The Kings Arms

4

The Street, Didmarton, GL9 1DT

Price From 184.90 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (33)

82% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J Rogers

  • January 2015

Quality and quirky

Lovely staff, a warm welcome and service trhoughout.

Modern decor in room with everything you need including robes and the best teabags ever. great pub with fab ales, a great menue and open log fire. Fabulous breakfast. Only complaint would be a lack of hot water in the evening to fill the bath. Will go back if working in that area again.

  • Andy Williams

  • December 2014

Absolute breath of fresh air

Fantastic food great surroundings.

Have read some reviews about colour scheme forget them the guys have it spot on I was so relaxed I nearly skipped work the next day. Can't say too much or everyone will want to stay and I won't get a room again. Thanks guys

  • A Smith

  • December 2014

Bath shopping.

We have stayed a couple of times before.

The welcome was ok, room cold and dark struggled to read the TV remote because of the poor lighting. Window above headboard was so drafty we had to use pillows and gowns to cut down the draft. Had dinner it was cold no heating on and the fire was just going. We only had a main course to cold and only another two diners. The room rate was advertised as a superior or luxury room, when asked they said all the rooms were the same ish. She could not be asked. Did not enjoy our stay and wont be staying again.

  • Clare R

  • November 2014

The Kings Arms

Small room but pleasant enough.

  • Tim M

  • October 2014

Darkness!

Stayed on a grey November day and found it hard to see anything due to walls in room and pub all being painted the same dark grey colour.

Appreciate dim lighting adds cosiness bit this was ridiculous. Also a bit miffed to be charged 10% for service even though we ate in the bar rather than the dining room. Otherwise, stay was fine.

  • C Taylor

  • October 2014

One night stand (with wife )

Friendly reception, nice room, very comfortable beds, not too sure about the dark grey wall paint everywhere but the beer and food were excellent so no need to look at the paint for too long.

  • Y Eagle

  • September 2014

Great accomodation, shame about the food.

Great rooms, comfy beds, very clean.

Food pricey with 10% service charge on top!. Watch out for that small print. Sadly they got my order wrong so I watched my friends eat. The food ranged between excellent and average to poor. We ate there 2 nights in a row - no gluten free options to speak of - very hard for dietary needs.

  • S Boyle

  • September 2014

Excellent value

Having left booking accomodation to the last minute in Bristol, I was recommended Kings Arms by a colleague which was 25-30 minute drive away.

Arriving very late in the evening I did not have a chance to sample the food but the menu looked really good. It is a 'pub with rooms' and says so on the description online and at the pub. On arrival, there were a few bods in the bar enjoying a drink. NIce range of drinks available and three real ales on draught if that's your thing. Very welcoming atmosphere and the young lady behind the bar was very helpful with check in. wifi is free and connection was good if patchy at times. My room was very small but I can't complain as it was very last minute. Everything I needed was there, and bed was very comfortable. No noise pollution from other rooms and a real charm about the place. Will certainly stay again, arrive earlier and sample the food. Really good value in my opinion.

  • Peter J

  • September 2014

Never again

Not very welcoming shown to our room but no information on breakfast times or dinning area given, no wardrobe in our room, hot water just a dribble in the sink.Had to use kettle to put hot water in sink.Bath had red smears inside it skirtings were dirty walls in bathroom all marked.TV would freeze and remote control not working.

When we'd finished our evening meal we asked at the bar for our bill were charged 10% on our tab not only for the meal but drinks as well We had'nt finished our drinks and the barmaid asked if we were ready to pay and should she bring the card machine over.It made us feel that we might leave without paying.Meal and service did not warrant the extra charge.The bar staff seemed to be more concerned about their rota's and what they had to do. At breakfast the cereal , juice and fresh fruit had flies hovering over them they were not covered The bacon and tomato's had black grill lines on them so could'nt taste flavour of bacon and tomato's just the chard taste.Your website promises a lot but did not deliver.

  • Katie B

  • July 2014

old country pub at its best

Quaint country pub with lovely beer garden.

Plenty of room outdoors to enjoy the sunshine. The pizza oven outside is a nice touch. If we had not booked a table in the restaurant we would have sampled some pizza, as they smelled delicious.

The bar staff, waitresses & manager were all very polite & helpful. Food was very fresh & well cooked. I would not say it was overpriced as some reviews stated previously. The drinks were maybe a little overpriced but its what we expected visiting a small village pub with no outright competition.

Our room was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable, its a shame it was so hot when we visited as it prevented us from getting sleep. Couldnt leave the windows open as tractors were passing regularly. Shower room was adequate. Breakfast certainly filled us for the day, with local produce being used it tasted even better.