No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red House Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Park House Cross Cholderton, Tidworth, Salisbury, SP4 0EG
The Red House Hotel is set in 5 acres of gardens with it's own nine hole pitch and putt golf course.
Just over an hour from the M25 and 10 minutes from the City of Salisbury, Andover and Stonehenge it is an ideal base to visit the area and The Red House is the nearest Hotel to Thruxton Race Circuit and the town of Tidworth and Salisbury Plain.

The Hotel has a Lounge Bar Restaurant (If required Restaurant tables must be booked when making reservation) and large Conference room.

In the summer months our restaurant and bar menu is available on our sun terrace.
All our bedrooms have King size double beds (Twin rooms have 2 single beds) en suite bathrooms with bath and shower, flat screen TV's with Freeview and tea and coffee making facilities.
WiFi is available throughout the hotel.
Picture of The Red House Hotel, Salisbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wifi was poor and expensive for what was offered

Reviewed by
Ben C

From , UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal stay for Thruxton weekend.
Helpful, friendly staff, better than reviews! Nice to see a family run hotel rather than corporates no atmosphere chain. made to feel very welcome , room was comfortable plenty of hot water and facilities,although decor in the rooms was a little tired, the cleanliness was faultless and the staff and atmosphere were the priorities. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Shaun Perry

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Room very basic. No hair dryer or ironing facilities in room. The 'shower' was a mixer tap over the bath with a curtain. Will not be staying here again.

Reviewed by
D Smith

From Monmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
Very clean, nice breakfast,very helpful staff and friendly

Reviewed by
Andrew H

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean. The staff were very helpful and breakfast was cooked just the way we liked it!

Reviewed by
V Barnes

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and friendly

Reviewed by
Mark I

From Pudsey, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for thruxton race circuit. Friendly hotel, clean but dated. Would stay here again. Thank you:)

Reviewed by
Paula Wilson

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the hoteliers where very friendlily and my stay was very good would stay again

Reviewed by
michael brooks

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel just off A303
Great little hotel. Food lovely. Staff exceptionally friendly.

Reviewed by
craig b

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disapointing, tired and complacent
This hotel has the majority of its business through the MOD, housing staff who are on courses at local bases, as such it is a cross between a junior mess (although the is more life in the mess) and a residential training centre (where there would normally be higher quality).
The location of the hotel means that other than driving, once you are at the hotel there is nowhere else to go. Which is a shame as the food quality is poor, everything appears to be frozen and re-heated. Additionally for a hotel food times are limited, last food orders taken at 20:30 in the evening and breakfast starts at 07:30. However this probably suits those it caters for as in the four nights I was a resident the bar / restaurant was empty by 21:30.
The room was reasonably sized however the furnishing was cheap and basic, again meeting the basics seemed to be the overall aim. The heating however failed in this area, as although I turned the thermostat to its highest setting it never got higher than lukewarm, although it did prove to be an effective alarm when the boiler started each morning at around 05:30 due to the amount of air in the system.
The bathroom was in need of refurbishment, shaver point at bedroom work desk?, poor lighting, a toilet that didn't have sufficient flow to effectively flush and a shower that fluctuated between scalding and cold frequently each time I used it, obviously it did not have the capacity to accommodate the number of users.
This was also true of the Wi-Fi which although free, was as reliable as a chocolate teapot, and in the area the hotel is located telephone signal is also variable so a 3G dongle was of no use.
Unless the owners look further than their current "retained" market I do not see this hotel moving to the three star status it has self awarded. If assessed externally two stars would be a challenge.

ManagementResponse

We apologise for your obvious dis-satisfaction with our hotel during your recent stay. It is very unfortunate that you did not mention at any point during your stay with us the problems you were having. The faulty heating and water pressure are easily resolved and had you mentioned them to any member of our staff they would have been mended without delay. The shaver socket issue will be resolved as each room is re-furbished. Regarding our restaurant opening hours, as you observed during your stay our guests tend to eat early thus we open the restaurant at 18:30. Once again I am sorry that you did not communicate your dis-satisfaction at any point during your stay, with the food on offer in the Restaurant. I would have been delighted to discuss our menu with you and demonstrate that no items are re-heated and that all our restaurant dishes are cooked to order. As you observed our restaurant is very busy early evening and we seldom have any complaints regarding food quality or service. The provision of Broadband speed and consistency in our rural area is being addressed by BT in early 2014 under the Governments rural broadband initiative. Our internal system currently makes the best use of the signal provide by BT over copper wire and telegraph poles. I understand that 3g on a dongle in this area is dependant upon which provider is used. Once again we apologise for your perceived shortcomings of our Hotel it is a shame you made no mention of any of them during your stay with us which would have allowed us to take immediate steps to correct them and demonstrate why we have such a large number guests who choose to stay with us on a regular basis.

Reviewed by
Norman H

From Stevenage, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next