in the centre of Royal Wootton Bassett, owned by Arkells breweries.

serve excellent real ale, bar staff are very welcoming and friendly.

My room was spacious and had everything you need, quiet, comfortable bed, I had a good nights sleep. However, the cleaner is not carrying out a thorough clean. Weeks of dust gathering on all fittings, towel rail, toilet seat if lifted clearly see urine stains and crud building up near the seat hinging. Shower base has build up of dirt/mould. Breakfast staff very pleasant however, I opted for a full English and it arrived within a fe minutes. Good portion but poorly presented, egg was dry and leathery, sausages dry obviously cooked a while ago and left to dry up.

  • Mike B

  • March 2015

The Angel Hotel


  • J Woolner

  • December 2014

An interesting weekend!

Reception desk in the bar and not manned unless someone spots you waiting.

On arrival informed there is no car park (not on website) so had to find space in public car park and then on the high street. Rooms are in a purpose built Annex - well built and to a good standard but the yard between the hotel and the rooms littered with cigarette ends and blocked drains - not good. The room was not serviced on the Sunday - 'do it yourself' was the order of the day - 'we don't have rooms serviced on a Sunday - didn't anyone tell you?' Again not on the website. The room was comfortable but only one easy chair, bathroom good. No evening food supplied on Sundays.........'you could go to one of the town's take aways'

The food we did have in the hotel - Saturday dinner and breakfasts was good. We had the feeling the Angel is set up for single business people during the weekdays and so weekend service is poor. They need to do something about blocked drains outside!!

  • Jenny B

  • October 2014

The Angel - not quite heaven on earth .... but nearly!

Lovely old coaching inn, in a beautiful Wiltshire town.

Clean & well equipped rooms (courtyard rooms avoid the noise of the bar). Restaurant is small but the food was excellent - try the burger with real chips. Wine and drinks were not cheap but were served with enthusiasm by very friendly & welcoming staff. We are moving into the area and as part of the process of house hunting, will have no hesitation in booking here again.

  • Chris Lee

  • September 2014

Steaks to Die for

The food, especially the steaks were excellent together with a fine selection of beers.

The room was very well appointed and quiet being in the annex to the rear. Only drawback was lack of secure parking.

  • Phil W

  • September 2014

Room good standard and comfortable.

Steaks are superb - brought some colleagues on one night who wholeheartedly agreed.

  • N Smith

  • September 2014

the angel wootton bassett

excellent value and high standard of accommodation...away from main pub building so fairly quiet.

saturday morning breakfast was lovely,staff v welcoming and generous with food and coffee. sunday the waitress was less friendly and no toast was brought for me,the breakfasts were smaller and the cleaners hoover could be heard in the next room.

a few minor cleaning omissions in room but overall very comfy and bed beautifully cosy

  • Paula S

  • August 2014

Excelled in every way!

The standard of this hotel really was second to none and I thought the stay was extremely good value for money.

Staff were all very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Both bulbs in my bedside lamps had blown and by the time I returned to my room after dinner, both were replaced and the lamps turned on. The steak I had for dinner, although quite pricey with all the extras added on for salad and potatoes, really was excellent. This was a functional business trip but I would certainly consider staying here for pleasure too.

  • laura w

  • August 2014

Much needed break

We were in need of a little escape and The Angel surpassed our expectations.

Warm, romantic, luxurious and everything we needed or wanted for a quite break as a couple. The food was beautiful, service exceptional and our room was ideally located in the courtyard. The hotel is a popular drinking and eating "Hub" so it got busy and quite noisy at times. Where our room was we weren't too close to it all so we could just relax and shit everything out.

  • Sharon Q

  • May 2014

Great Customer Service

We have now used this hotel on two separate occasions and have just booked the third.

The standard of the room, the fixtures and fittings, bath towels and bed linen etc is of a high standard and an all round great value place to stay. Toilet and shower cubicles have always been clean and fresh and no hair in the plug holes nor scaling and stains in the toilet pan ( My pet hate - so hats off to the housekeepers and their management who have provided them with a good de scaling product and time enough to do a good job )

The staff have always been very helpful and the choice of breakfast and standard of cooking also very good and well presented.