No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Inn At Cranborne

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
5 Wimborne Street, Cranborne, BH21 5PP
DORSET PUB of the YEAR 2013
Within this 17th Century building, Jane Gould has brought about her own vision of a traditional English Country Inn. Amongst the wood burning stoves, cosy corners and sharing tables you will find hearty interesting food, lovingly restored bedrooms featuring large beds with snuggly duvets and a choice of pillows and fabulous en-suite bathrooms with powerful showers, some roll-top baths and Bramley products.

The daily changing menu is interesting but not overwhelming and there is always great range of well-kept Real Ales, including the Inn’s own Fleur Ale, brewed specially by Hall & Woodhouse.

It is a short drive to the New Forest, the beautiful Jurassic Coast and the sandy beaches of Bournemouth. Winborne, Salisbury, Shaftesbury and many gardens and historic places are within an easy drive. The area is also great for cycling and walking, with Jubilee trail right on our doorstep.
Picture of The Inn At Cranborne, Cranborne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
I would highly recommend this traditional Inn to anyone seeking high quality accommodation, good food and excellent service. The owner was very friendly, welcoming and helpful

Reviewed by
Harald Bender

From Germany
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice one night break
The staff were very helpful and the place was lovely. Breakfast was not as good as I hoped because not all items on the menu were available and the cooking of the bacon seemed to have only happened on one side. Minor complaints.

Reviewed by
Peter M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wanted to like it - but it was exceptionally disappointing.
Some positives: The inn owner is very friendly and clearly keen to do a good job. (We stayed four nights and only saw her on the first.) The rooms are tastefully decorated in muted colours and there is lots of attention to detail in the look of the place. The beds were comfortable and the bed linen good, too.
On the other hand, it felt as if things change when the owner is not there - the attention to detail disappeared. We had milk provided for tea on the first night but never again. Face flannels on day 1 which disappeared on day 2 never to return. One bath towel between 2 on day 1 but up to 2 on day 2. Bottled tap water in the room on day 1 - nice touch - but not refreshed in four days. Repeatedly we sensed that there were no checklists for consistency - the level of service was down to chance. The bathroom had motion sensors for lighting & air extraction. Every time a vehicle drove by in the night, the blinds moved (it was far too hot to close the window) and the light and noisy extractor fan came on. Three nights on the trot we had to ask for the music to be turned down at 11pm - the bass line could be heard in the room all evening and was back on again at breakfast. The breakfast sausages were almost certainly reheated in a microwave. There was only white bread available for the first three breakfasts. Brown appeared on the last day. The croissants on the menu were not there on the first day. The owner's two dogs are delightful but the fact that the oldest has diabetes probably explains why the landing smelt of urine. For the first (and only) evening meal we had, the plaice was so overcooked it was dry (yet greasy) and the samphire had no crispness left in it. The waitress could not match the cheeses to the five in the list and the portions were small. I felt and feel embarrassed to have booked it for a friend and myself . For £115 a night, this was really terrible value. It has the potential to be hugely better than it currently is - I really hope that Jane manages to sort her staff out - her heart is in the right place.

Reviewed by
Sally P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy, clean and comfortable accomodation, very helpful staff.
The accommodation was spotlessly clean. Plenty of choice of teas in room, as well as ground coffee and a flask of fresh milk. Bed was so comfortable, we slept really well. Evening dinner food service finished at 8.30pm and we were not able to eat until a little later but management were very helpful and the chef stayed on so we could eat. Desserts were delicious! Breakfast was made with good quality ingredients and eggs were perfectly poached. This would certainly be our first choice when we're in the area again.

Reviewed by
Keith B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ridiculously good value for the quality
Way beyond expectations, everything oozes quality. Great menu, lovely breakfast, will be returning soon.

Reviewed by
n Sparey

From Cardigan, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful find!
I would never have expected such quality at the price of £55 bed and breakfast for two. The room was beautifully decorated, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean and the shower worked. The owners were friendly and the bars were comfortable and friendly looking. The breakfast was delicious with a wide variety of choices.
I can't fault it really , except that there is not much in the village of Cranbourne and there is a some traffic noise. However, it was really lovely and we will come back

Reviewed by
Gaynor C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Even better now breakfast is from 07.30

Reviewed by
Graham P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay in a picturesque village. Excellent service and very friendly service.
Holy recomended country inn with plenty to see around. Recommend visiting the Norman church opposit with some of the finest stain glass windows I've ever seen. Quiet and friendly. A very pleasant place to stay to unwind and relax. Excellent food and very reasonably priced.

Reviewed by
robert hallwood

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was an excellent little find. What a lovely little place.

Reviewed by
sally solomon

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the Inn at Cranborne - wonderful !!!
This was our third visit to The Inn - as before, everything was perfect from the cheerful and helpful staff to the extremely clean bedroom through to the wonderful breakfast. We could not fault it at all.

Reviewed by
J Orledge

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next