No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Inn At Cranborne

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
5 Wimborne Street, Cranborne, BH21 5PP
DORSET PUB of the YEAR 2013
Within this 17th Century building, Jane Gould has brought about her own vision of a traditional English Country Inn. Amongst the wood burning stoves, cosy corners and sharing tables you will find hearty interesting food, lovingly restored bedrooms featuring large beds with snuggly duvets and a choice of pillows and fabulous en-suite bathrooms with powerful showers, some roll-top baths and Bramley products.

The daily changing menu is interesting but not overwhelming and there is always great range of well-kept Real Ales, including the Inn’s own Fleur Ale, brewed specially by Hall & Woodhouse.

It is a short drive to the New Forest, the beautiful Jurassic Coast and the sandy beaches of Bournemouth. Winborne, Salisbury, Shaftesbury and many gardens and historic places are within an easy drive. The area is also great for cycling and walking, with Jubilee trail right on our doorstep.
Picture of The Inn At Cranborne, Cranborne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy, clean and comfortable accomodation, very helpful staff.
The accommodation was spotlessly clean. Plenty of choice of teas in room, as well as ground coffee and a flask of fresh milk. Bed was so comfortable, we slept really well. Evening dinner food service finished at 8.30pm and we were not able to eat until a little later but management were very helpful and the chef stayed on so we could eat. Desserts were delicious! Breakfast was made with good quality ingredients and eggs were perfectly poached. This would certainly be our first choice when we're in the area again.

Reviewed by
Keith B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ridiculously good value for the quality
Way beyond expectations, everything oozes quality. Great menu, lovely breakfast, will be returning soon.

Reviewed by
n Sparey

From Cardigan, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful find!
I would never have expected such quality at the price of £55 bed and breakfast for two. The room was beautifully decorated, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean and the shower worked. The owners were friendly and the bars were comfortable and friendly looking. The breakfast was delicious with a wide variety of choices.
I can't fault it really , except that there is not much in the village of Cranbourne and there is a some traffic noise. However, it was really lovely and we will come back

Reviewed by
Gaynor C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Even better now breakfast is from 07.30

Reviewed by
Graham P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay in a picturesque village. Excellent service and very friendly service.
Holy recomended country inn with plenty to see around. Recommend visiting the Norman church opposit with some of the finest stain glass windows I've ever seen. Quiet and friendly. A very pleasant place to stay to unwind and relax. Excellent food and very reasonably priced.

Reviewed by
robert hallwood

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was an excellent little find. What a lovely little place.

Reviewed by
sally solomon

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the Inn at Cranborne - wonderful !!!
This was our third visit to The Inn - as before, everything was perfect from the cheerful and helpful staff to the extremely clean bedroom through to the wonderful breakfast. We could not fault it at all.

Reviewed by
J Orledge

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay
The room was kitted out in a sort of neutral colour scheme, with en-suite bathroom and essential oil toiletries. The downside for us of the bathroom was that the door had a very loud squeak and the light and fan would not go off when in bath unless door was closed for some time and you were completely still - any movement was caught by the sensor and the light and fan started all over again - bit off-putting when you're trying to relax.
Breakfast was very good, eggs on toast, well made and nicely presented, pleasant service.
Village was small, but very nice to walk around.

Reviewed by
L Sparks

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lots good but some needsto improve
Nice place room spotless and good value for what we paid £50 for a double ensuite inc breakfast The big negative for us was the fact that although we had three different mobiles with us orange virgin & 3 we had no reception on any of them I appreciate thats not the hotels fault but as we were on business a big drawback for us the wifi however was fine we didnt eat in the bar as we had to drive out to get a phone signal so had a meal in ringwood 10 miles away. Breakfast was fine with lots of choice personally for me it was too "herby" even the butter had herbs in personal choice i know but didnt go too much with the marmalade !! nice toiletries in the room nice decor and real coffee fresh milk was a lovely touch staff were fine no probs and parking was good the only reason i wouldnt stay again was the phone signal apparantely if youre on vodaphone youre ok.

Reviewed by
c dean

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight
Nice Pub/Hotel with very high standard of rooms. Unfortunately the Hotel has a policy of not starting breakfast until 8:00 am. Much to late for business guests. I vacated my room at 7:30 am only to find the Hotel totaly devoid of staff. I hang arround until 7:45 when I had to leave without settling my bill in order to get to my morning appointment. It is unlikely that I will use this hotel again. I did settle my bill later by phone.

Reviewed by
John B

From Ashton Under Lyne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next