No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lighthouse

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Bull's Quarries Road, Tytherington, Frome, BA11 5BW
The Lighthouse is a beautifully restored 17th Century Guest House set in 30 acres of parkland on the outskirts of Frome, Somerset. The stunning grounds and period setting provide the perfect place for a break with friends and family, or as a stopover while working away from home.
Guests choose to stay at the Lighthouse as an opportunity to rest and enjoy the tranquil rural setting, or use it as a base for exploring the many attractions nearby such as Longleat Safari Park, the historic City of Bath and Cheddar Gorge.
We are passionate about providing a high quality service for all our guests so they can relax in the tranquil environment and depart feeling rested and well cared for. We kindly ask you to respect that we do not permit alcohol or smoking on the premises. Gluten and dairy free diets are catered for.
Picture of The Lighthouse, Frome at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

gorgeous x
The Lighthouse was a wonderful room/facilities set in gorgeous grounds with very helpful staff. The only slight letdown was the breakfast as there isnt a lot of choice if you like your cereal on a morning. But this wouldnt be enough for me to mark the quality down as the cooked breakfast menu is extensive. We wouldnt hestitate to say here again if we're in this part of the country xxxx

Reviewed by
Sally S

From Ferrybridge, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location
I recently stopped at The Lighthouse with my partner when visiting Longleat Safari Park. The location was lovely but for a couple of our age (21 & 23) it personally wasn't suitable. There isn't much to do nearby on the evenings and the hotel itself doesn't serve alcohol or allow it on the premises so the evenings are very quiet. Due to the hotel serving Gluten free food the breakfast menu wasn't too interesting either serving cereal or egg pretty much. The room was spacious and had everything we needed. If you're looking for a quiet break and don't mind travelling a little while to get to a town centre then this hotel would be fine.

Reviewed by
Karis L

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A satisfied customer
A brief overnight stay, but very pleased with accommodation and service.

Reviewed by
c Manfield

From West Drayton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Contemporary well presented property, staff are very friendly. Good information in the rooms about surrounding restaurants. Not really an evening eatery however there is a pub that serves great food 2minutes walk down the country lane. Rooms are well presented & clean however a little hot. great place..

Reviewed by
Danny B

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gluten free experience
We were apprehensive at first. We need not have been. The only difference was the absence of dairy products and the use of gluten free alternatives. All delicious.

Reviewed by
D Buckland

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good accommodation, friendly staff and chilled atmosphere!

Reviewed by
Gemma S

From Petworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotter and brighter than the sun.
We were in the area for a wedding, and were out late. I was looking forward to a rare lie in without being woken by the kids. Unfortunately the room was very bight - it had a sky light that didn't have a blind which worked and a fan that worked until a power cut put and end to that! This meant it was hotter than the sun, and almost as bright, not great conditions to sleep in. The lack of caffeine onsite also did my hangover no favours! No wifi in the room either. A nice place to stay in a yoga retreat but not greatly suited to my needs.

Reviewed by
Ian K

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tranquility in a cup
We recently stayed at the lighthouse whilst visiting friends in the local area. We were extremely pleased with the room and facilities. The staff were friendly and accommodating ensuring our stay was enjoyable. We were both pleased to hear they provide rooms so you can take along your furry little friend and we look forward to returning with them to walk around the grounds, The lighthouse offers much more than just an accommodation, it provides a peaceful experience that will want you returning before you leave.

Reviewed by
Nicola Beesley

From Stansted, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful location, clean, comfortable rooms and healthy, delicious food. Fantastic!

Reviewed by
Vincent O

From Lewes, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly welcome - despite us arriving later than we had advised (20 minutes after last check ins). The room was spotless - fairly basic but perfect for our needs. We had room number 10 which was a twin rooom, out the back of the main building and up a little fire escpae. Very comfortable memory foam mattresses, and sweet little touches, like incense sticks to burn.
The room however was a touch on the warm side - we managed to open the sky light, and turned off the radiator but it was still a bit too toasty to sleep very comfortably.
This was our only complaint.

Reviewed by
Harriet G

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next