Reviews - Cleeve House


Cleeve House, Trowbridge,, Melksham, SN12 6PG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (13)

92% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • James W

  • November 2015

A Trip into History

An amazing Victorian country house of remarkable ambience and quality of design and workmanship in stone and joinery and with an interesting history of its creators and occupants.

The welcome and attention from the Zaccarellis made our overnight stay enjoyable and memorable.

  • Terrie C

  • September 2015

Lovely Setting

Nice staff in peaceful location.

Good breakfast choices. Spacious room but a little chilly due to mullion windows.

  • Alan B

  • August 2015

Great place to stay in the countryside

What a great place to stay.

Very friendly proprietors and comfortable room. If you want to stay in a fine old building in the countryside, this is the place. This beats the same old chain hotels hands down.

  • jason bull

  • June 2015

weekend away

this is the 2nd time me and my girlfriend have stayed here,we cant fault this little gem, very very quiet,beautiful grounds,and the owners are just so so welcoming ,we WILL be back again :-))

don't miss out on this hidden gem of a house

  • J thorpe

  • June 2015

Well worth a stay

The grounds and general look of the hotel is amazing, the owners of the hotel are very friendly and welcoming, the price for the room and a full English was well worth it.

There was a little mix up with the bill, but they easily sorted it.

  • colin p

  • June 2015

weekend in wilts

The house is quite remarkable and the setting exquisite.

The history of the place is an obvious added bonus but perhaps more could be made of that fact with the links back to the occupation by the Bell family. Exterior and Great Hall make for a vivid impression and evidence the high Victorian concern with the dramatic. The development of the property evidences a number of stylistic changes from the Gothic through Arts and Crafts. A stay here does not disappoint for aesthetic value but it should be said that if guests were expecting the room contents to be of the standard anticipated in the better modern hotel chains they would find themselves in the wrong place. The room we stayed in was modestly furnished yet entirely acceptable for a short break. It was certainly in keeping with the wonderful quirkiness of Cleeve House. The breakfast room adds to the impression of a business founded in the love of the place itself. Overall an experience not to be missed

  • Michael B

  • May 2015


Wonderful accommodation, beautiful setting, fantastic hosts and excellent facilities.

My only regret is that as I was only passing through on business and only staying for one night I I was unable to fully appreciate the hospitality and beauty of the property and its surroundings. Will definitely be returning soon with wife and family for a longer more leisurely stay.

  • Yasmin P

  • January 2015

Beautiful, full of character

If you like old, character properties, you will love Cleeve House.

Run by very lovely, welcoming people.

  • P Hancock

  • December 2014

Cleese house

This is a stunning house in beautiful grounds and the hosts a lovely couple who cook a fabulous breakfast.

Sadly though the room (no5 twin ensuite) was not up to modern standards. It is very basic and the bathroom very poor with grotty tiled floor a sort of wet room, but the shower is awful. To be fair when I complained about the shower I got some money back and he thanked me for telling him saying he would sort it out. There is no hair dryer in the room, but again one was provided when I asked. It was a very cold week end and the room was warm but not as warm as I would like. There is no heating in the hallways between rooms and breakfast room, not the end of the world but a bit unwelcoming. I hope things improve there as I really liked the people.

  • Linda G

  • July 2014

Wonderful wedding anniversary break

Very impressed with the delightful character house, the beautiful surroundings and the wonderful welcome.

Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts - who even went out shopping early one morning to buy croissants for my breakfast.