No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ragged Cot

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Cirencester Road, Minchinhampton, , Stroud, GL6 8PE
Located in the heart of the Cotswolds, The Ragged Cot is a proper country inn with rooms, a local sanctuary with an excellent choice of food and drink. Dating back to the 17th Century, The Ragged Cot is a traditional Cotswolds coaching inn set beside 600 acres of National Trust common land, with 9 contempary bedrooms . Come and enjoy relaxing in comfortable surroundings – from our rambling gardens to roaring fires and deep armchairs. Whether it’s a quick pint with some homemade bar snacks or a three course feast, a warm welcome awaits. Our seasonal menus offers great pub food so why not grab a spot by one of the fireplaces, or in our garden Wellies and dogs welcome in public areas.
Picture of The Ragged Cot, Stroud at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel in a beautiful area.
There was only one problem and that was the wifi signal did not work for us both on a Ipad and on a tablet.
Hotel is class.

Reviewed by
K James

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

5 Star!
We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at the Ragged Cot. The staff were superb, the accommodation perfect and the food high quality but great value. Cannot recommend the Ragged Cot highly enough.

Reviewed by
G Wood

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

High expectations sadly not met
I was really looking forward to staying at the Ragged Cot. My husband had stayed whilst on business some months before and had raved about it and as it was dog friendly it was ideally placed for us all to stay en-route from South Wales to Dorset. Our welcome was warm and friendly but then somewhat marred when we were told that our dogs were no longer able to stay in the bedroom. We were in Room 6 which was beautifully designed and decorated with excellent quality linens and fittings, but this proved somewhat of a disadvantage. The shower head was too high on the wall to reach and adjust the direction of the spray and the hot/cold water controls were positioned so we were unable to run hot water for either a bath or the shower. There was hot water in the sink however this was designed without a plug so we were unable to fill it up for a wash. Also whilst a hairdryer was provided the only socket to plug it into was too far from the mirror to be able to see properly whilst using it. The meal we had in the restaurant was superb and all the staff were (without exception) helpful and friendly. However, had we known that the dogs were to spend the night in the car (in temperatures of -3) and we would be unable to have a bath or shower we would probably have chosen to stay elsewhere.

Reviewed by
S Wilson

From Mold, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A super relaxing place after a demanding business day
Really recommend this hotel and intend to stay there in the future.

Reviewed by
Susan Swalwell

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful comfortable accommodation and faultless service

Reviewed by
Ian Reynolds

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Free room upgrade. Friendly staff and excellent standard throughout. Will definitely be stopping again.

Reviewed by
Andy Cole

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quiet comfortable excellence
beautiful building, elegant and well appointed comfortable rooms with all mod cons. Friendly professional staff with a can do attitude. Food locally sourced and well presented. Worth a visit just to explore and admire the artwork and displays. Great place to 'get away from it all'.

Reviewed by
vivien k

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

service was absolutely superb. owner and staff went out of their way to look aftre us. certainly go again and recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From Clitheroe, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent overnight stay
We thoroughly enjoyed our evening staying at the Ragged Cott. The room was a reasonable size and clean. The wi-fi signal did not work in our room. The food was very good and enjoyable. The staff were friendly and efficient. Lots of interesting and quirky things adorn the hotel.

Reviewed by
N Roberts

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic place to stay

We only stayed for two nights but are going to go back again,the staff were great and Stewart the owner was very helpful,the food at breakfast was excellent and the evening meal was even better at a reasonable price.
As for the rooms,outstanding, we were even supplied with thick toweling bath robes,this review does not do justice as to how good it is to stay at the Ragged Cot.
Many thanks for a lovely stay Debbie&Colin,Plymouth

Reviewed by
colin wright

From plymouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next