No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kings Arms Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Kings Arms Hotel, 20 Market Place,, Melksham, SN12 6EX
At the Kings Arms Hotel, a warm welcome is expected from this enchanting staging post where in the early 18th century stagecoaches refreshed on their way between London and Bristol. The Kings Arms offers bed and breakfast accommodation with a superb menu for lunchtime and evening dining. Top to toe refurbishment. We now offer upgraded contemporary bedrooms and a transformed traditional bar. Stay, drink and eat in new surroundings. Couple that with the ability for social functions and conferencing, it makes a perfect venue for weddings, conferences, and a base from which to explore the wonders of Wiltshire.

Relax and unwind, watch the world go by. Enjoy a quiet drink or catch up with friends for a special night out. Our surroundings lend themselves to all your moods. The lounge bar is open plan on a split-level offering you the opportunity of dining if you wish or to just enjoy a drink. Wadworth traditional ales 6X I.P.A. J.C.B. and Henry's Smooth are all brewed locally in Devizes.

Just eight miles from the main East/West M4 motorway and 20 minutes from the famous Roman City of Bath. Melksham is surrounded by a wealth of historical sites and is perfectly situated for access to Cornwall and the South West, the South Coast, the Midlands and London.

We operate a total non-smoking policy throughout the hotel, the music is mellow, with a relaxing atmosphere and a service that is efficient and friendly. We are just the place to be amongst friends.

PLEASE NOTE - We are in a small town and at weekends our bar can be quite noisy. We also hold regular large functions and this may also result in some noise from the function room and bar area. Please contact us if you wish to check details of any functions we may have booked.
Picture of The Kings Arms Hotel, Melksham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 72 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A comfortable bed etc. No clock/alarm. excellent food and good servcice. very clean!

Reviewed by
carol kolczak

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely food and a pleasant stay
The accommodation was fine, if a little dated. The only real drawback with the room was that the window didn't open.
All the staff we encountered were very pleasant, friendly and helpful, and only slightly disorganised service at one evening meal prevented this from being rated higher.
The real plus was the food. We had a meal on the first evening, intending to eat elsewhere the second evening, but enjoyed it so much that we ended up eating in again on the second night. Breakfasts were very enjoyable too, with a good quality produce used. The beer was well-kept too.

Reviewed by
E Jones

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Kings Arms. We booked two double rooms for two nights. On arrival we were impressed by the tidy appearance and spacious free car park. We were welcomed by the barman and efficiently booked in. Our rooms were spacious and immaculately clean. On the first night we ate at the pub and were impressed with the speed of service and quality of food as the pub was very busy. We slept very well and were not disturbed by any noise from the pub below. The following morning we had a good choice of continental and cooked breakfast. The following night we again slept well. Throughout our stay we were made to feel very welcome by the friendly staff and pub owners. We would definitely stay again if coming to the area.

Reviewed by
S Ashfield

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation very good with plenty of storage space and comfortable bed. Shower very efficient but very compact and not enough space for wet towels.

Reviewed by
N Gadsby

From Bedworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was a very pleasant stay. Only one negative which was access to the
Room was very dangerous. My dad had real problem with the stairs.
Only because they are far too narrow & had to walk sideways.

Reviewed by
Suzanne Golding

From Dorking, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beware the disco!!
I knew this was a Pub/Hotel so understood that there would be some noise into the room. Unfortunately the family room we had was right outside the front door of the pub. It wasn't until we arrived that we found a disco which the barman then advised would be going until midnight. At 10 it wasn't to bad, but gradually the music got louder until we could have had our own disco in the room. The actual noise from the patrons was fine, hardly noticed them. Breakfast was good although not served until 8. Good place to stay for a weekday, but beware the weekend disco.

Reviewed by
N Turner

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

only place in town
Melksham is a bit of a cultural desert and The Kings Arms offers excellent food (lunch and dinner), although the cheesecake may be an acquired taste. Accommodation was good - old fashioned but comfy and the breakfast great. Staff friendly and helpful. No noisy parties after closing time so a peaceful night's sleep.

Reviewed by
David M

From Shepperton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good, clean, functional, friendly staff, wil return

Reviewed by
David Morley

From Petworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what we wanted
A very nice, well decorated hotel and pub, looked after by pleasant and friendly people.
We were instantly made welcome. The decor played to the Kingly name and the breakfast was lovely. I would stay again.

Reviewed by
M Bignell

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

getting a little older and wiser.
Arrived at 12 o clock room was ready and very warm which was good because it was cold and windy outside . The breakfast was very good lots of choice. Will stay again.

Reviewed by
linda richmond

From burham on crouch, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next