No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Hawks Road Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE8 3AD
Just 300 metres from the Gateshead Millennium Bridge and the Baltic Art Centre, this modern hotel has a stylish on-site restaurant, bar, gym, and free Wi-Fi throughout.
The hotel is located less than 20 minutes walk from Newcastle city centre, and the Quayside’s bars and restaurants are just a 10-minute walk away. The Sage, a performance and conference venue, is just 5 minutes’ walk away and Gateshead Metro Station is within a 15-minute walk.
There is a 24-hour business centre, which is free to use. Each contemporary, wooden-floored room includes a Freeview flat-screen TV, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer, and an en suite bathroom with power shower.
Picture of Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 244 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean hotel
Nice hotel pleasant staff,but do feel aggreved having to pay £5 for 1 nights car parking.Bit of a rip off?

Reviewed by
David F

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easy and convenient
Good location and easy to get to the Millennium Bridge provided you like steps.
Service good but breakfast a little chaotic. Lack of flow of cups from the kitchen for coffee.
Overall very good .

Reviewed by
Andrew W

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very friendly, couple of things let hotel down though
Customer service very good. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was ok however one of the beds was very creaky (twin room) the counter part on the beds were not clean and had marks all over them. I booked two twin rooms and this was the case on all four beds. The room had an unpleasant smell and the bathrooms could have been cleaner.

Reviewed by
Lorraine R

From Windermere, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient
Typical chain hotel, clean comfortable,
utterly bland and characterless

Reviewed by
SF G

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ramada Encore Gateshead - a diamond in the rough
Hidden behind the Sage building this hotel is a diamond in the rough.
A very friendly welcoming hotel. Clean and tidy throughout with very friendly customer service.
Good value for money especially with the free loyalty card
Decent facilities .. a compact 24hr gym is available for those who like to blow off a bit of steam.
The restaurant serves good food at reasonable hotel prices.
For those who want access to the Quayside or city centre this hotel is ideally placed. Just 5 mins from the millenium bridge a short walk opens up a multitude of opportunities.
Would recommend to anyone staying on business or travelling with a group of friends needing access to the City centre but not having to pay the city centre rates.

Reviewed by
Rob D

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get as much out of the customer as possible
The service was good upon arrival. We checked into the room with our two children. The room
was smaller than I expected for a family of four. The kids sat on the pull out bed and immediately complained that you could feel the metal springs. I checked and the mattress was so thin that you could feel the springs. It was so uncomfortable, even for my 6 and 8 year old.
I rang reception and asked if they could put another mattress on top. They advised me they would do so whilst we were out of the room.
Upon returning to our room around 9pm, housekeeping had simply laid another duvet on top of the mattress, which whilst making it a little more bareable. It was by far the most uncomfortable nights sleep ever, since i ended up in it with one of my children, swapping places with one of them who couldn't get comfy.
The following morning, we all got up for a shower and found there to be only three bath towels.
Upon checking out, I advised the receptionist about the bed and she advised me that those rooms are generally for a family of just three, not four!! Hence only three towels!!
We would have eaten breakfast with the hotel, but given the sham of a room, we decided to eat elsewhere.
I won't be booking with ramada again. At £130 a night excl breakfast, I'm sure I could find somewhere else to accommodate us and at least have a proper bed!!

Reviewed by
J Maudsley

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scattering Ashes in the Toon
Stayed for 1 night with family and friends. Accommodation perfect and staff very friendly.

Reviewed by
Doreen Hufton

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would recommend!
Great hotel - the location was just out of the main city centre, but easily walkable. The room was lovely and spacious, staff were helpful, would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
K Long

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed at Gateshead to go to a party in Newcastle.
We were pleased with our room. Everything was clean. Lighting was good. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom and shower immaculate. Beverages in room above average for a hotel.
Being able to ring for a taxi ourselves from the hotel was most helpful.
We were woken during the night by revellers outside but it was a Saturday night after all!

Reviewed by
K Ferry-Roberts

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay
Would defiantly book again!!

Reviewed by
K Hussain

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next