No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kings Arms

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Street, Didmarton, GL9 1DT
Situated in the village of Didmarton in the Cotswolds, The King Arms offers free Wi-Fi, a bar, and an award-winning restaurant. This traditional 17th century inn offers homely rooms and charming self-catering cottages.

Dating back to 1652, the rooms feature wood furnishings, a flat-screen TV, and tea and coffee making facilities. The en suite bathrooms have a hairdryer and complimentary Branche d’Olive toiletries. The cottages feature a bright living area and a full equipped kitchen. Ironing supplies are available upon request.

The King Arms serves seasonal British cuisine in the fine dining restaurant. Dishes are prepared using fresh, locally sourced produce where possible and the bar offers real ales.

Didmarton is ideally located just 11 miles from Gatcombe Park and 10 minutes’ drive from the Badminton Horse Trials. The surrounding area is home to Westonbirt Arboretum and the historic Elizabethan house of Chavenage. The romantic Tudor manor house of Owlpen is a 20-minute drive away.
Picture of The Kings Arms, Didmarton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bath shopping.
We have stayed a couple of times before. The welcome was ok, room cold and dark struggled to read the TV remote because of the poor lighting. Window above headboard was so drafty we had to use pillows and gowns to cut down the draft. Had dinner it was cold no heating on and the fire was just going. We only had a main course to cold and only another two diners. The room rate was advertised as a superior or luxury room, when asked they said all the rooms were the same ish. She could not be asked. Did not enjoy our stay and wont be staying again.

Reviewed by
A Smith

From Abergavenny, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Darkness!
Stayed on a grey November day and found it hard to see anything due to walls in room and pub all being painted the same dark grey colour. Appreciate dim lighting adds cosiness bit this was ridiculous!
Also a bit miffed to be charged 10% for service even though we ate in the bar rather than the dining room. Otherwise, stay was fine.

Reviewed by
Tim M

From Clevedon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Kings Arms
Small room but pleasant enough.

Reviewed by
Clare R

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stand (with wife )
Friendly reception, nice room, very comfortable beds, not too sure about the dark grey wall paint everywhere but the beer and food were excellent so no need to look at the paint for too long.

Reviewed by
C Taylor

From Tiverton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great accomodation, shame about the food.
Great rooms, comfy beds, very clean. Food pricey with 10% service charge on top!! Watch out for that small print! Sadly they got my order wrong so I watched my friends eat. The food ranged between excellent and average to poor. We ate there 2 nights in a row - no gluten free options to speak of - very hard for dietary needs.

Reviewed by
Y Eagle

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again
Not very welcoming shown to our room but no information on breakfast times or dinning area given, no wardrobe in our room, hot water just a dribble in the sink.Had to use kettle to put hot water in sink.Bath had red smears inside it skirtings were dirty walls in bathroom all marked.TV would freeze and remote control not working. When we'd finished our evening meal we asked at the bar for our bill were charged 10% on our tab not only for the meal but drinks as well We had'nt finished our drinks and the barmaid asked if we were ready to pay and should she bring the card machine over.It made us feel that we might leave without paying.Meal and service did not warrant the extra charge.The bar staff seemed to be more concerned about their rota's and what they had to do. At breakfast the cereal , juice and fresh fruit had flies hovering over them they were not covered The bacon and tomato's had black grill lines on them so could'nt taste flavour of bacon and tomato's just the chard taste.Your website promises a lot but did not deliver.

Reviewed by
Peter J

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
Having left booking accomodation to the last minute in Bristol, I was recommended Kings Arms by a colleague which was 25-30 minute drive away. Arriving very late in the evening I did not have a chance to sample the food but the menu looked really good. It is a 'pub with rooms' and says so on the description online and at the pub. On arrival, there were a few bods in the bar enjoying a drink. NIce range of drinks available and three real ales on draught if that's your thing. Very welcoming atmosphere and the young lady behind the bar was very helpful with check in. wifi is free and connection was good if patchy at times. My room was very small but I can't complain as it was very last minute. Everything I needed was there, and bed was very comfortable. No noise pollution from other rooms and a real charm about the place. Will certainly stay again, arrive earlier and sample the food. Really good value in my opinion.

Reviewed by
S Boyle

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

old country pub at its best
Quaint country pub with lovely beer garden. Plenty of room outdoors to enjoy the sunshine. The pizza oven outside is a nice touch. If we had not booked a table in the restaurant we would have sampled some pizza, as they smelled delicious.
The bar staff, waitresses & manager were all very polite & helpful. Food was very fresh & well cooked. I would not say it was overpriced as some reviews stated previously. The drinks were maybe a little overpriced but its what we expected visiting a small village pub with no outright competition.
Our room was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable, its a shame it was so hot when we visited as it prevented us from getting sleep. Couldnt leave the windows open as tractors were passing regularly. Shower room was adequate.
Breakfast certainly filled us for the day, with local produce being used it tasted even better.

Reviewed by
Katie B

From Treharris, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely and welcoming
I really enjoyed my stay here the staff were very welcoming and helpful and I felt at ease throughout my stay.
My little room was lovely and perfect for me for the night I loved the decor oh and the shortbread :-)

Reviewed by
Sarah Stables

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well decorated but noisy road
Decorated to a high standard. Really friendly and helpful staff.
Lovely food in a great location to relax.
Rooms were well decorated however very dark. Also due to the hot weather and age of building, the windows had to stay open all night and the little road is deceptively busy and noisy.
Nice quality tea and coffee is always nice... but no milk in rooms?! And no staff to help after 11pm so couldn't enjoy the filter coffee of tea.
Breakfast was really good.
Would stay there again if in the area.

Reviewed by
rhian l

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next