Reviews - The Old Bath Arms Hotel

4

1, Palmer Street, Frome, BA11 1DS

Price From 170.97 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (16)

88% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • L Thomas

  • May 2015

Great hotel!

My husband and I took our two young daughters 23 months and 7 months.

They had a clean cot ready on arrival in the room for us. It looked brand new, the room was clean, had all the necessities plus more. The woman who ran it was really nice and extremely helpful. The food was to die for and the breakfast (full English) was lovely and not greasy. They accommodated for our daughters very well. Even having CBeebies on the TV in the room lol. We stayed here to visit Longleat safari which was just around the corner. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel and we hope to stay here again in the future. 5*

  • Gary L

  • November 2014

Best breakfast ever!

Stayed a Saturday night, so it was very busy, hence noise levels were a bit high.

But the service. And the food more than compensated. Would just go and stay again just to have another meal. Quality was superb.

  • Paul N

  • November 2014

A stay at the Inn

Great service , small room uncomfy bed and pillows , limited parking , noisy bars

  • Jonathan H

  • October 2014

Ok, I guess

Situated in the middle of Frome, no doubt handy for some travellers.

However parking facilities not great. As others have mentioned the rooms are quirky, clean and the double beds at least were firm. My biggest complaint would be the odor from the kitchen, the whole place including my room smelt like a 'greasy spoon'. All my clothes smelt for days afterwards. On the plus, the food is all home made and the owners dependence on Brake Bros is minimal. We had more than one room and we did have an electrical issue in one of them. The owner was extremely apologetic and provided a small discount. So all ok in the end. For the money, I think there are better options.

  • Chris H

  • September 2014

A welcoming and very friendly staff.

We found this hotel very helpful and friendly when having to find a one night accommodation at short notice for myself, my wife and our adult daughter.

We had one of the family rooms which could have slept even one more adult or 2 children and found it had more than many other hotels to offer in room facilities including a fridge with fresh milk and complimentary bottled water. A large breakfast menu was offered and we regreted only being able to stay one night. The only little problem was the limited parking on site, but even that was accommodated by staff when they realised I was disabled. There were no lifts in this very old and characterful building so at least 2 flights of stairs had to be negotiated. One up to rooms and a further one below ground level to the restaurant (It is built on the side of a hill.) Can't understand the poor reviews we read on Trip Advisor.

  • C Taylor

  • August 2014

Okay but not a boutique hotel

I found the level of service was good, the offer wasn't quite up to its billing.

The room was a good size and well kitted out but the finish was trying to be a boutique hotel but not quite making it. The drains were very smelly and this was quite off-putting. The room was very hot - probably as a result of our unusual British summer - and I was relieved that they'd provided a fan. The telly was stuck on BBC News Channel. Food was okay - I only ate breakfast. Overall a comfortable stay.

  • Martin Harwood

  • July 2014

Comfortable, clean rooms

Although our over night stay was comfortable and breakfast excellent.

It should be pointed out that this hotel is not suitable for the disabled (too many floors, steep narrow stair cases and no disabled facilities). Also no parking in surrounding area.

  • Nicholas K

  • June 2014

Quirky pub hotel

Warm welcome and quality food.

Building is on many levels and has limited parking. Hollywood themed room we stayed in overlooked patio area at rear which remained busy until late at night due to world cup. Room clean and tidy well furnished big tv but minimal sitting area. Shower was the only item that let room down (no bath). Must have only been 8.5kw with resulting poor shower of hot water. Restaurant food was also very good and varied. Large range of beers and ciders. Better suited to younger couples although family room available.

  • Joanne Purchase

  • May 2014

Excellent

Great place to stay all round, Shane and Michelle couldn't do more for us.

So nice we will be back in two weeks. Andrew and Joanne

  • Natalie T

  • April 2014

This was by far one of the loveliest B&Bs I've stayed in.

My boyfriend is a very unsettled sleeper but with the memory foam mattress in the room I have never know him to sleep so peacefully. The breakfast was lovely. The fresh milk provided for the rooms instead of the little instant tubs i thought was a great touch. The surrounding area is beautiful. Unfortunately by the time we had decided we were hungry in the evening the restaurant was full but we went across the road where we had a number of places to choice from to eat. All in all great experience. Credit to the owners.