No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Hawks Road Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE8 3AD
Just 300 metres from the Gateshead Millennium Bridge and the Baltic Art Centre, this modern hotel has a stylish on-site restaurant, bar, gym, and free Wi-Fi throughout.
The hotel is located less than 20 minutes walk from Newcastle city centre, and the Quayside’s bars and restaurants are just a 10-minute walk away. The Sage, a performance and conference venue, is just 5 minutes’ walk away and Gateshead Metro Station is within a 15-minute walk.
There is a 24-hour business centre, which is free to use. Each contemporary, wooden-floored room includes a Freeview flat-screen TV, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer, and an en suite bathroom with power shower.
Picture of Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 258 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean morgen hotel on the Quay Side
Great will book again soon, clean good parking and quiet enough.

Reviewed by
A Huggon

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and good location
Stayed for one night and had a very comfortable sleep. It is in a good location as it is not too far from the centre (approx 5 minutes away by car). Tesco's just under 10 minutes walk away. Didn't try the food. Very clean, staff friendly and nice spacious room.

Reviewed by
E White

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Intermittent alarm
Overall good stay. However an intermittent alarm which was reported but not attended to meant a good nights sleep was impossible.

Reviewed by
david f

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gnr stay

Reviewed by
F Smith

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

central
Stayed here as I was doing the great north run. The rooms were very nice and the parking perfect only £5 a day which was brill. The staff were very helpful. I've knocked it down on price at is was expensive on the saturday but then the run was on the next morning and Im sure it was the same everywhere else. The sunday was very reasonable also. The location was great, although the other side of the river, we were right beside the millenium bridge so about a short walk into town but this was useful to see the city. The food wasnt bad but good value so no real complaints. Would definately stay here again If I had to though.

Reviewed by
brendan m

From Newry, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic and overpriced
Way overpriced for what is in on par with a Holiday Inn or Travelodge. Room was very dusty and didn't look like it had been cleaned or used for a while. Bed uncomfortable and felt riffy. Basic room with twin beds. We ate in the restaurant but not impressed with the food. Good location though if wanting to visit the area. Prices high due to Great North Run.

Reviewed by
Richard D

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff, all aspects of hotel good. Location great for what we wanted.

Reviewed by
Alyson M

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good location with easy walking access and excellent Q1 bus links. Very poor evening meal.
Our stay of 3 nights was spoilt by a very poor evening meal on the first day-- Monday 1st September 2014. So we did not risk eating anything at all during our stay and trekked out to eat all our meals.
We have eaten good meals before at Ramada Encore so invited friends to join us for a meal to celebrate our arrival and a friends birthday. This turned out to be a disaster and was very embarrassing for all concerned including your staff. We were the first to sit down in the restaurant.. Yet we waited for about one hour for food. We did not receive the Roasted Mediterranean vegetables with goats cheese ordered as a starter by my wife.. Apparently this was not available being informed much later after a long wait. My wife also ordered Caesar Salad as a main course which consisted of just plain lettuce and Parmesan Cheese with a hint of dressing.(nothing like the details in the menu) More like a small starter and at a cost of £7.95. By then more and more customers were complaining to the waiters over the long delays of up to one hour and a half hours, poor quality and small quantity of food. This was very embarrassing. One of friends ordered Mussels with garlic and tomato sauce. Whilst he enjoyed this meal there was no bread or roll to use up the sauce or a spoon. The other two steak meals were OK except for midget sized portions. After this poor experience we did not bother with sweets. It appears that there was chaos in the kitchen with untrained staff with no supervision. One of my friends looked into the kitchen when passing to see what was going on and noticed items dropped and spilt on the floor. We were therefore very concerned about hygiene. We were offered an apologetic 25% discount which in no way compensated for a very spoilt evening. Never again.
I gave a poor rating for the room as the mattress to the double bed was well used and sloped into the middle making sleeping uncomfortable (room 610). There was an intermittent whining noise which disturbed our sleep. This was possibly caused by the operation of a shower in adjacent room.

Reviewed by
C Marshall

From , England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful hotel
Stayed three days. The hotel room and corridors was disgustingly hot, and temperatures outside weren't that high - approx 18c. Large portions of the quayside were cordened off owing to an event taking place so the hotel was not very accessible on foot. Room wasn't serviced on two of the three days, no explanation given. As regards the Free wifi advertised - this didn't work. In short, cheap nasty downright awful and not as advertised.

Reviewed by
Andrew T

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Returning customer
I have stayed here twice a year since they opened and do feel (especially after my latest stay) that things are not as they were! Had to remake the beds before sleeping in them as the sheets were not put on the bed properly they didn't even reach the end of the bed (my son is 6 foot and his feet would have been on the mattress!) The shower didn't work properly water just dribbled out, reception was notified on check-out.
The friendliness of the reception staff was not as I have experienced before. So this time was disappointed with my stay but hope on my return things will be better, as I would like to return for it is convenient for my needs.

Reviewed by
Wendy T

From Rayleigh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next