No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Duke Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Duke Hotel, Hilmarton, , Calne, SN11 8SD
It is said that The Duke is named after the Duke of Beaufort but he was reluctant to associate his name with a pub, insisting, instead, that it should be called simply The Duke Hotel. He would surely have second thoughts if he could come back and see it today. - bed & breakfast - food served lunch and everning - Sunday lunch - beautiful pub garden - function room - campsite - locally sourced, home-cooked food - Arkell's ales Not only is The Duke an elegant building in a marvellous spot - right opposite Hilmarton's delightful old church - but it is a thriving pub which caters for all the demands of modern customers. If they are looking for top quality food, then there is sure to be something to tempt them on the extensive menu, all home cooked food, John the chef is a talented good old fashioned chef who cares about his food, All visitors are strongly encouraged to bring all the family, with children warmly welcomed - either indoors or outside, where the children's play garden has recently been extended. Though people are prepared to travel long distances to relax at The Duke, it still remains a focal point for community life, just as you would expect from a traditional village pub. It has been fulfilling that role since it was built in 1843 - ironically, the same year that John Arkell first began brewing. In those days the pub brewed its own beer but has been owned by Arkell's since 1923. It is still the base for many of the local sports teams and the function room is put to good use by many members of the community. You host's John and Lesley have recently taken over the Duke and carried out a major re-furbishment to the Bar, Dining area and toilets facilities, The Beer garden is a great place to relax with friends and family and a good focal point to meet new and old friends. There is something for everybody at The Duke.
Picture of The Duke Hotel, Calne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
Very helpful and friendly owners managing a pub with visitors and locals well. Room very comfortable and spacious. Bed also comfortable and no problems with my dodgy neck and pillows.

Reviewed by
Janetta Wraight

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

-
-

Reviewed by
Van Hemelryck G

From Wasmuel, Belgium
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

John and Lesley are wonderful hosts, nothing is too much trouble.

Reviewed by
Michelle P

From Doncaster, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The rooms were lovely and the hospitality of the hosts exceptional. Could do with a veggie option on the menu but that is the only reason it was't all 5*

Reviewed by
S Charlton

From Stanley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New owners upgrade old inn
The Duke has recently been taken over by an enthusiastic couple who have transformed what had been a rather battered country pub into both a pleasant B&B and a centre for local social activities. Great welcome, freshly decorated interior, good food and a positive attitude. Nice dogs, too!

Reviewed by
Howard Whitehouse

From New City, USA
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Room
The room was described as a king suite, during my sleep I found the mattress to be 2 mattresses
put together

ManagementResponse

Hi and thanks for taking the time to review us. Your bed is a zip bed designed for hotels so it can be a king size bed with flat zippered top or split into 2 full size singles so the room can be a twin. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and stay.

Reviewed by
D Staples

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic!
Great welcome from Tony, welcoming atmosphere & lovely room.. Lovely clean room & bathroom & gorgeous breakfast cooked by Barb.. Definitely use again.. Thank you!!

Reviewed by
Denise P

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top-quality service
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Duke. The landlord is friendly, accommodating and helpful; the room was clean, well laid-out and comfortable, and even the bathroom toiletries were excellent. The food was good, the service was great and the whole stay good value for money. We were very impressed and will certainly stay there again if we are in the area.

Reviewed by
Karen T

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food lovely
The Duke is tired but that will be rectified once the brewery have decided what to do with it!.
The food is lovely and the hosts Anthony And Barbara are really nice chatty and helpful well worth a visit

Reviewed by
CHERYL EDWARDS

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice stay but some things that could be improved upon
Really friendly people and a nice welcome. The location was nice, and it was a quiet spot (well, compared to London anyway!).
In terms of the room, the bed was comfortable, with a good mattress, but it seemed smaller than a normal double, both width and length-wise. We struggled a bit with this as we both like sleeping on our side and so ended up sleeping head-to-tail so we didn't bump into each other every time we turned over. As is normal in hotels, the duvet was quite thick, but the owners did go out of their way to find me a thinner bedspread to use instead; I would suggest that having a blanket available in each room would be a good idea. The basic cleanliness of the room was fine, but the bathroom mirror and sink didn't seem properly clean. Also there was no towel rail or hooks in the bathroom which I thought could easily be corrected.
The breakfast was good, but I thought that the 7-9 am breakfast availability was a bit limiting for a bank holiday Monday - we would have quite liked to lie in a bit!

Reviewed by
C Barns

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next