Reviews - Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead


Hawks Road Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE8 3AD

Price From 165.18 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (187)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Jerry E

  • November 2015

Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead

Enjoyed my stay.

Will recommend it and it is value for money.

  • K Jackson

  • November 2015

Modern clean and comfortable.

Staff very helpful and friendly.

Parking only £5 and the room was lovely. Thank you.

  • Andrew M

  • October 2015

Nice Hotel

This is the second time I've stayed here, nice hotel, clean and comfortable, if a little expensive.

  • K Allen

  • October 2015

Concert Stay

Booked for 4 adults as we were attending a concert at the Sage.

Very pleasant stay, with very friendly and helpful staff.

  • George B

  • October 2015

Good Location

Nice quiet location only minutes from the Baltic Mill, Sage or Millennium Bridge .

If you are fit and healthy this is also a great location for a walk into Newcastle City centre. (Around half an hour). Car parking is available on site for £5 per 24 hours. Rooms are a good size, clean and well laid out. There is also a gym for those who feel the need.

  • Neale S

  • October 2015

Ramada Encore Gateshead

The hotel was ok.

Clean, functional and just right for a place to crash. Paying an extra sum for breakfast was a bit cheeky (& it wasn't that special) but paying to park was not cricket. I drove from the south of England to stay here; of course I want to park my car. I get that it's a business but milking every last penny (epitomised by enough milk for one brew each in the room) leaves a bit of a bad impression. Still, clean and functional

  • Michael S

  • October 2015

No issues, nice hotel

Had a pleasant stay at this hotel, nice distance from town and excellent service just a bit pricey but we were there the weekend of the rugby World Cup so I'm imaging inflated prices.

  • David t

  • October 2015

Ideal location for visiting Newcastle via Gateshead Millenium Bridge.

The hotel is in an ideal location for travelling around the area with good transport links.

A pleasant walk over the Gateshead Millenium Bridge and along the Quayside takes you into the centre of Newcastle. Accommodation is basic, clean and was quiet during our stay. Replacement supplies of tea, coffee, sugar and milk were very limited and normally required a request at reception. Our main disappointment was with the evening meal in the restaurant. We decided to eat in the hotel restaurant after a long day out but the whole experience was enough to say never again. My wife asked what the vegetables were with the cottage pie, and was told green beans, carrots and red onions. 50 minutes later, the waitress came to ask if everything was alright with our meal but stopped mid-sentence when she realised we that we were still waiting for it to arrive. When the meal eventually arrived, the vegetables were actually cauliflower, cabbage, peas and carrots - the first two being her pet hates. Our meals were not piping hot, suggesting they had been prepared and left for some time awaiting collection. Added to this, the portion size of the chicken tikka was not value for money. Our waitress passed our comments on to the chef and returned with the comment "There is nothing he can do about it". This left us feeling very undervalued as customers.

  • Marilyn t

  • October 2015

Good position not so good food

position excellent for a city break as you can easily walk into the centre.

After staying in one night to eat as weather not good we were all disappointed with quality and quantity of food for price and after saying this to the staff they didn't seem to care or know what to say or do, so wouldn't eat there again.

  • n greig

  • October 2015

Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead

Lovely clean and very warm hotel.

Would have liked 2 large towels so there was one per guest.