No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George & Dragon

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
High Street, , , Rowde, SN10 2PN
The award winning restaurant specialises in seafood delivered daily form St Mawes, in Cornwall. A full A la Carte menu offering meat and game dishes using locally sourced produce is also available in the restaurant and bar. After several successful outside functions, as every event is different, we are very happy to tailor make your event to meet your requirements for any occasion. Please contact us with your enquiries. There are many events held throughout the year, some of which include summer BBQs, games nights, charity quiz evenings, wine and cheese tasting. In addition, there are many local attractions including Caen Hill Locks, Lacock Abbey, Bowood House,Golf course and Gardens, Stonehenge, The Roman Baths, Bath, Salisbury Cathedral and Roundway Hill.
Picture of The George & Dragon, Rowde at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ahidden Gem
I travel a lot, for work and pleasure so I like to explore character properties for future reference as an alternative to the chains which can be great but a little soul destroying after 50 or so nights a year.
I chose the George and Dragon on reviews, looks and its proximity to the Caen flight, and am so glad I did.
The inn itself is full of character, the staff very friendly and the room extremely comfortable even if a little basic (room 2); above the bar, you can hear the gentle conversation from below, but its not intrusive, and with such a comfy bed, sleep comes quickly. Room 2 isnt en suite, so heavy fluffy robes are provided for modesty in case ofmother guests, and there is ground coffee and selection of teas available on the landing area. TV is small, but really guests should go down to the bar, enjoy the fantastic food and chat with thenstaff or locals then enjoy an early night.
Breakfast is great, and the landlord a really nice guy to chat with. To be fair, I could have stayed for lunch as well if id had the time!

Reviewed by
Shane H

From Winchmore Hill, England
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointing
The room was so basic. The bed was comfortable, but due to the metal construction it creaked everytime you moved in it. Tea and coffee facilities were located in the communal coridor. Most of the mugs provided were dirty. The room was seperate to the toilet, shower and sink, therefore having to walk past other guests to get to the shower etc. The food was very good and the service efficient, however, I almost laughed at the size of the portion on the plate- it would not have fed a small child, so we resorted to a large bag of crisps in the room after the meal as we were still hungry.
Unfortunatly we had to cut our stay one day short due to a birth in the family. We requested a refund for one day, expecting to at least get the next days breakfast knocked off if nothing else. We were charged the full price which we felt was rather mean.

Reviewed by
V W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best nights sleep in a hotel rom in months
Very friendly and welcoming staff and clientele in this rural English Hotel the most comfortable Hotel bed I have slept in, in months will very likely stay there again in the future.

Reviewed by
J Gordon Smith

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Wiltshire Welcome
The welcome & subsequent service was exemplary. The bar & restaurant were full of character and cosy ambience. Our evening meals were excellent as were our breakfasts. There were a few minor compromises that have been made with the room ( separate private bathroom & tea-making on the landing ) to incorporate modern facilities into such an old coaching inn. My only negative comment is that the lighting was poor in our room ( the monstrous lampshade didn't help ) but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wish our hosts (or should that be g-hosts) every success at the George & Dragon.

Reviewed by
john r

From Abertawe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfort in an old inn
I stayed on a Sunday night when the pub/restaurant was closed. I was asked to phone when I arrived and was checked in almost straight away. The room was comfortable and the nearby loo/shower room was very clean, well-appointed and well-stocked. There was also a fridge and the necessaries for tea/coffee on the landing. Breakfast was truly delicious, with toast, croissants, coffee, juice and cereal, not a 'full English'. The road outside was a little busy in the evening but not at night and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Apparently the restaurant is good and probably this is their main business.

Reviewed by
M Sullivan

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointing stopover
Quaint building with plenty of character and staff were exceedingly friendly and accommodating once they finally found my booking.
We were in room 2 which has a lot of character but was a bit upset to find that a private bathroom was a shower room across the public hall which was a bit inconvenient but manageable.
Restaurant may be of good quality but didn't have what we wanted when we ordered as they had run out.
Breakfast in the morning was nice and staff were engaging and friendly but having to pay extra for a full English was not mentioned in the description.
Overall reasonable quality but I'm afraid I had a far better stay at a local b&b round the corner a week earlier.

Reviewed by
alan h

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay

Reviewed by
J Fisher

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stay away all over the country and this was by far the best restaurant with rooms I have stayed at. I would recommend to anyone . The room was superb, the food was excellent and the company of staff and locals was fantastic
Thank you for a great evening

Reviewed by
Mark B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely lovely. The staff couldn't have been nicer. The best breakfast ever.

Reviewed by
Christina W

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

George. Dragon Rowde
From the minute we arrived at our destination, everyone was so friendly and welcoming. You got a real sense that nothing would be too much effort if it made your stay more pleasant. The accommodation was tasteful, comfortable and very clean. The food served in the restaurant on the premises was excellent and had a real flair and originality which was complemented by the ambience of the setting. All in all a fantastic place to stay, close to local attractions. But still far enough away to be a country retreat. Would definately return in the future.

Reviewed by
G Hodgkinson

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next