No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Bath Arms Hotel

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
1, Palmer Street , Frome, BA11 1DS
Welcome to The Old Bath Arms in Frome, Somerset.

And now this beautiful 18th Century established building has 5000 square feet features some very unique offering inside its walls offers four superb Brand New Bedrooms!

Visit us and enjoy the fine company, drinks and conversation. Come in to meet me, Richard, or one of our fabulous hard working team; you won't be disappointed!

The Old Bath Arms, which we opened under new management in June 2012 has been refurbished and now includes restaurant areas, function rooms, comfortable and inviting lounge and bar to meet with friends and enjoy a drink as well as an outside deck for those who wish to dine alfresco.

The dining experience is fresh, exciting and great value with a truly traditional pub feel.

The Tapas and Paella menu now brings a taste of the Mediterranean to The Old Bath Arms.

We have developed a food offering which fuses Tapas and Paella with Traditional Homemade Food and Black Rock Steaks.

Findlays Real Ale Bar also offers lighter meals with their famous Scotch eggs homemade! Sunday Roasts are very popular at this aged venue.

It’s the only Hotel and Bed and Breakfast of it sort that offers such a wide variety of services namely:

Gravity dispensed local ales from the cask real ales which are non-gas assisted.
A selection of 8 different Somerset ciders
Two Lounges
Tapas, Paella, Steaks, Traditional homemade Food, Sunday Roasts
Children’s Menu
OAP
A Fire Place
Outside Patio Area
One Minute walk to Frome Town Centre
An extensive wine list
60 sitter Restaurant also available for functions
A 33 Foot mural painted by 10 of Frome’s local artists
Local staff to assist and care for you during your stay
Open Mic Nights

A warm welcome awaits you. See you soon. Richard Findlay
Picture of The Old Bath Arms Hotel, Frome at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best breakfast ever!
Stayed a Saturday night, so it was very busy, hence noise levels were a bit high. But the service. And the food more than compensated!
Would just go and stay again just to have another meal. Quality was superb.

Reviewed by
Gary L

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A stay at the Inn
Great service , small room uncomfy bed and pillows , limited parking , noisy bars

Reviewed by
Paul N

From Ross on Wye, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok, I guess
Situated in the middle of Frome, no doubt handy for some travellers. However parking facilities not great. As others have mentioned the rooms are quirky, clean and the double beds at least were firm. My biggest complaint would be the odor from the kitchen, the whole place including my room smelt like a 'greasy spoon'. All my clothes smelt for days afterwards. On the plus, the food is all home made and the owners dependence on Brake Bros is minimal. We had more than one room and we did have an electrical issue in one of them. The owner was extremely apologetic and provided a small discount. So all ok in the end. For the money, I think there are better options.

Reviewed by
Jonathan H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A welcoming and very friendly staff.
We found this hotel very helpful and friendly when having to find a one night accommodation at short notice for myself, my wife and our adult daughter. We had one of the family rooms which could have slept even one more adult or 2 children and found it had more than many other hotels to offer in room facilities including a fridge with fresh milk and complimentary bottled water. A large breakfast menu was offered and we regreted only being able to stay one night! The only little problem was the limited parking on site, but even that was accommodated by staff when they realised I was disabled. There were no lifts in this very old and characterful building so at least 2 flights of stairs had to be negotiated. One up to rooms and a further one below ground level to the restaurant (It is built on the side of a hill.) Can't understand the poor reviews we read on Trip Advisor.

Reviewed by
Chris H

From Uckfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Okay but not a boutique hotel
I found the level of service was good, the offer wasn't quite up to its billing. The room was a good size and well kitted out but the finish was trying to be a boutique hotel but not quite making it. The drains were very smelly and this was quite off-putting. The room was very hot - probably as a result of our unusual British summer - and I was relieved that they'd provided a fan. The telly was stuck on BBC News Channel. Food was okay - I only ate breakfast.
Overall a comfortable stay.

Reviewed by
C Taylor

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, clean rooms
Although our over night stay was comfortable and breakfast excellent. It should be pointed out that this hotel is not suitable for the disabled (too many floors, steep narrow stair cases and no disabled facilities). Also no parking in surrounding area.

Reviewed by
Martin Harwood

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky pub hotel
Warm welcome and quality food. Building is on many levels and has limited parking. Hollywood themed room we stayed in overlooked patio area at rear which remained busy until late at night due to world cup. Room clean and tidy well furnished big tv but minimal sitting area. Shower was the only item that let room down (no bath). Must have only been 8.5kw with resulting poor shower of hot water. Restaurant food was also very good and varied. Large range of beers and ciders. Better suited to younger couples although family room available.

Reviewed by
Nicholas K

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Great place to stay all round, Shane and Michelle couldn't do more for us.
So nice we will be back in two weeks.
Andrew and Joanne

Reviewed by
Joanne Purchase

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was by far one of the loveliest B&Bs I've stayed in. My boyfriend is a very unsettled sleeper but with the memory foam mattress in the room I have never know him to sleep so peacefully. The breakfast was lovely. The fresh milk provided for the rooms instead of the little instant tubs i thought was a great touch. The surrounding area is beautiful. Unfortunately by the time we had decided we were hungry in the evening the restaurant was full but we went across the road where we had a number of places to choice from to eat. All in all great experience. Credit to the owners.

Reviewed by
Natalie T

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky but excellent
I stayed in the Safari room, lovely room, however no curtain up on the long thin window that had the landing light on all night, that didn't stop me from sleeping, however it may some. Very clean room, food was excellent, staff very attentive. Lucy was in particular very accommodating as I wanted to order food at 6pm for the next day, so that I could catch my train. They did not start serving until 6pm, but she made sure that my food was cooked, ready and on my table for 6.05pm. It was delicious.

Reviewed by
Sarah C

From , UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next